We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced but great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Apartments Dubai World Trade Centre
Ranked #283 of 541 Hotels in Dubai
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Overpriced but great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights for attending seafood expo which was in World Trade Centre as well. So this location was perfect.
It is in the middle of the city, and 2 mins walk from the metro station which connects to all major sightseeing spots including Burj Khalifa.

But if you do not have any work in the WTC, then I would not recommend this place as it is overpriced. The rooms are very basic, without any luxury feel to it. Though plus point is that it is very spacious.

English and Hindi conversation with the front desk is not a problem.

Room Tip: Higher, the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Praveen900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    49
    39
    12
    13
See reviews for
26
9
5
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

These hotel apartments are located a 15 to 20 minute drive by taxi from Dubai International Airport. The taxi fare is calculated with a meter and will approximately be 50 AED for the drive from the airport to the hotel. The hotel can be reached from the airport by Dubai Metro as well, since a metro station is located in front of the apartments, the station is called "World Trade Centre" and belongs to the red line. The fare for the ride will be 4.10 AED per person and the ride will take approximately 15 minutes. This is very convenient since you exit directly into the airport terminal when you arrive by metro or you directly can access the metro station from the airport terminal. However, taking the metro to or from the airport may be less convenient when your flight is leaving in the afternoon / early evening since the metro can be quite busy at daytime, this may make your trip to the airport less comfortable since you have to stand the whole way. However, if you flight is leaving in the morning or at night, taking the metro to the airport may be very convenient since probably it will not be so busy at the metro. Note however that the metro starts running at most days at 5.50 AM and stops running at most days at 0.00 PM, so be sure to take this into consideration. I recommend buying a NOL (Silver or Red) card when you are planning to use the metro quite often since this simplifies the traveling experience. The silver card will cost you 20 AED which includes an initial balance of 14 AED. The red card will cost you 4 AED which includes an initial balance of 2 AED. The Red card can be reloaded up to 10 trips. We found it more convenient to buy a Silver card since you otherwise have to reload the Red card each and every time you travel and you can just top it up for 10 trips. In 3 days (and quite a lot of using the metro) we almost used 30 AED per person at our NOL card, just to give an indication.

These apartments are located very centrally at the Sheikh Zayed Road in Dubai. The apartments are located just in between downtown Dubai (Burj Khalifa and Dubai Mall) and Jumeirah (Burj Al Arab). Furthermore Bur Dubai and Dubai International Airport are located quite close to these apartments as well. The major landmarks are located at a maximum of 20 minutes by metro or taxi from the apartments. Thus these apartments are very centrally located in Dubai. A relatively big supermarket is located in Block B of the building of the apartments which is a very big pro. Furthermore some restaurants are located besides the building of the apartments at the World Trade Centre site. There is a swimming pool at the apartment site as well, it is located at the ground floor of Block C, but we did not visit it. However, at photo’s it seems very large.

We arrived in the middle of the night, around 02.00 AM, and were welcomed by the front desk staff at the reception. Since the apartment complex consists of three buildings, be sure to know in which building you need to be for check in, I’m not sure if check in for all the apartments is in Block A or that each block has its own reception. The lobby/reception area was not very big, but big enough for an apartments building. Check in was rather quick and the staff were very friendly and polite. No deposit on our credit card was made, we just had to fill out some forms and check in was complete. The bellboy directed us to our room. When waiting for the elevator and the elevator arrived I was quite in shock, the elevator we used consisted of wooden walls which were covered in bubble plastic and had cardboard on the floor, I guess this elevator is being refurbished since later on we discovered that the other elevators were refurbished and had a nice white, clean and modern appearance. However, the ‘old’ elevator does not leave a good impression to the guests and maybe it is better to take it out of service as long as it is being refurbished. Elevators were not very spacious, we could fit barely in the elevator with the three of us and the bellboy with the suitcases.

At the Agoda site we saw that the apartments in Block A were all renovated, so we booked a deluxe one bedroom apartment including one extra bed at Block A, to be sure we would be accommodated in a good and refurbished apartment, and not in the very dated looking apartments in other blocks. Upon entering the apartment there is a small hallway which continues into the living area, which features a sitting area including a (rather small) LCD television, a couch, two fauteuils and a salon table. Furnishing in the complete apartment looks very nice and contemporary, it is clear that the apartment is refurbished very recently. Furthermore the apartment is very spacious. The LCD television offers plenty of channels, including BBC, CNN, some Arabic channels as well as Japanese and Spanish channels. Furthermore the living area features a dining area as well with a six person dining table including seats. A balcony can be entered directly from the dining area, which features sliding doors. These sliding doors, however, were quite difficult to open and looked a little bit old. The walls in the living area featured some art as well, at the dining area for example was a beautiful picture of the Dubai skyline. The complete apartment featured free WiFi as well, the WiFi was not that fast but it is at least a pro that WiFi is offered for free. The several (part of) rooms in the apartments featured their own air conditioning units which could be switched on and off separately, this is a pro.

The apartment features a complete and rather big complete kitchen as well. This kitchen adjoins the dining area and can be accessed from the hallway in the apartment as well. The kitchen features a sink, cupboards, cabinets, a refrigerator including a freezer and a microwave. The kitchen is fully equipped with plenty of tableware such as plates, cups, knives, forks and spoons. Some complimentary coffee and tea is offered as well, however this is not refilled once used. I must say that the kitchen looks a bit out of style with the rest of the apartment, tiling in the kitchen is green and the cabinets and cupboards appear out of style with the rest of the apartment. Be sure to check the temperature of the refrigerator since some products we bought froze in the refrigerator. From the kitchen a small room can be accessed which features a washing machine and an ironing board. While in use, the washing machine makes quite a lot of noise which is quite unpleasant to hear. When we once were using the washing machine we closed the door to the room where the washing machine was located to reduce the noise of the washing machine, but during the washing we noticed that the machine was completely shaking and a certain moment even moved. At the end of the washing programme it moved so far that it completely blocked the door and we were hardly able to open door. It may be wise that the hotel places some rubber caps under the washing machine to prevent the washing machine from moving, cause it may not be the case that the machines moves while washing. However, the ability to wash your laundry yourself is a great pro, be sure to bring your own washing powder.

The single bedroom that was present in the apartment was quite spacious and featured a king size bed with four pillows. In my opinion the bed was quite hard and the pillows too soft, I prefer a firm pillow instead of a soft one. Linen was okay, don’t know if it was changed every day since there was not card that we had to put on our bed if we wanted the linen to be changed. There was plenty of storage space in the bedroom, there were several closets, which includes a deposit box as well. Furthermore there is a mirror and a desk as well. There was one mayor drawback at the bedroom, which had to do with some maintenance I guess. During the first two nights there was a constant annoying “beep” sound, not very loud but quite hearable. It may have contributed to the fact that I did not sleep so well. The sound seemed to come from the bathroom and it turned out to be the ventilation in the bathroom which was not properly into place (or something of that kind). After putting the ventilation better in place the sound was gone. I advise the hotel to fix this issue. Another small drawback was the temperature in the bedroom, when in bed it felt quite warm, while the air-conditioning was just turned to the advised temperature and the lowest fan mode. The extra bed was placed inside the living area and was of very good quality, it featured a separate base and a very thick and soft matrass, thumbs up for this.

The bathroom was quite spacious as well. It featured a huge mirror in one of the walls. The bathroom featured a bathtub with a shower included. The shower can be adjusted in height and this height could be adjust so that we “Western” people fit under the shower, it was not too low as you see in many Asian countries. However, it appeared that the pressure on the shower was not very high since the shower jet was quite soft and did not spray very strong, this is a little con for me. The shower curtain seemed to look, in comparison to the other furnishing in the bathroom, quite cheap to me. There were shower amenities as well, which we refilled every time we used them. The toilet featured a bidet. The apartments was provided only with to big towels, and we had to ask the housekeeping themselves for an extra towel. However, when asked they put it in the room every time they cleaned the room.

As said before the staff was very friendly and kind, they greeted us all the time. When we had to print some documents we could just forward them to the reception and they did print them for us, free of charge. That’s a good service, thumbs up! We left early in the morning to the airport. Check out was amazingly fast, we just had to hand in our room keys and we could leave. Very very fast, once again thumbs up!

So, to wrap up: these apartments are very good, good service, good location and the rooms, at least the renovated ones, are very nice and spacious. The price/quality ratio of these serviced apartments is very good! However, since there were some small issues, I rate these apartments as 4 stars. I would recommend everyone to stay in these, centrally in Dubai located, apartments!

Pro’s:
+ Very close to metro station
+ Centrally located in Dubai
+ Close to airport, taxi fee is approximately 50 AED, or 4.10 AED by metro
+ Friendly staff
+ Very good price/quality ratio
+ Spacious apartments
+ Free Wi-Fi
+ Very good quality of the extra bed
+ Washing machine in apartment
+ Spacious kitchen
+ Plenty of tableware
+ Relatively big supermarket located in Block B
+ Swimming pool in Block C
+ Some restaurants located at World Trade Centre site.

Con’s:
- Elevator under construction, it’s better to take it out of service.
- Slightly hard beds and soft pillows
- Cheap looking bathroom curtain
- Annoying noise in bathroom and adjoining bedroom, it turned out to be the ventilation and we solved it ourselves.
- Kitchenette looks out of style with the rest of the apartment
- Be careful when using the fridge, products may freeze.
- Washing machine may move when centrifuging and cause to block the door, washing machine is noisy.

Room Tip: Be sure to book a "Deluxe" apartment in Block A.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HJB93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambala, India
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

To attend the conference it was just walking distance,which is very relaxing.We had two bedroom apartment for the family.It was really a comfortable stay as two were busy in the conference n others were on their own to explore the city as metro is just walking distance.Reception is very nice n helpful.As our flight was to reach early morning,we requested them to give us the apartment early but they refused,so we had to pay one day tariff extra for just 2-3 hours,which really pinches as already they are over-priced.Apartments are clean, club restaurant good,room service efficient and nearby supermarket is helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rashmikd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Stayed at the World Trade Centre Apartments adjacent to the World Trade Centre and the Conference I was attending.
Shared a 2 bedroom apartment with a colleague and whilst it was far from salubrious, it was adequate. Clean, tidy, friendly.
Apartment and building itself was rather outdated but I am led to believe that some 'blocks' in the complex have been renovated. If this is the case, I suggest asking for one of those.
All in all, a reasonable option with a great pool bar area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Good rooms, good location, next to metro, next to restaurants and a supermarket. Problem with elevators, pool was in different building (had to walk on the street), price is high compared to other newer and better hotels.

Room Tip: Choose deluxe apartments
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fanar3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skien, Norway
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

I used the hotel for a few days attending the telecom trade show. The location is great, 5 minutes walk to the trade show, 5 minutes to the metro. The room was as a flat (you could live year around there) whit kitchen, living-room (large), two large bedroom with separate bathrooms. Easy to stay when you have space. A tip to travelers; if you plan to eat nearby the hotel, walk over to the other side of the street. You will find a lot of good restaurants and many of them from American chains. I went to a Tony Romans. It was like walking in to America while I were there.

Room Tip: I had a flat. I can defiantly recommend it if you are staying for a while.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geir N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bali
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

they have great location at sheikh zayed road near to metro but the building is quite old, quite handy to go to trade show only 5 minutes walk ,they have nice leisure club behind the building i think the best part of the hotel

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank balieka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis One Central
Ibis One Central
#187 of 541 in Dubai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis World Trade Centre Dubai
0.3 mi away
Novotel World Trade Centre Dubai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ascott Park Place Dubai
Ascott Park Place Dubai
#200 of 541 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
1.2 mi away
Number One Tower Suites
Number One Tower Suites
#287 of 541 in Dubai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nassima Royal Hotel
Nassima Royal Hotel
#61 of 541 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Apartments Dubai World Trade Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Apartments Dubai World Trade Centre

Property: The Apartments Dubai World Trade Centre
Address: Sheikh Zayed Road, PO Box 9292, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #283 of 541 Hotels in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Apartments Dubai World Trade Centre 5*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you choose an apartment with us, you’ll enjoy real space and freedom that a hotel room simply cannot match. Yet your stay comes with everything you would expect from a hotel. Our fully furnished and spacious hotel apartments are available in 4 different unit types and in 3 separate apartment blocks, ranging from studios to 3 bedroom apartments. They are all fully furnished and serviced for your comfort and convenience. Whether you are staying for one night, or several months, The Apartments Dubai World Trade Centre will happily accommodate all your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, HRS, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Apartments Dubai World Trade Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing