We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Wonderful Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach
Ranked #49 of 543 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Ft Lauderdale
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

We, my wife and I, stayed 3 nights before joining a cruise. Room was spacious and well designed. The bed was wonderful, and my wife commented it was the most comfortable she ever slept on. The service was great. The location is close to many restaurants and shops. We had happy hour in the Irish bar which for Dubai was reasonable. The infinity pool area with swim up bar is as good as it gets. A nice touch were the free dates (type you eat) in the reception area. The metro station was too far for us to walk to, but taxis were readily available. Actually, the main reason we would want to return to Dubai would be to stay at this hotel again, because on our first visit to Dubai, we spent much of our time exploring the city.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather1RN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelDubaiJBR, General Manager at Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank You for staying at Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach and for taking the time to share with us your stay experience. It is great to know that you liked the room size, our signature bed, hotel location, Irish Bar in the hotel, and the Infinity pool.
Please do not hesitate to write to me on customer.service@sofiteljbr.ae should you need any assistance with your booking on your future stay.

I look forward to having you back.

Sincerely,

Sami Nasser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,962 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,305
    1,151
    337
    99
    70
See reviews for
833
2,440
291
534
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,044)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012


This was our second stay at the sofitel, the first stay was decidedly average, but we frequent Dubai, and the location is great, so we thought we'ld give it another crack....but we've we've been left dissappointed again :(

Our previous stay in September 2011 we had a sea side view room, which felt a little small, due to the design, lacked a bit of natural light, and we had the people from the building next door looking in. The worst part of the stay was the servicing of the rooms, which they did a reasonable job at cleaning, but it wasn't untill 5-6pm, just as we're getting ready to head out for the night. The pool area is pretty nice, so as it was mainly the room we chose which was our problem, and maybe the hotel was just really busy last time. 

So, we booked a front sea view room this time to solve the problem....
We arrived late, and found The front sea view room to be exactly what we were after, great view, lots of light and just that little bit of extra room. Unfortunately we were greeted with very loud music from the pool bar below. Being on the 12th floor, yould think it wouldnt be that bad, but it wasnt just the bass traveling through the walls, it was loud enough that I could dance in my room, and not look out of place.  Being 11pm, and needing to get sleep for work in the morning, we called the front desk to ask them to turn the music down, only for the receptionist to laugh a little, then say that he will ask about it. 20mins later after no change (in fact I think it went up a little) we went down to the front desk, where one of the receptionists said she will sort it out. After midnight, and the music still cranking loud, we contacted the duty manager, who, after 30mins, turned the music down to an audible, but tolerable level. And he assured us that there would be no more music for the rest of our stay. 
Now, I understand the JBR is a bit of a party place, and I'm all for having a bit of a fun, but at the bar, or a restaurant... Not in my room.

Our second night, we arrived back after dinner, to the same audible but tolerable (barely tolerable as long as you have the TV on) music from the pool bar. Which stayed on till past 12. 
-not the quite the quiet night that we expected.

So as I sit here in the hotel outdoor lobby writing this review, waiting for my room to be serviced, (it's 530pm, by the way) still wearing my work clothes, I can't help but notice the large pair of speakers that have been set up by the pool for tonight... Hmm... Will I be back? -well, booking and expedia say that theres rooms available at the westin and the address tonight, for only slightly more than the sofitel...so im not sure that ill even last the night letalone comeback, not when there are hundreds of hotels in Dubai with comparable prices and better quality.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandsqtr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelDubaiJBR, General Manager at Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach for the second time. I also want to
thank you for raising your concern regarding room cleaning and noise disturbance from the music. We are looking into the room cleaning issue and trust that this is not the standard we are known for. The loud music that you heard on Thursday, 13th Dec, was from a private event. We won’t be accepting that group again due to the guest complaints their event caused.

Fri-Sat are DJ sets on Infini pool lounge played within decibel limits and do not cause any hassle to our guests. We will do a check again this weekend to make sure this is reinforced. Thank you for bringing to our notice.

I sincerely apologise for the inconvenience caused to you and hope that the move to higher floor with a complimentary access to Club Millesime was up to your expectation and you will give us another chance to serve you better on your future visits.

We value all the feedback we get, whether verbal, through emails or guest review websites, and always take necessary actions.

Please do not hesitate to contact me should you need any assistance with your future bookings on customer.service@sofiteljbr.ae.

Sincerely,

Sami Nasser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

Amazing location on JBR, with all the best restaurants on the road, service food etc was the best. The hotel had infinity pool and people were very warm to us to help us out and the service was remarkable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kusshal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelDubaiJBR, General Manager at Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Sofitel on your recent Dubai trip. I am delighted to learn that your trip was memorable and all our Ambassadors delivered remarkable service. Please do not hesitate to contact me on customer.service@sofiteljbr.ae should you return to Dubai in future. Thank you again for taking the time to share us with your experience.

Sincerely,

Sami Nasser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

Hotel Perfectly located in Jumeirah Beach. Lots of restaurant nearby. Beautifull Jumeirah Beach just 3 min walk accross the street. Hotel & rooms are up to the Sofitel Brand expectations. Big, Clean, Shiny, luxurious, comfortable, calm. We can really relax in this place. Staff are very professional & helpful. Lots of taxi in front so no need to wait a long time and the Metro is 15-20 min walk. It's long walking distance but very cheap when going to the other side of Dubai.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the Highest floors as possible. You'll get a wonderful view of the Sea and you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SwissGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelDubaiJBR, General Manager at Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Sofitel on your vacation and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We understand how important it is for our guests to have a memorable vacation and we give our utmost to meet their expectations. I am happy to know that your stay was wonderful and hassle free.

I look forward to welcoming you back on your future visit to Dubai.

Sincerely,

Sami Nasser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

From start to end our stay at Sofitel was amazing. We had been informed of the ongoing construction between the hotel and the beach, and we feared that it would bother us during our vacation. We did not notice much to the work (our room was at the 31st floor), but ask for a high level room as the cranes are a couple of floors high. Even at the pool area we didn't experience any noise.
The service was outstanding and the room was beautiful. We would definitely return to the hotel next time we are in Dubai.
The hotel greatly contributed to a successful vacation!

Room Tip: High level floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelDubaiJBR, General Manager at Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Sofitel on your vacation in Dubai and for taking the time to share with us your experience. We appreciate the fact that our guests work hard to take a vacation from their busy schedules and we, at Sofitel, work hard to make sure they get what they deserve. I am elated to know that Sofitel contributed to your successful vacation. Do not hesitate to contact me on customer.service@sofiteljbr.ae should you return to Dubai and I will be happy to assist you with your requests.

Sincerely,

Sami Nasser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

Perhaps it's our fault for coming at the coldest time of the year and perhaps it's because we were unlucky with the weather! Also this is probably the same for most hotels but the biggest problem was lack of sunshine by the pool. The beach and pool are north facing. The tall sky scrapers are in the way of the sun most of the time! This was a big problem when combined with all the wind from the sea! No tan for me!

The food on the strip adjacent to the hotel is generally mediocre and overpriced though the atmosphere at night is quite lively and nice. And being very far from the centre of town it was a bore to travel for better food! The location is very touristy like most places in Dubai.

The rooms are lovely.

All in all not a great time but more likely dubai's fault than the Sofitel!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mamtab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelDubaiJBR, General Manager at Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach. I understand how Dubai is perceived as the city for a nice tan, but this time of the year is a bit cold (for Dubai standards), not ideal for sunbathing. I appreciate the fact that you took time to write a review on TripAdvisor and shared your experience with us. Please do not hesitate to contact me on customer.service@sofiteljbr.ae should you decide to come to Dubai when the weather is warmer and is ideal for sunbathing.

Sincerely,

Sami Nasser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
The Marina
JA Ocean View Hotel
JA Ocean View Hotel
#47 of 543 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,596 reviews
The Marina
Hilton Dubai Jumeirah Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Marina
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Dubai - Jumeirah Beach
The Marina
Hilton Dubai The Walk
Hilton Dubai The Walk
#92 of 543 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,292 reviews
The Marina
Amwaj Rotana
Amwaj Rotana
#83 of 543 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach

Property: Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach
Address: Jumeirah Beach Residence | Al Sufouh Street, 69; Dubai Marina, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai > The Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Dubai
#35 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#38 Family Hotel in Dubai
#45 Business Hotel in Dubai
#48 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 438
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury beachfront hotel combining French spirit with Dubai's most appealing features: waterfront location, sea-view and direct access to The Walk, the city's stylish beachside promenade and outdoor shopping area. 35 Minutes from Dubai International Airport, close to Dubai Media City, Jebel Ali Free Zone, two of Dubai's biggest shopping malls, and three prestigious golf clubs. Leisure facilities: Beauty Salon, Infini-pool, Health Club, Sauna and Steam room. One restaurant and three lounges present truly international flavors. A dedicated Inspired Meetings team meets the needs of business travellers. Free wi-fi and a separate meetings floor ensure a satisfactory business operation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach Hotel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing