We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Booking and poor customer service issues...average stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Dubai Deira City Centre
Ranked #458 of 551 Hotels in Dubai
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Booking and poor customer service issues...average stay”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I had a late night arrival at the Dubai airport, so I decided to stay at a hotel close to the airport for 1 night only before transferring to Sofitel hotel the next day. After a quick, cheap taxi ride, I arrived at the Novotel hotel Deira Center around 2:30AM. I previously made the booking via priceline.com, and sent the hotel the confirmation weeks before checking in including my request for a non-smoking room. However, upon checkin, the reception stated that there were only smoking rooms available. After disputing with them about my requested room type, they "miraculously" found a non-smoking room. Just when I thought that I was ready to check in, the hotel reception said that I did not pay for the hotel room in advance. I was so angry and tired at the same time. I had to pull out my laptop to show them proof that priceline already charged me for this room, my bank statement where the money came out of my checking account, and my prior e-mail to the hotel that showed my confirmation. It turned out that the hotel forgot to charge priceline's credit card for my room. To make matters worse, they wanted me to sign my name on priceline's credit card receipt. I insisted that I would not do such a thing because it is not my credit card. I never had to do this at any other hotel whenever I used priceline, and I was not about to do it there. The reception stated that their bank requires a signature, but I told him that I still was not about to sign my name on a credit card that is not mine unless priceline gave me permission to do so. The hotel staff member relented, and I was finally able to check into my room. The room was average with free wifi, but the bed was really hard. If I was not already so tired from the long flight, I probably would not have been able to sleep on it. The best thing about the hotel is the location, which is right across from the Deira Mall, the Carrefour supermarket, and about a 5 minute walk to the Deira train station. The next time I come back to Dubai, I will stay in another airport hotel instead.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCMIL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelsDirector, Manager at Novotel Dubai Deira City Centre, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comment.

I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies, concerning the quality of services during your check in.

I would like you to rest assure that I am personally taking your remarks very seriously and that urgent corrective measures will be taken.

I hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Hotels Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    602
    211
    73
    43
See reviews for
379
258
144
338
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
perth
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

It should be a 3 star hotel, but for no given reason I reckon star ratings in Dubai are overrated.

Stayed 2 nights with wife and two young children. Really close to airport, taxis are cheap and 5 dollars a ride is a very welcoming price. In front of a shopping centre, which makes your life easier regarding food, foreign exchange and the metro station across from it.

Therefore...
Good: location, price, room size
Bad: sofa bed for two is a glorified single size, if older kids, don't try it.
Staff was very friendly except from when a late chack out was requested... Felt like I was trying to scam them, eyebrows raised and request ignored by manager on duty.

It's a Novotel, hence it's a safe pick... Just like entering a Mc Donalds in India...you know what you get with no risk whatsoever.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank rkiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelsDirector, Manager at Novotel Dubai Deira City Centre, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comment.
We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay.

I have shared your comments with the team, especially concerning the quality of the customers services; so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations.

Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies, concerning your experience during the check out.

I would like you to rest assure that I am personally taking your remarks very seriously and that urgent corrective measures will be taken.

I hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Hotels Director
Email: H6481-GM@accor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

The hotel is in a nice area. Close enough to the airport and in the "old" part of town - if one can say that about Dubai - and the Creek where a bit od middle oriental feel can be experienced.

Room are clean, the hotel is new and well kept. Staff professional. Breakfast average no much choise.

I think all and all the rooms are overprized but maybe that's is Dubai.

Room Tip: High floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pam188057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelsDirector, Manager at Novotel Dubai Deira City Centre, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comment.

We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay.

I have shared your comments with the team, regarding the cleaness of the room and the good quality of the customers services so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations.

Thanks

We look forward to welcoming you again at Novotel Deira City Centre.

Sincerely,

Hotels Director
Email: H6481-GM@accor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is very close to the airport approximately 5-10 minutes drive. It cost me 30 dirhams airport to hotel and 11 dirhams hotel to airport by taxi, though I didn't understand why return trip was lower.

I had travelled with my wife, 3yr and 1 yr old sons. The room was clean, but the size was rather small, more suited for a business traveller. It had a sofa bed and the hotel provided us with a baby cot and a stroller at no extra charge. I highly recommend a room with city view.

The hotel is literally two minutes walk from City Centre Mall and about 5 minutes from the Dubai Metro, which was very convenient for us.

The breakfast was good, but they could do with more waiting staff during busy periods.

I highly recommend this hotel for it's convenient location, great views, friendly staff and clean rooms. They could improve on the breakfast service and avail wi-fi in the rooms.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiplagat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelsDirector, Manager at Novotel Dubai Deira City Centre, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your comment.

We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay.

I have shared your comments with the team, in particular with the HK about the cleanness; so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations.

Thanks

Sincerely,
Hotels Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brugg, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

I'm still in the bar writing this review. I ordered a half liter glass of Murphy's beer. It came as 0.25L glass. The waiter was insisting I ordered half a pint, which also was not half a pint what she gave me. After some discussion, she agreed to replace the order with what I wanted in the first place.

Bottomline, be very clear with what you order, even point it out on the menu, to be sure you get what you want.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank SiegfriedQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelsDirector, Manager at Novotel Dubai Deira City Centre, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your comment.

I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies, concerning the services at the bar.

I would like you to rest assure that I am personally taking your remarks very seriously and that urgent corrective measures will be taken.

I hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Hotels Director
Email: H6481-GM@accor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Very convenient hotel, good location, across the street from the City Center mall, walking distance from the metro station, just 2-3 stops by metro from the airport. Also very close by taxi.

Clean rooms and bathrooms, free wifi only in lobby

Shares pool and gym with neighbouring ibis property

Room Tip: If you get a pool facing room, it also faces the entire ibis property with people staring back at yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Canishq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oreste Geronimo T, Manager at Novotel Dubai Deira City Centre, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your comment.

We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay.

I have shared your comments with the team; so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations.

Thanks

We look forward to welcoming you again at Novotel Deira City Centre.

Sincerely,
Hotels Director
Email: H6481-GM@accor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
0.0 mi away
Ibis Deira City Centre
Ibis Deira City Centre
#198 of 551 in Dubai
1,677 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pullman Dubai Creek City Centre
13.3 mi away
Novotel Dubai Al Barsha
Novotel Dubai Al Barsha
#158 of 551 in Dubai
1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Novotel World Trade Centre Dubai
0.1 mi away
Pearl City Suites
Pearl City Suites
#277 of 551 in Dubai
184 reviews
12.8 mi away
Novotel Suites Dubai Mall of the Emirates
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Dubai Deira City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Dubai Deira City Centre

Property: Novotel Dubai Deira City Centre
Address: 8th Street | Front of Deira City Centre Mall, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#155 Business Hotel in Dubai
#283 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Dubai Deira City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Dubai Novotel Deira City Centre is directly opposite to Deira City Centre shopping mall and within the business and commercial district of Port Saeed. The hotel is only 5 min from Dubai International Airport (DXB) and 15 min from Dubai World Trade Center. It offers 188 guest rooms, ideal for a business trip or family breaks in in Dubai, as well as international and regional restaurants, fully licensed bars and an outdoor temperature controlled swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Dubai Deira City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Deira City Centre Hotel Dubai
Novotel Hotel Dubai
Deira City Centre Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing