We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent lunch-time menu”
Review of Zuma

Zuma
Ranked #70 of 9,663 Restaurants in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Doha, Qatar
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch-time menu”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I have previously reviewed my evening dining experience with this restaurant which was excellent and has led to me returning on many a subsequent occasion. However, I this time opted for the express lunch-time menu which certainly lived up to my expectations. Whilst the menu is restricted, indeed for vegetarians there really is only one option per course, this does not detract from the very high standards of the food served. I enjoyed miso soup, followed by sliced tomatoes in ginger, spiced tofu and a dish consisting of mushrooms and rice. All very tasty. You have to pay extra for a dessert from the a la carte menu but it would, in my view, be foolish not to opt for the Special Chocolate which is simply divine. As always, the service and ambiance of the restaurant is excellent. As they are often very busy, making a reservation is advisable.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CKGrout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,378
    511
    161
    50
    57
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Used to be the best, now REALLY overrated”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

When Zuma first opened almost 5 years ago it was really the best place around, it was the only place where you would get an amazing vibe, crowd, food etc. But with time many other places have opened where the service is so much better that myself as well as many people i know frequent it much less if at all. Yes the venue is amazing, and the food is good but for the price you always leave still feeling hungry no matter how much you order and the experience is almost always ruined by the service. I have never in my life seen such obnoxious service, from the hostess to the waiters, they need a MAJOR lesson in humility and hospitality. Last time I was there about 45mins after we had finished our appetizers we still hadn't received our mains, we ask where the food is and the response is "I am not the one cooking the food" Better off going to a place like La Petit Maison or Robertos both just around the corner with delicious food and much much much better service and pleasant staff.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ssalama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“45 min wait and food order not taken.”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

After nearly a 1 hour wait to be served, a waiter and another dinner getting physical we decided to leave. Menu and art look nice, unlike the service.food probaly nice but who knows...not sure if i will again sadly

Helpful?
4 Thank Beershark
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“great food”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

the sesame spinach, tuna tartare, miso cod, truffle rice, fried tofu, beef tataki, yellow tail sashimi are the best!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mahesh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Ok food shame about the smoking in the restaurant”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The food was good but hated the fact that yo cold smoke in the bar area ,, which mean that yo cold smell the cigarette smell while eating your food ,
For the prices they charge they should ban smoking is it a restaurant ir a pub ???
Would not return fo this reason

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank timetraveller53_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zuma also viewed

Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to Zuma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing