We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the price but bad location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Dubai Jumeirah
Ranked #245 of 542 Hotels in Dubai
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good for the price but bad location”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Just returned from 6 days at this hotel. Wouldn't say disappointed because you get what you pay for, but I wish we'd researched the location a bit more thoroughly.
If Dubai has a less 'polished' side of town then this is it. One side of the road is a dock yard. The next is a large empty plot of sand.
The beach is not walking distance unless you're up for a workout. There are no decent restaurants nearby unless you're into greasy style cafes (with no aircon)
Luckily taxis are easy to come by. But one tip is NEVER use the hotel taxis. They are double the price of the metered cabs. Just walk out of the hotel and flag one down yourself (example is hotel taxi charged us 30 dirhams to jumeriah beach park. Metered cab was 14 for the same journey)

All in all I wouldn't stay here again. Nothing to do with the hotel itself its purely the location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LRD2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dubai Jumeirah, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear LRD2007,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I truly regret that you feel inconvenienced with our location. However, despite this I am happy to know that our rooms were comfortable enough for your needs. We take all reviews negative or positive very seriously and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

We hope to have another chance of hosting you should your travels bring you back to the area.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    289
    159
    43
    27
See reviews for
160
183
84
119
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

My sister and I went to Dubai for a five day stopover, whilst on her way to New York, and we stayed at the Holiday Inn Express. I had no complaints whatsoever. The room was a good size, very clean and well serviced. The breakfast was a pleasure and the variety was immense. We loved the location of the hotel and when we stepped outside the front entrance, voila, taxis were there, 24/7, and at a great price. We managed to see so much during our short stay due to the helpfulness of the lovely staff and the taxi drivers. I highly recommend this hotel for a short or long stay.

Room Tip: We had a lovely room near the reception area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moompoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amityville, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We were there for two days in April prior to our cruise to Egypt. We picked this hotel cause its location, close to the airport and to the cruise terminal. We got there late at night, our room was ready and to our surprise it was really clean and of a great size. The staff was extremely friendly and polite. Getting around was not an issue, taxis in Dubai are usually not expensive and very safe. We also had free wifi and breakfast was included in the price. For breakfast the selection was really good and fresh. Next time in Dubai will be definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caliche48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
197 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

I arrived at this hotel for a weekend getaway from neighbouring Muscat primarily for some shopping of art related items. Being a priority club member I had points to be redeemed that weren’t eligible for Intercon or Crown Plaza, but were right for the Holiday Inn Express – I didn’t have a lot of expectations (and hadn’t read any review – very unlikely for me as I use Tripadvisor extensively), however it was a short trip, I know the town well, it was close to all points I wanted to visit.

I was arriving at an ungodly hour of 3:00 a.m. in the morning and had requested for an early morning check-in around 4:00 a.m.

My experience from the moment I walked in was outstanding. There was another person arguing at the reception (who was patiently being dealt with at 4:30 in the morning – obviously was intoxicated), the reception person saw me and stated “you must be Mr.Gailani, we’ve been expecting you …” with a huge smile. Made me sit at a couch (because of the scene being created by the other gentlemen), brought the paper-work over to me and had me checked-in in minutes, then security guard who also addressed me by name smiled and carried my bags to the hotel room.

More on the staff, because that’s what set this apart, everyone had genuine smiles… I walked by the restaurant and a waitress shouted out, “do join us for lunch today, it’s a lovely spread and you’ll have all of us for company”… I almost stopped for a second and then smiled at myself and thought, “who trains them?”

By evening there was a knock on my door and the security guard was on the door serving cookies as early evening delights. The next day at breakfast the smiles of the staff at the buffet were just an infectious. I couldn’t find the juice counter so when I was seated at my table I requested a waiter to ask where the juice was and the selection (it was apple, and orange only), I don’t like either and asked if there was any pineapple juice, he just winked and said let me do a magic trick…goes into the kitchen and comes back with a large pineapple juice (not on the buffet), and before my glass finished, he stated “looks like you need another one” , and refilled it (all this was for free).

The experience was so amazing that I simply decided that I will stay here for many more times. Because for a small budget accommodation…it made me feel like royalty!

Now, having raved about the staff, its time to give positives and negatives about the hotel:

The positives:
- Its at start of Jumerah (near union flag) so Dubai Mall and the Exhibition Halls are 10 minutes by cab.
- There is a free shuttle to the Jumeirah Beach Park
- The rooms have flat screen TVs, locker facilities etc

The Negatives:
- The front view of the hotel is terrible as it faces the dry docks so cranes and container junk yard is the last view of Dubai one wants to see
- The air conditioning dindn’t go below a certain degree – it wasn’t hot, and it cooled, but when in Dubai you need some extra cooling (I even asked their engineering to come and test the blast from the a/c to increase it… but I just later slept without a cover)
- The décor is basic of both the lobby and the room (but one gets what one pays for)

Overall this was truly an unexpected discovery – simply outstanding staff and amazing service, with basic room and other amenities, but if you’re in Dubai to be outdoors shopping or sightseeing and need a welcoming place to hit the sack and be treated with smiles … THIS IS YOUR HOTEL!

Room Tip: The front facing rooms have a terrible view of the dry docks, cranes and containers .. take the ones...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gailani I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo-Ella M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dubai Jumeirah, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Ibrahim_Gailani
Many Thanks for your tripadvisor response; we really appreciate you taking the time out to write a review. Thank You.
You are 100% correct; we have most caring staff in Dubai. We have been fortunate to create a team of staff that enjoy working with the guests and in turn we have wonderful guest’s coming to stay with us.
It is responses such as yours that makes us appreciate the work and effort that we do. We thank you so much for your kind words.
We hope to see you again real soon
King regards
Jo-Ella Moore
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saham
Level Contributor
70 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

good overall hotel. close to jumairah 1 block. quite. room is spacoius enough.

things to improve: internet is not quite fast, sometimes it goes off suddenly- dont distrub tag on the door needs a coloring , becasue there is no diffrence between go ahead clean and dont distrub. This may very easy confuse the cleaning crew and dont notice the tag.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mouk a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo-Ella M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dubai Jumeirah, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Ahmed A
Many Thanks for your tripadvisor response; we really appreciate you taking the time out to write a review. Thank You.
Your review has valid feedback in which we will look into to see if we can improve these areas. Making sure the little things are perfect, really do ensure you have a great stay.
Wishing you all the best for 2013 and happy travels

King regards
Jo-Ella Moore
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Everything about this hotel is just right. From check in to rooms to breakfast. Excellent value for money , you won't get many good hotels at this price in Dubai. The hotel is located right opposite to Dubai Dry docks and is only 15-20 mins taxi ride from most of the Dubai Attractions. Nearest metro station is Al-Jaffiya, taxi ride to metro station costs 10 Dirhams. Taxi ride to Dubai Mall costs 20 Dirhams, if you are travelling as group its better to take taxi.

Rooms are neat and clean. Staff is courteous. Hotel is newly built. Continental breakfast was very good. Lots of eateries shops within walking distance from hotel. Overall an excellent experience staying in this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose any room. Its all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rajat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo-Ella M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dubai Jumeirah, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Rajat S
Many Thanks for your positive comments on tripadvisor and coming to stay with us at HIEX Jumeirah, we enjoy having you stay with us.
Safe travels in 2013 and we hope to see you again in the future.
Many Thanks & Kind Regards
Jo-Ella Moore
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludenscheid, Germany
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed the first time in Jumeirah, Dubai and really loved it! We would like to go back!
The service was very friendly and our room was very clean. The breakfast was good and it was enough for us. As well the hotel has a shuttle to the outlet mall which is in the outer region of Dubai and it was worth going to. We did not stay a lot in the hotel because we wanted to explore the city. It was easy to get a taxi from the hotel and we got everywhere very easily. Taxis are very cheap and without it we would not get anywhere. Deira and Bur Dubai is very nice and close too.The open beach in Jumeirah is very nice, big and close too.
At our next stay we will stay longer than 6 days because there is so much to do and see!! :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vanessa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo-Ella M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dubai Jumeirah, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Vanessa S
Many Thanks for your positive comments on tripadvisor and coming to stay with us at HIEX Jumeirah, we enjoy having you stay with us. Dubai is a exciting city to be in and there is so much to see and do.
Safe travels in 2013 and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Many Thanks & Kind Regards
Jo-Ella Moore
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dubai - Safa Park
11.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dubai-Internet City
0.2 mi away
ibis Styles Dubai Jumeira
ibis Styles Dubai Jumeira
#167 of 542 in Dubai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ramada Jumeirah
Ramada Jumeirah
#148 of 542 in Dubai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dubai Airport
0.3 mi away
Mercure Gold Hotel
Mercure Gold Hotel
#192 of 542 in Dubai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Dubai Jumeirah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Dubai Jumeirah

Property: Holiday Inn Express Dubai Jumeirah
Address: Corner Of Jumeirah Road and 60 Road | Al Mina, Jumeirah, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #245 of 542 Hotels in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Holiday Inn Express Dubai Jumeirah 2*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Jumeirah. The Hotel is located in the fashionable Jumeirah area close to the major business district of Dubai, incorporating the Burj Dubai, Dubai International Financial Centre, Business Bay and Dubai World Trade Centre.The Hotel offers convenience for business and leisure travelers with easy access to the Dubai-Abu Dhabi highway (Sheikh Zayed Road) and being close Dubai Creek Dubai Museum and traditional spice and Gold Souks are easily accessible, Dubai Mall (the largest mall in the world), the Mall of the Emirates, the rapidly developing Dubai Marina and the Palm Jumeirah . Holiday Inn Express Jumeirah is in close proximity to the bus station that leads you directly to Dubai Gold Souk and Dubai Creek. Holiday Inn Express Jumeirah features 193 contemporary style bedrooms individually air conditioned, offering guests a comfortable, warm and friendly stay. All rooms have en-suite facilities, power shower, direct dial telephones, work station, mini fridge, safe box, satellite T.V. and underground car-park facilities. Holiday Inn Express Jumeirah is committed to offer guests the best product combining convenience of location with the quality and value for which Holiday Inn Express brand is famous for around the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Dubai Jumeirah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Dubai Jumeirah Hotel Dubai
Holiday Inn Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing