We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a good property, yet the rooms had peculiar smell.”
Review of Media Rotana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Media Rotana
Ranked #166 of 561 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2011

I stayed at this hotel ,as this was booked through my office in Dubai. It is close to my office in Dubai. It is efficient hotel and staff was helpful. Though the rooms had a peculiar smell which could improve. Break fast spread was good.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rajesh_in
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,281)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,832 - 1,838 of 2,281 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2011

If you are visiting Dubai for a business trip and need a business hotel, you must stay at Media Rotana. Excellent Service, Customer friendly staff. Nice Ambiance and excellent food quality. Location is also near to the business areas of Dubai. Over all very good experiance and henceforth always book in the same hotel

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mehendale_Amit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2011

Stayed for 4 nights at the Media Rotana. Check in painfully slow as indeed was checkout. They need to do something in that department. Otherwise room was comfortable - separate rain shower in the bathroom was nice as was the selection of TV channels. Breakfast at Dhs 99.00 was overpriced - food quality was good but not for that price.Had dinner in the Channels restaurant and it was tasty and well presented.
Hotel is a bit out of the way although as has been said before taxis are plentiful but would have been nice to walk out somewhere from the hotel. My main gripe was the high cost of the internet - when will hotels learn that this revenue stream is a rip off and if the Shangri La chain can provide free internet why can't the others.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happytiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2011

We had booked a standard room but were offered a small suite when arrival. The staff were always very helpful during our six nights stay. The location are very good if you are going to spend a lot of time on or around the Palm and Jumeirah. It is always many taxi cars outside the hotel and the staff acting very helpful and in a quick way to pick one. Nice pool area and very good arabic food on the roomservice menu.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel
Thank Thomas78Sweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2011

Media Rotana hotel is located in the Al Barasha district of Dubai, UAE. The location of the hotel would be okay if a person had their own vehicle or a rental car because it is located on the outskirts of the main attractions of Dubai. However, taxi cabs are readily available upon exiting the hotel.

It is a descent hotel with a nice lobby area for guests and restaurants located inside as well. The room was nice, equipped with flat screen TV, desk area, and lounge (couch) area. The bathroom has separate bath and stand up shower. The bed, however, was not as comfortable as I expected it to be. I believe that if a pillow top mattress or some sort of mattress cushion topper was placed on the bed, it would have been more comfortable.

The room service offered at the hotel had a variety of meals that would suit a person's breakfast, lunch, or dinner appetite. They were quite fast in delivery of a meal I ordered. All meal prices are written in AED (UAE) currency.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frugaldiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2010

The trade mission I was on chose this hotel,I wouldn't have because is a budjet hotel trying to pass its self off as a 5 star. From the moment we checked in it was a hassel .The front desk wouldn't honor the rate hotel combined booked & quoted. Hit us up for an extra 100 durams a night . .It just seemed we were constantly being nickled & dimed on everything. The hotel is surounded by abanioned construction .No where to walk just an empty dust bowl. One nice point the beds are very comfortable.Still for the money there are much more interesting places to stay in Dubai

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2010

Stayed here for six nights at the end of October 2010 with my sister - really like the hotel and would recommend it to others.
Reception area is great - check in was perfect - we arrived very early after flying during the night and although we were told by phone we would not be able to check in until 2pm we were given our room when we arrived at 9am.
Room was huge with a lovely view of the Burj (pleanty of building sites too but then it is Dubai). Free tea and coffee in the room and lovely robes/slippers etc
It is a business hotel and as such is set up probably a little more for business travellerss however pool area is perfectly adaquate and terrace bar is lovely with really friendly staff. The gym has everything you will need for a few days stay.
We did not dine at the hotel so I can not comment on that but the cocktails on the terrace were lovely - we had one drink in the English pub but found the Terrace area much nicer

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Millennium Dubai
0.4 mi away
Mercure Dubai Barsha Heights Hotel Suites
0.6 mi away
Fraser Suites Dubai
Fraser Suites Dubai
#185 of 561 in Dubai
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Gloria Hotel
Gloria Hotel
#169 of 561 in Dubai
3,233 reviews
3.2 mi away
Bonnington Jumeirah Lakes Towers
0.5 mi away
TIME Oak Hotel & Suites
TIME Oak Hotel & Suites
#168 of 561 in Dubai
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Media Rotana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Media Rotana

Address: Hessa Street | Barsha Heights, Dubai 503030, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#72 Business Hotel in Dubai
#95 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#97 Spa Hotel in Dubai
#145 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range: $82 - $376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Media Rotana 5*
Number of rooms: 536
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arrive at Media Rotana to find yourself greeted with a feeling of contemporary luxury. Imagine dramatic architecture and design where you are offered privacy, personalized service and peerless facilities. We take pride in offering you the best of everything; stylish restaurants, modern rooms and friendly service. Whether your stay in Dubai is for business or pleasure, it should be a worry-free experience that delights you. So choose Media Rotana and we assure you the best stay away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Media Rotana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Media Rotana, Barsha - Dubai Hotel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing