We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good Sofitel with a few downsides.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach
Ranked #67 of 561 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stayed for a 4 night stay on a personal recommendation. The place feels very corporate and contemporary with the requisite large atrium, artworks etc. all in place. Very nice rooms (we were upgraded to a suite) with lovely views over Jumeirah. We used the Exec Lounge for breakfast which was always very good and never crowded. We had drinks in the Plantation Lounge, again nice and not busy (special thanks to Samia, the waitress who always looked after us so well...). The Irish Bar was very popular with a great choice of tap beers - a great place to be with a crowd but not perhaps on your own or as a couple. Didn't eat in the French or Italian restaurants so am unable to comment other than I never ever saw anybody in the Italian restaurant. The hotel is situated across a road and building site from the beach which is all public. The downside for us was that whilst the hotel wasn't very busy, the pool area always was. That's because the space is relatively small, there are not enough loungers and those that remain are on top of each other. This for us, let the whole place down bearing in mind we went for a sun break. If there was a reason not to go back, this was it. A shame really, as we liked most other aspects of the place.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Malim27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,867)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,663 - 3,669 of 5,867 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2012

Plus
Great hotel, very nice and friendly people who are willing to help
Wonderful rooms with great view
Breakfast is a must to have, nice pool and pool bar, not too big but sufficient
Food and drinks are ok
Location is perfect

Min
Lot of construction in front of hotel
No beach facilities
Slow Internet (WiFi) but free of charge

Conclusionp
Great hotel to stay in Dubai, see you next year again
Thanks Sofitel

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Joop K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Accor traveler
Broadbeach, Australia
1
Reviewed November 13, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Accor traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed at the Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach in November, after having spent a few days in Abu Dhabi (see my previous review).

We had a poor experience there, and for different reasons, but mainly because of the service level. I will further comment this below.

In terms of location, which we rated 4, nothing to say, it is great. The hotel is on "the walk", which is a long "promenade" offering restaurants of all kinds, and shops. You find people there all the day long, but also at night. There is a one-way road, which is always facing traffic, even at 3 am in the night (especially on Thursdays). Very nice to have a walk, but pretty noisy. The (public) beach is just a few hundreds meters from the hotel. In front of the hotel, building constructions are being done, which means that you don't have any view on the sea when being on the ground (you need to go at the upper levels to see the sea).

The hotel itself is a "tower" with each room having a (partiel) sea view. Facilities are mainly located at the ground levels, with the exception of the Millesime Club which is at the 31st floor. Furnitures are very classic, with traditional Sofitel standards. No specific comment for that part. We rate it 3.

The room we first received was a Club Luxury Room (as booked), situated on the 31st floor, the one of the Millesime Club. If it sounds great at the first sight ("yeah, I am next to the Club"), it was not : the Millesime Club attracts a lot of guests, meaning that it is very busy and noisy. When your room is just a few doors from the Club, forget about rest and calm. Moreover, the room wasn't that clean, and the view wasn't great at all. The room was also pretty small : small bathroom, very small toilets in the bathroom, and the bedroom part. We asked to be upgraded as Platinum Le Club Accor Member, but our "buttler" refused, saying that the hotel was full. We asked the reception, and ... finally get an upgrade to a Junior Suite.

This part deserves an additional comment : our "buttler", which was supposed to take care of us during our stay, was there to take my credit card details, and to say "no" to all our other requests. For a "buttler" service, that wasn't very nice. Indeed, guests of the Club and Suites rooms have a separate reception desk, at the Club Millesime, on the 31st floor. That means that while you are being requested your credit card details, you have guests taking their snacks and drinks around you. No confidentiality at all, a lot of noise, ... Very bad idea.

Back to the room : we finally get a Junior Suite on the 11st floor. This room has two balconies, one for the living room, and one for the bedroom. The living room and the bedroom had their own flat screen TV. The bathroom has a shower, a bath, and a toilet. The toilet is so small that you cannot sit with the door closed - for a person with 180 cms high, this is just and simply impossible. You don't have place to put your legs ... I don't know who has make this possible, but that person has to be very small, for sure. A very bad point here (you can imagine a room with a toilet door not closed ...). The baclonies faced the sea, we had a view on the Palm Atlantis Hotel. Because of the toilets, we rate the room at 3 or 4. Looking at the Luxury Club room only, I would place a rate of 3 at maximum.

On the service, we rate it very poorly since : (1) when we arrived at the general reception desk (ground floor), we have been told that we were not at the right place to check-in, and that the Millesime reception desk was elsewhere. Fine. A "hello", or "how was your trip to arrive" would have been beter. (2) at the Club Millesime reception desk, our "buttler" told us that an upgrade wasn't possible - but we get one asking to talk to someone else ; expect nothing from that "buttler", except "no" or "my pleasure". (3) there is a "call center" button on your room phone : basically a good idea since you press that button, and then you have a woman asking you how she can help, because she will then re-route your call to the appropriate personel. However, out of 8 calls, she didn't understand 50% of the requests shared with her, while I think that my English is pretty decent. (4) if the woman transfers your call to someone else, then you receive a "no" or "yes, of course, we will do something", with no results at the end because they don't deliver what was requested. An example : we had no hot water in the room, called the call center, notified the problem, were told that someone would come in the next 10 minutes, and finally left the room one hour after without having seen anyone. Next example : we requested a late check-out, were told that someone would call us back in a minute, and didn't heard anyone before we left. So, service was very bad, really. (5) At the end of our stay, when we have been asked our impressions, we tried to explained those, and the woman just said "thanks" and "we hope to see you again soon" ... Given what has been said before, this just makes us more disappointed. (6) We were asked to answer an online "satisfaction survey" at the time of departure ; we filled it honestly - as this review - and were answered with this : "Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach. We are truly sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please accept our sincere apologies for not providing for your needs. At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problems and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns and we hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you better in the near future. Sincerely, ..." ... OK, we had an answer, but since the level of satisfaction we shared was pretty poored, we would have been pleased to receive a more "customised" answer (this one has to be a generic answer), or having a discussion with someone. For all those reasons, we rate the service as "very poor".

The "cleanliness" deserves a separate comment (we rated it "poor") : in fact, the general cleanliness of the hotel is fine, as you can expect, and the room was clean too. However - and this targets again the level of service we received - as we were leaving the room at 6 pm, while general check-out is earlier, our room wasn't clean that day ! When you ask for a late check-out, this is generally because your flight connection is later in the day, or in the night. So you expect to take a shower, or a sleep before leaving. It wasn't possible here : as the room wasn't cleaned, no fresh towels. It was just like : "OK, you have a late check-out, but don't ask us to deliver the service we deliver to a guest on arrival". This is the first time ever I face this situation ; we are used to late check-out, and our room has always been cleaned, as usual, in the morning even if we were leaving at 6 pm or later. This is why cleanliness was rated "poor" - perhaps a bit excessive.

The price/quality ratio deserves a bad rating too, as this was an expensive stay for the service we had. We rate this "poor" again.

All in all, forget about the Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach : this is a croweded "beach" hotel, with a poor level of services, which is not exclusive neither luxury. To my views, and I have visited a lot of different Sofitel around the world, this hotel doesn't deserve its brand - I am sorry to say. The level of service has to be sharply increased, if this hotel doesn't want to loose part of its clientele - around, you have Kempinski, Ritz-Carlton and some other. If service is not at the center of the guest experience, guests with our expectations will just move towards those brands, and this Sofitel will remain another type of clientele. This is perhaps the management's choice, but in that case, beter to announce it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Arbre_Sage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Beautiful hotel. Would definitely stay again. Staff were polite and helpful everywhere. We used the pool, the gym, beach mats and parasols for the beach and the Club lounge. Cannot fault any of it. Only downsides at the moment are the traffic and the construction opposite - neither of which the hotel can do anything about.. The hotel is on The Walk at JBR. This is a lovely pedestrian promenade with shops and cafes. Unfortunately it is a one way stretch of road which frequently gets busy - particularly weekend evenings. Opposite the hotel is a building site which started work quite early during the week so make sure the door to your balcony is closed.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizfromWalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I stayed between the 9th - 12th of October as part of my Honeymoon. As stated by other reviewers there is currently a large construction site located directly opposite from the hotel. We were not told about this until the day and as a point of courtesy I really feel the hotel should have informed us prior to our stay.

We were originally going to be situated on the 3rd floor in a room meant for people with special needs. This would not usually bother me but I wanted something a bit nicer for my honeymoon and i feel i certainly payed for it. They kindly upgraded me to a room on the 19th floor with a fantastic sea view.

Pool area is not inviting and small. It is also extremely noisy due to piling being undertaken on the construction site. We couldn't relax outside during our stay.

Restaurants, snack food and beverages in the hotel are ridiculously expensive and really not worth the money. As a point of protest my wife and I decided to spend our money at other hotels and establishments. Breakfast again really expensive - not worth the cash.

Overall:

Staff generally really helpful and friendly although slightly pretentious i.e. all staff members (mainly South Asian) greet you stating Bonjour or Bonsoir etc.... I know it's a French hotel but give me a break!!

Really comfortable bed and nice room

Expensive and really not worth the money in comparison to "luxury" hotels in UK and Europe. I felt like I was being ripped off.

Room Tip: Level 15+ Sea View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fraser_Lamont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

The hotel is excellent, we are quite a casually dressed family and felt welcome and not 'out of place' at this hotel. It was a smart hotel with no pretentiousness. The decor is lovely and the pool & outside area was so relaxing & lovely to hang out in. All staff are very pleasant and helpful, we couldn't have asked for more. We have stayed in several hotels in Dubai, this was definitely the best so far within our price range.

Location wise, by staying here on the Jumeriah Beach side, you have one of the best locations. You can walk along the promenade and have access to restaurants, cafes, supermarket, pharmacies, kids play zone, ice cream shops etc. etc. without the need to climb into a taxi! If you like shopping, the metro is a 15/20 minute walk, and then you have access to the well managed metro to take you to the Emirates Mall or the Dubai Mall.

We travelled with a toddler and it was absolutely great! Thanks for such a lovely week!

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
The Marina
JA Ocean View Hotel
JA Ocean View Hotel
#66 of 561 in Dubai
5,143 reviews
The Marina
Hilton Dubai Jumeirah
Hilton Dubai Jumeirah
#145 of 561 in Dubai
5,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Marina
Hilton Dubai The Walk
Hilton Dubai The Walk
#113 of 561 in Dubai
2,892 reviews
Shangri-La Hotel, Dubai
#17 of 561 in Dubai
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach

Address: The Walk | Jumeirah Beach Residence, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai > The Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Dubai
#35 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#38 Family Hotel in Dubai
#45 Business Hotel in Dubai
#59 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range: $167 - $605 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 438
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury beachfront hotel combining French spirit with Dubai's most appealing features: waterfront location, sea-view and direct access to The Walk, the city's stylish beachside promenade and outdoor shopping area. 35 Minutes from Dubai International Airport, close to Dubai Media City, Jebel Ali Free Zone, two of Dubai's biggest shopping malls, and three prestigious golf clubs. Leisure facilities: Beauty Salon, Infini-pool, Health Club, Sauna and Steam room. One restaurant and three lounges present truly international flavors. A dedicated Inspired Meetings team meets the needs of business travellers. Free wi-fi and a separate meetings floor ensure a satisfactory business operation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach Hotel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing