We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good 2-star hotel :)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Deira City Centre
Ranked #201 of 557 Hotels in Dubai
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Considering that it's rated as just a 2-star hotel, Ibis Deira City Centre was airy, clean and smartly decorated. Rooms were not BIG, but we weren't cramped in either. And the staff was friendly and always smiling. They had a 24-hr cafe, even room service. Our favorite thing to order was the mini croissants, which were AED 9 for 3 pieces. :) They also have this thing that they'd respond to any complaint in 15 minutes. And I have to say, they were good on their word. Our shower tap broke our 1st morning there, and they fixed it within an hour, just before we had to leave the hotel.

We also really loved the location. It's just 2 Metro stops from the airport and Deira City Centre Mall was just across the street. We were there every day! It's a small mall (Dubai standards), but it had the brands we knew--H&M, Marks & Spencer, Gap, Zara, Nine West, etc. There were several good cafes also, and a food court, also a very big Carrefour supermarket! We usually used the mall as a detour to the Metro. The station was a 5-minute walk from the hotel, if we reached it through the street. But it was hot everyday, even in November. So we walked the longer "mall route" to escape from the heat. :)

The only thing we'd maybe complain about was that WIFI is available only in the lobby. And around 8-11 pm, everyone's using it that it slows to almost a standstill. But I guess that's what "budget hotel" means. :) There's just a use-for-everything shower gel-shampoo-hand wash in the toilet, no dental, shaving or sewing kits. They had a hair dryer though, even if it's a little low-power, not enough air to dry hair quickly. The electric outlets in the room were also the 3-pin type. (Only the outlet in the bathroom for the shaver was the 2-pin type.) We knew these from reviews so we brought our own adaptor, but I think the hotel lends these out also. No biggie really.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jkesee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,719)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

783 - 789 of 1,719 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Marc-noël G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Budget hotel with free wi-fi only in the Lobby. Macbookers cannot access wi fi in the rooms as the rooms have only LAN connection. No wi fi in rooms!!!!! No dental or shaving kit. Close to Deira City Center shopping center. Uncomfortable sitting areas in lobby

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bangerasudhakar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Have stayed here a few times before and always returns due to the overall pros.
Just 2 stations from the airport and 2 minutes from the metro and Deira shopping center. Ibis Deira is a great choice. The walls may be a bit thin if your neigbours are noisy - luckily mine were not. Extra plus to the ground staff, especially to Ronald from the Philippines.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tretjak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

best hospitality every time :)
I advice to every one whom travel to Dubai
silent and clean rooms, best position in town
eash to reach air port, shopping center is just 20 feet away,
so why you will search an other hotel?

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
3  Thank muratc73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Chavezlives
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

My husband and I are smokers and I always try to find either a smoking room, or one with a balcony. I emailed this hotel 6 months before our visit to ask if they had smoking rooms, and the reply was "yes". So we booked, and requested one.

On our arrival at about 7am, after travelling since 2pm the day before, we were very tired. We were told check in is 2pm and our room would not be ready till then. I checked it was a smoking room and was told no problem. So they put our bags in a locked room and we went out. When we returned at 2.30pm the room was still not ready, so we went for a cup of tea in the lobby café.
Finally we were told the room was ready, but it was a non smoker. The girl said "we prefer you to have a non smoking room". I explained that I had checked months in advance, and again at 7am when we arrived and was assured a smoking room was available. I would not have booked otherwise. She phoned the housekeeping supervisor and told us "housekeeping prefers you to have a non smoking room". Eventually we got our smoking room at 3.30pm by which time we were exhausted after having been awake for about 33 hours.

The room was very basic and a bit tired looking, and the floor under the desk and luggage rack was littered with crumbs and dust bunnies. I expected better even for a budget hotel.
Tea and coffee was supplied but no milk. We had to ask twice and eventually a young boy turned up with powdered coffee creamer. I went down to reception and was told housekeeping only supply powdered stuff, not milk. So then I went to the lobby café where we had previously had tea with milk, but they wouldn't supply it for the room. In the end I just bought a glass of milk and took it to our room. What a fuss for a little drop of milk. On top of our check in fiasco we were not too pleased.

Being so tired we went to bed early, but half an hour later we were woken by some one rattling a key in our door. Obviously, a member of staff had gone to the wrong room because the next thing we knew was a vacuum cleaner crashing around in the next room, followed by a very noisy arrival.

The staff were not rude but not exactly warm and friendly either, and definitely not helpful. When we asked for directions to town and an ATM they just pointed vaguely to the door. The only one who was at all helpful was the security guy positioned out side.

We had a very nice meal in the restaurant, but the waiter looked as if we had intruded on his private space. The food was good but would have been so much better if it had come with a smile. Breakfast was reasonable for the price.
Not a bad location right opposite the back entrance of a mall which was handy for bits and pieces we needed, and only a short taxi ride into town.

Having read other peoples reviews I notice the response from the management is a generic computer message. Every one gets exactly the same response, which only indicates that they don't really care.

Next time we go to Dubai we will upgrade a little. I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marilyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
0.0 mi away
Novotel Dubai Deira City Centre
1.0 mi away
Ibis Al Rigga
Ibis Al Rigga
#131 of 557 in Dubai
1,286 reviews
12.8 mi away
Ibis Mall Of The Emirates
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rove City Centre
Rove City Centre
#27 of 557 in Dubai
377 reviews
0.2 mi away
J5 Hotels - Port Saeed
J5 Hotels - Port Saeed
#68 of 557 in Dubai
547 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ibis World Trade Centre Dubai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Deira City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Deira City Centre

Address: 8th Street, Deira Port Saeed District | opp Deira Mall City Centre, Dubai 185310, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Best Value Hotel in Dubai
#160 Business Hotel in Dubai
Price Range: $73 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Deira City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 365
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ibis Deira City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Deira City Centre Hotel Dubai
Ibis Hotel Dubai
Deira City Centre Ibis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing