We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it is a very excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Midwest Express Hotel Apartments
Ranked #494 of 556 Hotels in Dubai
Reviewed October 9, 2013

my name is riaz chaudhry and we stayed in grand mid west hotel for 10days. my wife and I loved their rooms, their services, their ambience. our stay was very comfortable, easy access to the public transport, very peaceful location and a brilliant view.there rates are very reasonable I wish to come back and stay there again.
riaz chaudhry
room no: 406

Room Tip: room no.406
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank noosheen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

67 - 73 of 136 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2013

Stayed here 3 different times and this time for 2 weeks. The studio is quite spacious with a balcony and the equipped kitchen is great. There is a washing machine in the kitchen and all the utensils you need. The hotel and rooms are very clean and well maintained. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The area is lovely and safe. Many restaurants and grocery stores are within walking distance. Ibn Battuta Mall is nearby. Taxi service is easily available and quite inexpensive. There is also a bus stop across the street which can take you to the mall and the metro station. The only negative for me was that the internet access cost $50 per week, which seems a bit high.

Room Tip: I prefer a room in the fromt of the building as you have a great view of the street and the rest of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Patty K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Stayed here recently for one night. The room was basic, spacious with good apt facilities.
Great value overall even though the staff were not great. I tried to check out in the morning and the person tried to keep me for 5 mins...I was under time pressure and this did not help.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank obbarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I had an assignment in Jabel Ali for 10 days , and stayed in this hotel for 5 days. We took one studio standred room ; It has a balocony.

Postives: an average price : one personnel negotiated with me , and came to be 375 including free wifi and breakfast. Close to Jabel ali- there is a direct entrance to the main road ( Shaik Zayed Road). There is an auto washing machine which is very helpful. comfy bed. the room in general is spacoius
To be improved: Towels are very old , needs to be replaced. Traffic is high in the morning in this area, need to park close to traffic signals which lead to the main highway.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank Mouk a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We booked thru's easytobook.com for 6nights for 4persons stay in a one bedroom suite. Room comes with two super single bed and living room with one sungle bed. but website showed 2 king size bed. Too bad, one of us got to sleep in the living room sofa bed.

Upon arrived at 8pm; by walking distance unable to reach the apartment from the metro. So we took a cab for about dh15 Checked-in at front desk, it wa a Filipino staff. Not friendly, no smile and not explained well upon checked-in. But the bellman much better.

When go into the apartment, its look clean in general but no introduction for the facilities in the room. After that, discovered one of bed linen wasn't change and lots of hairs between the duvet and on the pillow case. After making a call to reception, waited 2mins. A nepalis room attd comes to meet up in the room with one one bed sheet but not the duvet cover and pillow case. It was too tired for us to complaint again. End up, we change the bed sheet with the staff together in the room. Bad impression for first impression!

Booked for 4 persons stay but room set up with 2 sets towels and toiletries. Again call them to deliver. What is the standard?

Breakfast - poor quality and food taste unstable. Dine here for 6 days breakfast; prepare by the same chef for a simple omelette but everydays come with different quality. Please send him for courses and he is not qualify at all. Someday too crowded and no seats!

Room cleaning - the staff are carrying too much shortcut. There are 4 days bed sheet wasn't change but no advise for green program in the apartment. Simple, just bath gel was used but not replenish on 3rd and 4th days. Told the Nepalis staff, we are the hotelier and know the hotel standard very well. Told him to communicate with their manager but doesn't seems that they care for the business.

Safety- rooftop door on 7th floor wasn't locked. Staff used them for drying the carpet rug after cleaning. It's too risky for people may step out easily and jump out.

Seriously - managent needs to put more focus on the little details and consistent services. The apartment is good come with full set of kitchenette but staff didn't take pride to do the jobs. This same apply to the manager on duty Indian lady too proud!!!

Service, standard, basic is not there! Very sad....for the hotel / apartment in Dubai!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wonderland L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

I would start by mentioning that i have stayed in many hotels in the UAE so I believe i have a decent benchmark by which to make judgement.

I recently stayed at the Grand Midwest for 3 weeks for work purposes. It's more of a short term residential building than a hotel so dont expect any of the comforts of a hotel.

I paid a rate of 900dhm(£163) per night. Due to the timing of my trip it was the only hotel that had any room. Having previously stayed in other nearby hotels (moevenpick/chelsea gardens) I was shocked to find that although the rates were similar the places were at the opposite end of the scale.

Facilities:
The hotel itself has no restaurant, just a takeaway counter next to a massage parlour.

The website claims the hotel has a gym. What they really mean is that they have put some treadmills and a skipping rope in a spare room.

The internet isn't free, it cost me 500dhm for a months access and it unusable most of the time.


Room:
Very tired. Kitchen had a couple of cockroaches crawling around in drawers and the equipment is basic.
Bathroom was just rough. Constant smell of sewage and a mouldy shower curtain.

The bedroom was ok (compared to the rest), nothing special but there were a few odd stains on furniture.

The aircon was noisy and only had 1 setting, ample for this time of year but wouldnt cut the summer heat.

Service:
The staff were friendly, they admitted several times that the hotel suffered from poor management and did apologise.

Location:
The hotel is situated in Discovery Gardens which is a fairly basic neighbourhood, mainly populated by non-emirate arabs and Indian workers, most of the restaurants nearby serve mainly kebabs and traditional indian food. Fairly relaxed attitude to hygiene.


For anyone considering this hotel, my advice would be to look elsewhere.
The Moevenpick hotel is close and offers a true 5-star holiday experience for the same kind of money.
Failing that try the Chelsea hotel just next to the GMW. It's almost identical to look at but offers a higher standard in all respects.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trv1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

here is a very bad hotel. it is only a room and furniture, and you are not paying for electricity and water fees, but other everything they cost too much, in the room there is no tea,no sugar, nothing... only furniture, even breakfast is very bad. there is no pool, gym is very costly. no use to stay at that hotel, it is very shame to call it as a hotel. you can say this is a house, you only no need to pay electriciy and water fees, there is no advantages... you can even hire more cheap houses furnished in discovery gardens,

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank btl y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Dubai Investments Park Hotel
5.4 mi away
Atlantis, The Palm
Atlantis, The Palm
#110 of 556 in Dubai
17,404 reviews
19.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dubai Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Ibis Al Rigga
Ibis Al Rigga
#133 of 556 in Dubai
1,291 reviews
14.0 mi away
Roda Al Murooj
Roda Al Murooj
#107 of 556 in Dubai
2,314 reviews
14.0 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Dubai
Shangri-La Hotel, Dubai
#18 of 556 in Dubai
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Midwest Express Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Midwest Express Hotel Apartments

Address: Discovery Garden | Off Sheikh Zayed road, Dubai 125616, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #494 of 556 Hotels in Dubai
Price Range: $67 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Midwest Express ideally located in Discovery Garden next to Ibn Battuta Mall off Sheikh Zayed Road.Strategically located near Dubai Marina, Business Park, Mall of the Emirates, Dubai Internet and Media City, Emirates Golf Club and Jabal Ali FZ, Greens and Spring. Grand Midwest Express(Deluxe Hotel Apartment)is Modern and beautifully furnished hotel, consist of studios and 1 bedroom units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Grand Midwest Express Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing