We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach
Ranked #52 of 544 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Loved it!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2011

Amazing!! Stayed for 4 nights breakfast included which is rare generally in Dubai. We did have to contact the company we booked the hotel through as they didn't accept the breakfast voucher but it was all fine once Agoda phoned to confirm it.
The room was lovely with excellent views of the Palm. Just what we requested high up room with sea views. Very clean rooms, bathroom lovely with bath and separate shower!!
The pool was superb with a pool bar and all the staff were helpful and courteous, exactly what you would expect from a 5star.
Location was great and it all came to life at night like Dubai does generally. Loads of restaurants, a very tourist area of Dubai.
We have been to Dubai 3 times now and would certainly stay here again!!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank B5PAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelDubaiJBR, General Manager at Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach, responded to this review, May 31, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach on your recent visit to Dubai. I apologise for the inconvenience caused due to Agoda voucher. Kindly note that this was a mistake from Agoda that has been resolved now. To avoid future inconveniences, please book directly on the hotel website where you can find better offers than on other online travel agencies.
I will share your kind comments with my team. We take guest feedback very seriously as it helps in staff motivation, better service and thus better guest experience.

Please do not hesitate to contact me on customer.service@sofiteljbr.ae for future queries.

I look forward to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,

Sami Nasser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,470
    1,212
    355
    103
    75
See reviews for
902
2,542
301
560
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,068)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2011

We stayed 3 nights at the Hotel during a stopover in Dubai and we liked it a lot.
During check in we received a free upgrade to a Club Level room and it turned out to be a spacious room with a stunning view over the ocean on the 31st floor.
The hotel staff in general seems competent and is very friendly and helpful. We booked a desert tour and a city trip at the hotel which were both fun and not overpriced at all.
The breakfast in the morning is great and delicious. Okay the pool is a bit small but still enough for a quick swim and than relaxing at the bar/lounge area or have a quick work out in the gym. The hotel is located at the beach so you can also have a swim in the sea instead and they are providing towels and beach mats (free of charge) if needed.
All in all we truly enjoyed our stay at the hotel and will probably be back.

Tipp:
We booked the Sofitel via the Emirates web page together with the flight. It was a so called stopover packed (up to 96 hours stay in Dubai) and the hotel rate was cheaper and included breakfast as well as free transport service from/to the airport.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fumanschuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2011

Stayed here for 7 nights to celebrate my husband's 5oth birthday but unlike some other reviewers experiences of special occasions we weren't lucky enough to get any recognition of the event. We had a superior room with side sea view. The view was lovely although the balcony was very small and the chairs weren't very comfortable. The room itself was gorgeous, spotlessly clean with a huge comfortable bed. The bathroom was fabulous with a large, deep tub and separate shower and toilet. Read a lot of negative comments regarding the toilet stall but we didn't have any problems with it at all. The staff are extremely polite and helpful but we did find the concierge desk a bit of a let down. The concierge was generally on the phone which meant a long wait to speak to him or if he wasn't on the phone, as you approached the desk, he would pick up the phone. Information leaflets regarding attractions would have been helpful as although the concierge provided info on anything you enquired about, you had to know about the attraction in the first instance to be able to enquire about it. We ate in the Italian restaurant and found the food and service to be excellent. Prices were quite reasonable for the standard of the hotel. We also used the Irish bar during happy hour to take advantage of the 2 for 1 drink offers. Again service was excellent and the complimentary snacks provided were delicious. The pool area was beautiful although like most other reviews,we found the number of sun loungers to be totally inadequate for the size of the hotel, especially over the weekend (Fri and Sat) when the hotel was very busy. The pool itself never seemed to be busy though and it was lovely to stand at the edge of the pool and watch the sun set over the sea. We used the swim up bar too and found the prices to be quite reasonable given the location.
Free WiFi was good although there was no signal on the balcony which was a shame as you couldn't use the laptop whilst sat there. We had a hire car for the duration of our stay and took advantage of the free valet parking service which was a great help as the car park in front of the hotel was very busy during the evenings of the weekend. We used the beach a few times and it was very clean. The beach pack with towels, water and mats was a welcome bonus although due to the intense heat, we couldn't sit out for very long as there were no umbrellas on the public beach. All in all, we had a very enjoyable stay but would probably stay elsewhere if we returned to Dubai as the lack of sunbeds around the pool and a private beach meant we couldn't take full advantage of the location.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Golf_WidowPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelDubaiJBR, General Manager at Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach, responded to this review, May 29, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach on your recent visit to Dubai. I am glad that you had a good time during your stay. I apologise for the inconvenience caused at the Concierge desk, the pool and due to internet connection. I will see with them personally these matters. Please be kind enough to send me the details of your stay at customer.service@sofiteljbr.ae so that I can also investigate into your husband's 50th birthday occassion.
Please note that we have added extra sunbeds by the pool about a week ago to avoid complaints. I'm sure on your return, you would find it pleasant.
I will share your good comments with the teams of Irish Bar, The Hub, and Italian restaurant , Rococo.

I thank you again for your time taken to write this review about your stay and I hope to see you on your return visit to Dubai.

Sincerely,

Sami Nasser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2011

We stayed at the Sofitel Jumeirah Beach from the 5th to the 11th of March 2011 but have decided that we will not be staying at a Sofitel Hotel ever again. This hotel is classed as a 5 star hotel but after our experience, it would struggle to even qualify as a 3 star hotel. The rooms are tiny, the lighting in the room we stayed in was very poor and there were huge technical issues with the shower which was not training....and so each time you took a shower you had to step into dirty water from the last shower you had taken.....needless to say it was absolutely disgusting!!! We reported the shower issue at least twice including to a lady duty manager but it was never resolved!! There was no offer of a room change at any point or even a sincere apology...it was as if they thought we were just complaining so we could get freebies. On one night our air conditioner stopped working.....and we had to endure the extreme temperatures of Dubai without air conditioning throughout the night. There was also a large dent in the wall in the bedroom which made the room look grubby. Just a lick og paint would have sorted this out but clearly the hotel could not be bothered to do that!!
The service was generally poor. The porters were ok but reception, concierge and reception were a joke. They seemed unable to even communicate effectively. As for guest services....I am not sure they know what the purpose of a guest services/ guest relations desk is.... they never initiated any conversation with guests to try and find out how they could improve our stay but they were always sat at the desk staring at their computer screen!
The concierge desk was only selling/promoting tours from specific tour companies which were extremely overpriced...as we had travelled to Dubai before we were able to recognise this and did our own bookings on the internet instead. Our suspicion is that the hotel is receiving kickbacks from the companie that they are promoting...something which the hotel has denied in their email to me but I believe to be true!
We have previously stayed at the Crowne Plaza Dubai Festival City before. They are also a 5 star hotel, charge lower rates than the Sofitel but their service is miles better and they offer better value for money, with staff that will go all out to make your stay the best it can be. We just fancied a change and decided to try the Sofitel and as they were more expensive we thought they would be even better...big mistake!!
The Sofitel is right y the beach but it is a public beach which is quite difficult to get to...you have to go through a car park, a road and down a steep gradient to get there...not very pleasant. The Hilton just next door is usually cheaper, also a 5 star and has a private beach!!
The pool was very small, had very few pool loungers. Generally poor leisure facilities compared to other 5 star hotels in Dubai.
In short we found no real advantages for booking a the Sofitel. It was expensive, with poor value for money, poor service, poor facilities. We will not be going back to the Sofitel Jumeirah Beach or any other Sofitel!!

Room Tip: Book elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shirls2606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
81 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2011

Just back from another fab holiiday in dubai was there 18mths ago and stayed at the royal meridion beach and spa nothing compares to that but obviously that was double the price.Any way this was a lovely hotel buitiful pool area just right size for a swim with great views over the beach and atlantis, There are a few points to make which we did worry about before going, ie,not enough sun loungers at all i know its used as a bar at night but this could be resolved during the day move the chairs to the sides wheel more loungers to the whole pool area and get more umbrellas!!. yes the beach is straight opposit and its fantastic just to walk to and swim in the sea thats as hot as a bath, but as we are pale english who burn easily and its was 46.1 one day when some one told us we new it must have been around them temps even with our factor 50 on we can only walk on beach and swim in sea we could not sit on beach, the beach pack is brill idea but you need an umerella so maybe the hotel could provide these as well which would have been perfect. the staff in the hotel are lovely and friendly and sort anything out for you on the other hand the bar staff at pool area are not friendly.! breakfast was really good all the choice for everyone even bacon if you like a full english. the food in general around the hotel is very good yes you pay more but very good quantity and quality, the clenliness in the hotel is spotless apart from the room service was poor compared to other hotels ive been to only gave you two sashes of coffee and milk a day and didnt hoover or dust the whole time we were there which was 8 loverly nights, there turn down service is just that turn your covers back and leave you a chocolate, We are very clean and tidy as we have a lot of property and hate it when its left a mess but one evening i left one towel on the floor as it was quiet dirty i always reuse towels but they just left it ?. And the bedding wasnt changed once which isnt to bad as were clean? i had to catch them one day to ask for loo paper and they didnt come while 2-3pm every day which is late, the room was lovely and we payed extra for a full sea view on a high floor fab views, the beds comfy but pillows to thick for me. The hub bar was execellent and had a 2 hour happy hour being british we do like a little drink on an evening on holiday the drinks were not to expenisve and they have all live football on, the hilton has a bar on the ground floor as well were drinks are reasonable, we loved the walk at night and had some really good food a shame you cant have a glass of wine with your meal as only hotels serve alchol, good meal was bbq nights next to hotel was one of best meals day and buffet at night arriginal arabic food and mainly locals exe choice of food and meat, we went with emirates who we try and use for longhall holidays and we booked our hotel through them as well as we got free transfers and breakfast included , all in all another fab holiday in dubai will def go again but keep trying diffrent hotels and areas there are a lot to choose from.

Room Tip: full sea view on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vivenrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelDubaiJBR, General Manager at Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach, responded to this review, May 29, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach on your recent visit to Dubai. I deeply apologise for the lack in Housekeeping standards. Please email me your stay details on customer.service@sofiteljbr.ae and I will look into the matter myself.

I am happy to know that you enjoyed the pool, the view, sea, the walk, breakfast, and other things.

I hope to hear from you soon and see you on your return trip.

Sincerely,

Sami Nasser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2011

This is a very nice hotel. We got 2 connecting rooms and felt luxury from the minute we entered the hotel lobby. The check in staff were great. The lady at the reception who managed to find the connecting rooms for my family was very polite and friendly. In fact all the staff at the check in counter were always smiling, professional and showed they cared about guests.

The rooms were great with a nice partial view balcony. The hotel is on Dubai's "the walk" which is a street full with restaurants and a lot of activity that is near to jumeirah's beach.

overall its on my list for future winter visits.

Room Tip: ask for room with full view balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tbdreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelDubaiJBR, General Manager at Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach, responded to this review, May 29, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach on your recent visit to Dubai. I am glad to know that our ambassadors impressed you, especially the ones at the reception. Would you, by any chance, remember the name of the lady you mentioned in your review? If you do, please email me on customer.service@sofiteljbr.ae. This helps in our staff recognition program that is based on customer reviews. The room with full view balcony is our Luxury room category and definitely has breathtaking views.
I look forward to welcome you back in winter. If I can assist you with anything else, please do not hesitate to write to me.

Sincerely,

Sami Nasser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2011

Absolutely loved this hotel and would definitely stay there again when I visit Dubai. Service was impeccable, location to beach fantastic and abundance of restaurants on your doorstep. Breakfast was great with a wide range to choose from. Shuttle bus to the Malls was very useful if you wanted to save on taxi fares although taxis are not expensive anyway. Metro was easy to use and made a change from taxis. Hotel provided beach mats, towels and water if you wanted to go to the beach. Swimming pool was lovely though small. The only downside was the small number of lounges for the size of hotel but this did not put us off. Bedrooms were very spacious and very comfortable and bathroom absolutely lovely with complimentary L'occitane bath products which was a nice touch. The only small dissapointment was that when we arrived there was no hotel staff to carry our luggage in and the staff at reception did not offer someone to take our bags up to our room asd they do in all hotels. I dont know if this was just an oversight as I observed other guests being assisted with their luggage. Overall though i would not hesitate to book this hotel again in the future.

Room Tip: reccomend room on higher floor for best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nazpazazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelDubaiJBR, General Manager at Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach, responded to this review, May 24, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach on your recent visit to Dubai. I apologise for the inconvenience caused to you about your luggage. If you can please email me your stay dates on customer.service@sofiteljbr.ae, I will personally look into the matter and get back to you.
Also, we re-arranged the sunbeds by the pool to double the existing number. Guests seem to like it very much.
I'm glad that rest of your stay was pleasant and I hope to welcome you in back future.

Sincerely,

Sami Nasser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
The Marina
Hilton Dubai Jumeirah Beach
The Marina
JA Ocean View Hotel
JA Ocean View Hotel
#57 of 544 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Marina
Hilton Dubai The Walk
Hilton Dubai The Walk
#101 of 544 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,488 reviews
The Marina
Amwaj Rotana
Amwaj Rotana
#75 of 544 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,092 reviews
The Marina
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Dubai - Jumeirah Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach

Property: Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach
Address: Jumeirah Beach Residence | Al Sufouh Street, 69; Dubai Marina, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai > The Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Dubai
#35 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#38 Family Hotel in Dubai
#45 Business Hotel in Dubai
#50 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 438
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury beachfront hotel combining French spirit with Dubai's most appealing features: waterfront location, sea-view and direct access to The Walk, the city's stylish beachside promenade and outdoor shopping area. 35 Minutes from Dubai International Airport, close to Dubai Media City, Jebel Ali Free Zone, two of Dubai's biggest shopping malls, and three prestigious golf clubs. Leisure facilities: Beauty Salon, Infini-pool, Health Club, Sauna and Steam room. One restaurant and three lounges present truly international flavors. A dedicated Inspired Meetings team meets the needs of business travellers. Free wi-fi and a separate meetings floor ensure a satisfactory business operation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach Hotel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing