We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“''Heavenly oasis''”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residence & Spa at One&Only Royal Mirage Dubai
Ranked #1 of 542 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“''Heavenly oasis''”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The great thing about this place is that it is not like a hotel ! It is stuck between the Royal Palace and the Arabian Court ( both recommended but much larger ). The Residence guests have access to their facilities but the facilities of the Residence remain private. Superb from start to finish from our warm welcome with a glass of fizz at 2am after a late flight to the service on the beach ( iced water, fruit, sorbets and the spectacle cleaner !! ). The rooms are grouped in two storey units generally four together serviced by their own entrance, hallway and ' two houseboys'. The executive suites are awesome, as are the junior suites but frankly the prestige rooms are all you need. It is up to choice but our room was away from the main building overlooking the beach and second floor therefore with a balcony view of the beach and The Palm. The service from the staff was unbelievable, nothing too much trouble. All facilities were usually half full including tables for the lovely breakfasts and the beach tents ( always availability ). The hammam and spa was excellent. The food was generally of a high standard but frankly do not go to Dubai if you seek culinary excellence, even at this hotel or the Burj al Arab ! You would have to seek out a top international restaurant and then pay some ! We wanted local fare and it is not easy to find. The ambience and fare at The Courtyard of The Arabian Court followed by a cool sheesha smoke ticks the boxes ! Do not waste your time heading for Peppercrab and The Tagine is very average compared to the delights of Marrakesh. The gardens are superb and the pool area beautiful and peaceful ( never a problem to find your own little gazebo and loungers ). I envy those retired gentlefolk who I am told take a suite for a month at a time. The rate of returning guests is extremely high but apparently the British still turn up in the summer to brave the heat of 40-50 C. We cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: Probably better a little away from the main building. All rooms superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank filiusfog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    633
    52
    15
    3
    3
See reviews for
121
424
30
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I stayed here while on business because I did not want to stay at the Atlantis where my conference was being held. Good choice, if I may say so. The grounds and pool area are immaculate and provide a home to a wide variety of exotic birds. The beach is a few yards away and, while the sea view is a little spoiled by the construction work ongoing on the outer fronds of Palm Jumeirah, the sand is powdery and pristine. My suite was perfectly proportioned and furnished, and there was a Nespresso machine (it is odd how many hotels do not provide in-room coffee-making facilities) and travel adaptors already in sockets (again, not many hotels think of this). The turndown service was excellent, and there were always plenty of bottles of mineral water left for me (once again, some hotels really do skimp on this). Complimentary afternoon tea was a nice touch. Service throughout the hotel was polite and efficient. Overall, a very enjoyable stay. I am already planning to return with my wife.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank the_eyres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Spent a wonderful nine days here and this counts as undoubtedly the VERY BEST hotel I have ever stayed in.
From the moment we arrived (at 2am) we were met with smiles and an impression that the staff were truly delighted to see us. Cold drinks and cold towels while checking in were also very welcome.
The room was spotless and well sized, plenty of fresh flowers and fruit (which was replenished daily, as was the bottled water). We ordered room service – ALL the items on the menu were available even at that time of the morning. How often does that happen? Most hotels have a limited room service menu after midnight but not One and Only.
This is a hotel to stay in if you want to relax and get away from the noise, hustle and bustle of the outside world. There are no children’s facilities (fine by me) so not suited to families really. The staff are fantastic – ever willing to help, the levels of service higher than I have experienced elsewhere.
Tried the spa a couple of times, again, everything to a very high standard.
Had a meal twice in the Olives Restaurant – the menu is not extensive but there is surely enough for anyone to be tempted. The food was divine, on both occasions.
The restaurant doubled as the location for breakfasts. Indoor and outdoor seating was available. A lovely selection of fresh fruits, pastries, cereals were on display and a menu listing various hot food options was available, which were made to order.
Every day (between 3pm and 5.30pm) complimentary afternoon tea was served in the library. Once again, the selection, quality and service were first class.
As the hotel only has 40 rooms, the pool area was never busy – they seem to have sun-beds for every guest! The private beach was pristine – well maintained and spacious. Plenty of staff on duty to ensure non-residents didn’t use it as well as provide you with complimentary ice cold water, fresh fruit and sorbet throughout the day. They even clean your sunglasses for you.
Mid-way through our stay we had to call a doctor – the hotel was fantastic and sorted everything for us quickly and professionally, even arranged for the pharmacy to deliver the medicine to us at the hotel. Later that night on arriving back at the room we discovered a huge bunch of white roses and a “Get Well” card personally signed by the General Manager and the staff.
On our final night the room valets had created the most exquisite sculpture of a pair of swans using towels and decorated with flower petals.
We were sad to leave but will definitely be back. I can absolutely recommend the One & Only Royal Mirage, Residence and Spa.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pilot129825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We are big fans of One&Only - having spent magical holidays in the MaldIves, the Bahamas and Dubai in the past. However our most recent stay at the Royal Mirage in Dubai made us feel like we were on a cheap group tourist holiday. We arrived at 8am following an overnight flight and despite informing them ahead of time of our early arrival (and 'guaranteed' early check-in afforded by our LHW membership), we were told our rooms would only be ready for 2pm. An unapologetic manager told us they are running at full occupancy and 2pm check-in is hotel polIcy. We could go to the swimming pool if we liked. Thanks very much.

Indeed the hotel feels like it can't manage full occupancy with waiters constantly bringing wrong orders or forgetting outright your order. I ordered a hotel car for a meeting which I couldn't be late for and when I arrived at reception, they didn't even know about my booking and after 15 minutes of deliberations they eventually found me a taxi.

The most annoying thing is the staff is unfriendly and unapologetic - something which you don't expect from the One&Only. Maybe they are tired and over stretched and poorly trained. But that is unforgivable when you pay top dollar even by 5 star standards. Such a shame given the beautiful premises and image that they have spent a long time building.

One piece of advice: only come here when there is very low occupancy, otherwise you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Dvaputnika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

This was our third visit in a year to this wonderful hotel and once again it did not disappoint. You are pampered from the minute you arrive by the most incredible staff who are only too happy to look after you. The cleanliness of the rooms is quite exceptional and they are so comfortable and quiet. As many have mentioned the afternoon tea is a delight which should not be missed but be prepared to come home with a bigger waistline. This was a good time of year to visit as the temperature was perfect and enabled us to explore all three hotels in the evening. From June to late September it can be extremely humid in the evenings requiring the use of the hotel buggy to get around which is readily available. It is worth a visit to the Piano Bar in the Palace where you can spend a few very pleasant hours after your evening meal. Our preferred choice to eat in the evening is definitely at the Residence. There is a new chef who has revamped the menu and the food was absolutely superb however it had always been excellent. The pool area is for residents only although they are able to use the facilities at The Palace and The Arabian Court if they are looking for somewhere a bit more lively. For total relaxation and peace then the pool at the Residence is where you want to be. Going back in June and can't wait!

Room Tip: First floor rooms have lovely views over the gardens and beach and you are less likely to find a pea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenM-Swansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

The most wonderful resort with the most wonderful staff. Pure luxury and pampering all the way and can thoroughly recommend this hotel for a relaxing stay. Food is wonderful and their complimentary afternoon tea is a must! Great pool, fantastic location and a magical experience.

Room Tip: Go for 35 plus as these are sea front facing and preferably lower level so you enjoy the privacy of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
124 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 372 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

.

This was our second trip to the Royal Mirage Residence & Spa and we still think it a great property on a nice spacious piece of land with a pleasant private beach where the sea is always reasonably warm. If the property is quiet it's quite a blissful place to be. The pool area on peaceful days is a real joy. What I am surprised about is how old fashioned the rooms still are, though perhaps for some that's a good thing. But they've certainly not been touched in over 7 years. Though I suspect the One & Only prefer to spend their money on newer properties. Also, as this is Dubai you really cannot kid yourself you've got a great view. Piles of cement and unfinished hotels over on The Palm do not make for a great vista - though obviously this isn't the Royal Mirage's fault.

As much as we like this hotel I still cannot give it 5* stars, yet it so easily should be a top quality resort. What lets it down is the service. Some mornings breakfast is shambolic. You can order hot food that takes an hour to arrive ( thank heavens we weren't going anywhere) - or you can simply order juice or tea and it just does not come. And dare you ask for something that some of the staff don't understand due to your accent, they'd prefer to disappear rather than simply ask you to repeat what you want or ask a manager for assistance. Utterly bizarre and quite irritating. Also, something really should be done about the birds that attack tables as soon as diners have left. It's really not pleasant having black birds (crows?) attacking food and flying off with whole pastries and pooping on the chairs and your clothes. We have stains on our clothing which cannot be removed .. so we've had to throw stuff away. That's not good. Keep in mind you'll probably be paying around $1,000+ a night to stay here - and you come home and have to throw some of your clothing in the trash.

If we are passing through Dubai again we would stay at The Residence & Spa - I still don't think it can be beat. The One & Only The Palm is of course the place everyone now wants to stay at. But that property feels cramped compared to The Residence. And the views from the beach at The Palm are just awful.

So, I would like to think at some point in the future One & Only resorts will spend a bit of money updating The Residence & Spa - and some good strong management should be brought in to get service at meal times up to scratch .. and please, someone, do something about the birds .. having breakfast or afternoon tea shouldn't be like being on the set of Hitchcock's The Birds!
.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Serial_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
Raffles Dubai
#2 of 542 in Dubai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,277 reviews
Burj Al Arab Jumeirah
#26 of 542 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Atlantis, The Palm
#97 of 542 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16,179 reviews
The Marina
Grosvenor House Dubai
The Marina
Address Dubai Marina
Address Dubai Marina
#5 of 542 in Dubai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence & Spa at One&Only Royal Mirage Dubai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence & Spa at One&Only Royal Mirage Dubai

Property: Residence & Spa at One&Only Royal Mirage Dubai
Address: Al Sufouh Road | Jumeirah Beach Road, Dubai 37252, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Dubai
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Dubai
#3 Family Hotel in Dubai
#7 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#159 Business Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Residence & Spa at One&Only Royal Mirage Dubai 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence & Spa is an intimate sanctuary for those who wish to indulge in the comforts of prosperity with its own private reception and Dining Room and Library exclusive to guests staying in any of the 48 rooms and suites or the free-standing beachfront Garden Villa.The Arabian-styled private residences, each cared for by a specifically-selected, dedicated team, house a retreat of 1 Garden Villa, 16 Suites and 32 Prestige Rooms. Spacious and created with the finest detailing, all are sea facing with private balcony or terrace, and the elegant Garden Villa also provides a luxurious and ornate environment within the most exclusive part of the resort.Within the elegant courtyard entrance of Residence & Spa, guests will find the Health and Beauty Institute, an oasis of relaxation featuring the One&Only Spa, Oriental Hammam, the Pedi:Mani:Cure Studio by Bastien Gonzalez and hair salon by Alexandre Zouari. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ and Agoda so you can book your Residence & Spa at One&Only Royal Mirage Dubai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence&Spa At One And Only Royal Mirage Dubai
Residence&Spa At One&Only Royal Mirage Dubai Hotel Dubai
Residence Hotel Dubai
Residence Resort Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing