We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay in Tecom Area”
Review of Media Rotana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Media Rotana
Ranked #165 of 561 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 27, 2014

I had an opportunity to stay for couple of times in Media Rotana -Tecom. My experience with Hotel amenities and friendly staff had been superb.

The best I found is the breakfast spread provided.

Metro is at 7-8 mins walking distance, which provides access to lot of major location to Dubai (Gold Souk- Al Ras station, Burj Khalifa -Dubai Mall station..)

If metro is not preferred, Take the taxi with Taxi sign at the top of the vehicle, not the limo which mentions that they have been authorized by RTA ( as they are costlier)

Don't forget to try the Belgian café in Millenium Hotel nearby for home brewed Beer... My favorite Hoegarden :-)

Enjoy your stay!!

Room Tip: Ask for view with Al Burj Arab from Media Rotana
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joyesh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MediaRotanaDubai, General Manager at Media Rotana, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Dear Joyesh S,

We frequently welcome guests from India, and like you, they have appreciated our hotel, amenities and friendly service of our team.

Thank you for your kind words about our breakfast in Channels, and I'm glad you love the wide spread and selection of our breakfast buffet.

Thank you once again for your praise and we look forward to welcoming you back to Media
Rotana in the near future.

Kind regards,

Rabih Melhem
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,360)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,610 - 1,616 of 2,360 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2014

We have been staying at this Hotel for the last four years, every time we go to Dubai. On the odd occasion when we chose to try somewhere different we totally regretted it. The media Rotana is a home from home. Its spotless clean, the pool deck is wonderful especially in the evenings, when they turn on the glam... The Italian restaurant is really good and the pub is very authentic, the staff cant do enough for you at this Hotel. I know Im gushing but value for money its really hard to beat...try it!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MediaRotanaDubai, General Manager at Media Rotana, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Dear Sandra B,

Thank you for your very inspiring review shared to our TripAdvisor readers.

It is our aim to ensure all our guests will have comfortable and memorable stay, and I'm glad we have exceeded your expectations. It is also rewarding to know that we let you feel at home every time you stayed with us.

I look forward to your next visit.

Regards,

Rabih Melhem
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

My husband and I traveled to Dubai for 2 weeks in March 2014. We stayed at Media Rotana because we were familiar staying there (from a previous visit). It was a great value and the location was perfect for us. We rented a car and were able to make our way around the city very easily--valet parking is free which is an added bonus. Barsha is a great location to get to any point in the city without much hectic traffic.

Overall, we were happy with the experience as a whole. The service was good, but coming from the USA where service and guest service comes first, it is always difficult to adjust to a place where the customer is not “always right”. The lobby is beautiful and there is plenty to do at the hotel (be sure to check out the Italian restaurant and the outdoor Terrace by the pool!). Our room was nice, but I still feel like we could have found a nicer place to stay for the price we paid.

Upon arrival we ran into a bit of a hiccup. I originally booked a King Studio (which includes a small kitchenette) but was not pleased with the room. It was not renovated—the majority of the rooms are renovated but this style room is not. Thus, we opted to downgrade rather than upgrade to a bigger suite to avoid paying more. Instead of lowering the price they gave us free wifi to make up for the price difference. (Wifi is NOT free anywhere in the hotel and it is quite pricey). Once they switched us to the new—standard room—we were much more comfortable despite the smaller size. The only other complaint was that the plumbing in our bathroom wasn’t the best. We had to hold down the flush for the toilet for a few seconds every time and we kept the bathroom door closed to avoid any foul smells. The water in the shower also took some time to heat up and the sink would only turn off when adjusted in a very specific position (it was easy to get used to though). We brought this up to the front desk once we were settled into the new room but they didn’t do anything about it. They just told us to hold the flush down and keep the sink adjusted accordingly. No big deal…I think they thought we were being difficult (because of our prior complaint) but we definitely were not. We are both very easy going travelers who very rarely complain.

Thus, although the service was good (everyone was friendly and welcoming), the overall experience could have been slightly better. I would still recommend this hotel to friends--as long as a renovated room with good plumbing is requested!

Room Tip: Be sure and request a renovated room! Wifi is NOT free anywhere in the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzetteQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MediaRotanaDubai, General Manager at Media Rotana, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear SuzetteQ,

Thank you for your review shared to our Trip Advisor readers.

I was pleased to learn that on the overall, you had enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for highlighting the facilities we have in our hotel, our beautiful lobby and our various restaurants.

We have noted your comments with regards to plumbing and hot water issues in our newly renovated rooms. Please be assured that we have taken the necessary action to rectify the points mentioned.

Lastly, thank you for recommending our hotel to your friends, and I look forward to welcoming you back in your next visit.

Regards,

Rabih Melhem
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

The hotel was too big, I was travelling with a group and we got allocated different floors and the hotel is actually 2 buildings so you have to go down to the lobby and change the building to go to the other side so that was a bit of a pain if you were travelling with a group. The breakfast was good and big variety.
I don’t like paying for internet especially if it’s a 5 star hotel. Internet was expensive too. There is a supermarket and small restaurant serving Starbucks coffee at the building in front of the hotel so that was cool.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rasha y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MediaRotanaDubai, General Manager at Media Rotana, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Dear Rasha y,

Thank you for your kind review.

We are happy to note that you specifically like our breakfast buffet at Channels Restaurant with its wide selection to choose from.

On the other note, we hope that you and the rest of your companion had enjoyed your stay at Media Rotana Hotel.

Regards,

Rabih Melhem
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

The location of the hotel close to media city is amazing,the service, the ease of check-in and access is really commendable and the staff are very friendly. Great value for money and maximum convenience. The terrace is a really nice place to chill, have hookah, and a chilling glass of beer. You can also get to the Belgian place close-by for good drinks and watch a football match with friends.

Room Tip: Push for the higher floors to avoid the Nelson's pub lively music!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ramzi_Mouakassa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MediaRotanaDubai, General Manager at Media Rotana, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Dear Ramzi,

Thank you for choosing Media Rotana Hotel during your recent trip to Dubai.

We are glad that you rated top notch for our rooms, facilities and service, and we are pleased to know that we let you feel at home away from your home.

We would like to thank for highlighting The Terrace in your review, and I'm glad that you took the time to experience and enjoy the atmosphere of the outlet.

We look forward to your next visit.

Regards,

Rabih Melhem
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

I stayed in this hotel in early March 2014 for 3 nights with my wife. The purpose of our trip was to participate in a conference in Atlantis hotel. Overall this is a very good standard 5 star hotel - you get what you expect with no surprises. The strong points of the hotel are a) the very good housekeeping, b) the fantastic breakfast, and c) polite and responsive staff. On the other hand it was very disappointing that there was no free wireless internet provided at least at the lobby area; this is something that you expect if you pay a respectable amount of money to stay in this hotel. Another negative experience was the following: during the first day we've asked the valet/groom for a taxi and recommended a private one; when I've asked if this is the same price with the authorized taxis (part of Dubai's transport system) he responded "of course they have a meter and they provide a receipt". The truth is that these taxis charged 30-50% more than the normal ones. So for the following day I have ignored the valets.

I guess I will try another hotel during my next visit in Dubai - I regret to say that I'm not impressed, there was nothing exiting about Media Rotana!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Babisyious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MediaRotanaDubai, General Manager at Media Rotana, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

Dear Babisyious,

We especially appreciate your sincere praise and critiques from a well-travelled guest like you. We are delighted to learn that you love our breakfast buffet in Channels, the responsiveness of our team members and for acknowledging the efforts of our Housekeeping team. We will definitely share your kind sentiments to inspire them to do even better at upholding our standards.

On the other hand, we will keep note on your suggestion with regards to the internet, and corrective measures were undertaken with regards to our team who handled your transportation.

Lastly, a big Thank you for sharing your beautiful photos.

Kind regards,

Rabih Melhem
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Had a brief one night stay here, it was a good hotel. Lots of choices of restaurants. The room itself was quiet comfortable and clean. The service was impeccable. Even though i arrived right after the Gulf-food had ended, and they had tons of people checking out, they had a room ready for me by 12noon. Reception check-in and checkout was slightly slower but they were swamped with people.
The bed was very comfortable to sleep on. Perfect bathroom amenities and room service was on-time.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M_Taz1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MediaRotanaDubai, General Manager at Media Rotana, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear M_Taz1985,

We are happy to note that you appreciated the cleanliness of and the amenities in your room as well as well as the variety of choices in our restaurants. Thank you for the high praise with regards to the service rendered by our team members, and we are delighted that you shared this in your review.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Media Rotana Hotel.

Regards,

Rabih Melhem
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Millennium Dubai
0.6 mi away
Fraser Suites Dubai
Fraser Suites Dubai
#189 of 561 in Dubai
481 reviews
0.5 mi away
TIME Oak Hotel & Suites
TIME Oak Hotel & Suites
#185 of 561 in Dubai
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Dubai Media City
0.4 mi away
Mercure Dubai Barsha Heights Hotel Suites
0.4 mi away
dusitD2 Kenz Hotel
dusitD2 Kenz Hotel
#17 of 561 in Dubai
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Media Rotana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Media Rotana

Address: Hessa Street | Barsha Heights, Dubai 503030, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#72 Business Hotel in Dubai
#95 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#97 Spa Hotel in Dubai
#144 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range: $75 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Media Rotana 5*
Number of rooms: 536
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arrive at Media Rotana to find yourself greeted with a feeling of contemporary luxury. Imagine dramatic architecture and design where you are offered privacy, personalized service and peerless facilities. We take pride in offering you the best of everything; stylish restaurants, modern rooms and friendly service. Whether your stay in Dubai is for business or pleasure, it should be a worry-free experience that delights you. So choose Media Rotana and we assure you the best stay away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Media Rotana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Media Rotana, Barsha - Dubai Hotel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing