We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the best part of our visit to Dubai!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
TIME Oak Hotel & Suites
Ranked #160 of 561 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 29, 2012

After a frustrating experience at the Dubai airport and getting extorted by a taxi driver who did not know his way, fell asleep behind the wheel, and refused to return our change, insisting that we tipped him (all these are apparently normal experiences in Dubai, as anecdotal evidence suggests), the hotel felt like paradise to us while we were checking in.

Staff were friendly (although some had issues with conversing in English), and the lobby was pretty clean. We received a pleasant surprise when the staff told us that the 2-bedroom apartment we had booked was not available, and that they would upgrade us to the 3-bedroom unit instead. They also kindly arranged for us to check out slightly later at 2pm as we had a late flight out.

The unit was spacious and clean. It was pretty well-equipped, although we would have appreciated having a microwave oven in the kitchen. But otherwise, we had no complaints about the apartment. The hotel also had reasonably good facilities, including a pool and fitness room. Only thing was that its location was slightly out of the way, and there were not many food choices around. We also had to take a taxi much of the time (and got extorted several times more).

After we had checked out, we still had several hours before our flight, and the staff very helpfully offered to take care of our luggage while we went to the nearby areas. We however had some problems asking them for advice on exploring the nearby areas, due to language problems. But it nonetheless was a nice gesture, considering they had volunteered to take care of our stuff, and when we had returned, they also very quickly helped to retrieve our belongings and got us a taxi so that we could board our flight in time.

Overall, this was a good place to stay in. Unfortunately, we will not choose to go back to that city again, but if in case we have to go back in future, we will consider staying at this place again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelvinLin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ENdolo, Public Relations Manager at TIME Oak Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2012

Dear Mel,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your stay with us. It was certainly a pleasure having you as our guest and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit here at TIME Oak Hotel & Suites and that you found our services up to your satisfaction and standards.

Rest assured that your positive comments have been shared with our team members, which will encourage them to maintain their efforts and improve our quality of service every day.

It is always a pleasure to have you as our guests and we look forward to welcoming you back in case you do choose to visit Dubai again.


All the Best,
The TIME Oak Hotel & Suites Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (600)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

445 - 451 of 601 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2012

I chose this hotel as I was looking for a 1 bedroom apartment. The apartments are really, really spacious with large windows that actually open onto a balcony. (My experience in a number of hotels that I have stayed in in Dubai is that the windows do not open.). The apartment was very clean and airy.
The check-in and check-out was friendly and efficient.
The food was really good and I especially loved their lunchtime buffet.
Layia is located on a very quiet street so it was a peaceful place to come ''home'' to at the end a busy day.
Its also an alcohol free hotel.

Its location may be a disadvantage if you need to travel out to Bur Dubai or Deira like I did. But it is very close to the Mall of Emirates and Jumeirah Beach.

Some of the furniture in the room was starting to look a little old. And cooking pots and pans in the kitchen were not clean. And I couldnt clean them to use them as the hotel does not provide any scourers or washing up liquid.
They did forget to clean our room one day, I got in at 11pm and it was unmade. Housekeeping sent someone in to make the beds and give us cleantowels.

Overall, a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: The corner apartments have 2 balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LWKO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

THis was my worst experience in a UAE Hotel.
We had booked 4 singel rooms for 4 nights. Once arrived we had been informed that the reserved rooms are not availabel and 2 persons had to share a 1 room. At the end we had to stay together the complete stay. (Were unable to give us the reserved room) no discount on the room charge either.
B/F is okay and people are nice but not enough staff to serve you in time.
Check an new nightmare without any cue we had to wait 45 min !! to get ou bill to be settled. Unable to add the company name in the bill. Completely unprofessional.
Thanky to this we almost lost our flight.
Good luck

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Hu B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2012

Nice hotel. The area was a bit away from town, but close to mono rail so easy to get around. Very nice tea shop over the road. Staff always helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nic_Auckland_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Layia Oak for 6 days, the staff were very pleasant and accommodating especially the executive and management office staff. The place was pretty clean and very spaciuous. The food was good at both the restaurant and the pool deck. The location is close by the main metro. I felt that prices were reasonable and relatively cheap compared to other hotels at the same level. The only thing is that i hope they can work on heating the pool more often as we were there in December and the water was fairly cold. Nonetheless, I would definately stay their again !!
THe only unfavourable experience i had is that the internet was ot free at the business center pr the lobby which i think most hotels offer,

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Firas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

The Layia Oak Hotel and Suites is a well maintained Apartment Hotel in the Greens area of Jumaira. The rooms of our 3 bedroom apartment where very spacious and the size of the kitchen, dining room and lounge was an added extra that we thoroughly enjoyed. It almost felt like staying in your own apartment with the added benefit of having a daily aid to clean up. The space is actually sufficient for 6 adults or 4 adults and 4 children.The staff was very friendly and always willing to help. The kitchen is stocked for 6 people and has a full size fridge and freezer, stove and oven in it. Better knifes for the food preparation would be nice. Negative is the high cost for internet usage. It only becomes affordable if one pays for a minimum if a week. It is cheaper to use the hotspot facility offered by DU network that for example is available in the metro station.

Room Tip: You can ask for early check in but this is not always possible. The mall of the emirates is very clo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phoenixber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We used this hotel during Christmas holiday with our two boys. Altough hotel has trip adviser 2011 best hotel reward certificate,It is not very clean. I saw biggist cockroach on our forth day, when i asked cleaner to remove it he wasn't successfull. They had constraction work going on for five days around the pool. Than they put manure in the garden around the pool which smelt very bad and had so many flies. When i asked manager why they have all this going on during Christmas holiday she said that December is their quitest time, I found out from reception that was not true. Very few restorants and food facilitys around. Hotel restorant is not very cheap. Up points are; it's only 4 minutes walk to metro station and has very nice breakfast. Staff was very polite and helpfull but that was not enough for good holiday :(

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sevgibates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
0.1 mi away
First Central Hotel Suites
0.2 mi away
dusitD2 Kenz Hotel
dusitD2 Kenz Hotel
#17 of 561 in Dubai
233 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Dubai Barsha Heights Hotel Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
TIME Grand Plaza Hotel
TIME Grand Plaza Hotel
#168 of 561 in Dubai
674 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gloria Hotel
Gloria Hotel
#170 of 561 in Dubai
3,226 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Millennium Dubai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TIME Oak Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TIME Oak Hotel & Suites

Address: TECOM, Al Barsha, Dubai 283634, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Best Value Hotel in Dubai
#50 Business Hotel in Dubai
#77 Family Hotel in Dubai
#80 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#139 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range: $89 - $358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — TIME Oak Hotel & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Dubai, the TIME Oak Hotel & Suites is only 5 minutes from Mall of the Emirates, Dubai Marina, Jumeirah and The Palm Dubai. Additional nearby points of interest include The Emirates Golf Club, Internet & Media City. All suites have separate living room and bedroom, balcony, high quality beds. 42inch TV with international channel. Enjoy one of the biggest temperature controlled swimming pools for a city hotel in Dubai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your TIME Oak Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Layia Oak Hotel Dubai
Layia Oak Hotel And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing