We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I was pleasantly surprised..”
Review of Media Rotana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Media Rotana
Ranked #142 of 542 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Rockledge, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“I was pleasantly surprised..”
Reviewed February 26, 2012

I have seen this hotel pop up in a number of searches for hotels in Dubai but was always a bit leery to try it. Whenever Dubai hotels are full, this seems to be the only Rotana hotel that isn't sold out.

I finally took a chance on it and was very happy! The hotel is very clean and efficient. The room was huge and comfortable. The roof terrance and the pub on the main floor were both great!

It isn't in the best location if you don't have a car - but very easy to locate and travel from if you do.

The only negative was that I felt like they were constantly rushing us to leave - both on the terrace and in my room. The morning of checkout, there was a knock at the door at 9:00 am and then a glowing message on the TV at 10:30 am asking when we were leaving. Odd since checkout was at noon.

I would definitely pick this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MediaRotanaDubai, General Manager at Media Rotana, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay at Media Rotana on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted to know that in general you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for mentioning so many positive areas about Media Rotana.

We have noted your comments with regards to the checking out process and your experience in The Terrace. Rest assured that we will be looking on this matter in order to avoid this incident to experience with other guests.

Thank you again for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back on your return to Media Rotana Hotel.

Kind regards,

Rabih Melhem
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    830
    660
    193
    61
    64
See reviews for
298
355
117
773
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

A beautiful hotel, excellent service and immaculately clean. The staff were very welcoming and the housekeeping team were lovely and very accomodating. The pool is clean and although not wide it is very long and lovely and warm. Breakfast is excellent with so many choices and the staff and chef are very polite and helpful. Taxi's wait outside but use the tube which is a 10 minute walk from the hotel, spotlessly clean and on time, very impressive! Nelson's bar looked fun and had events on every night although we didn't get chance to use it. A lovely, impressive hotel with great customer service. Thank you so much for a wonderful week and my grateful thanks to the housekeeping team for all their hard work. Thank you Rotana i would love to come and stay again.....

Room Tip: We stayed on the 9th floor and didn't hear any noise from Nelson's which sounded quite livel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sageyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MediaRotanaDubai, General Manager at Media Rotana, responded to this review, February 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us at Media Rotana Hotel and the time taken to share your feedback on Tripadvisor.

It was a pleasure to read how much you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you were happy with the services provided by our colleagues. Customer satisfaction is amongst our highest priorities here at Media Rotana and I was glad to learn that we were able to meet with your expectations. It is always motivating and rewarding for our Team Members to receive such positive feedback.

We thank you once again for your support and the time taken to write. We will always welcome the opportunity to be of service to you again.

Kind regards,

Rabih Melhem
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2012

Nice hotel and staff very friendly and go out of their way to please. Rooms really clean and maintained well too. Pool area does not have sun all day due to positioning of hotel towers at either side. But again pool is nice and clean and the terrace bar is very good. Hotel restaurants are good too.

Only downside for our family is that the hotel seems to have terrace bar parties most evenings with loud dance music till the early hours. If you get a pool room view (like we did) then you will hear the base of the music till the early hours (2.30am every night). And when it finishes the party goers leaving in their supercars (Lamborghinis and Ferraris) tend to be noisy too.

Location is a bit out of town for the main attractions and is not on the big bus tour route but taxis are easy to get 24hrs and are reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Go high as possible. We found a pool view over the terrace bar was noisy every night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MediaRotanaDubai, General Manager at Media Rotana, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at Media Rotana Dubai and for taking time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor.

It was a pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay with the hotel. Customer satisfaction is amongst our highest priorities here at the Media Rotana and I was glad to learn we were able to meet with your expectations. It is always motivating and rewarding for our Team Members to receive such positive feedback.

We however keep note of your feedback with regards to the noise in the Terrace, and action will be taken accordingly from our side in order to not have the same guest experience such disturbance.

Your feedback is greatly appreciated as such information enables us to continually monitor and improve services and facilities we are offering.

In closing, may I thank you once again for your support and the time taken to write. We will always welcome the opportunity to be of service to you again.

Kind regards,

Rabih Melhem
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2012

I have stayed there for 4 nights. Rooms are pretty spacious, very comfortable. There were no problem with changing room for another with bayview. Service is ok, food pretty much ok (big variety of seafood). I used this hotel for as a base for sightseeing. If you are looking for the hotel for a family vacation this is not a good choice. For business and sightseeing purposes it's excellent choice.

Room Tip: Ask for the corner room with bayview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BennyPL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MediaRotanaDubai, General Manager at Media Rotana, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at Media Rotana Dubai and for taking time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us with the facilities and services of the hotel.

Thank you once again for your feedback and it would be our privilege to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Rabih Melhem
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saudi arabia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

I have stayed in Media Rotana many times, hotel is good, nice service, you cannot say top class but still Good! need to maintain as I have noticed some slackiness, there was a lot of construction around before and no place go close by earlier, now things are ready and one can walk around, it's close to Mall of the Emirates, 5 minutes by Taxi

Room Tip: ask for a room viewing Sheikh Zaid road, not direct but still at least something to see
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AsifD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MediaRotanaDubai, General Manager at Media Rotana, responded to this review, February 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at Media Rotana Dubai and for taking time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased to know that you find our hotel good and generally enjoyed your stay with us.

I understand that you were disappointed with the construction nearby the hotel, this is however one of the element of the ever evolving Dubai that is sometimes challenging to avoid.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back on your return to Media Rotana Hotel.

Kind regards,


Rabih Melhem
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

I had a "studio" room here while on an extended business trip. The studio includes a refrigerator, washer-dryer, cooktop, and microwave oven in a much more spacious environment than the other rooms. My colleagues had similar rooms, but the studio rooms are not identical ... some have a more spacious kitchen, some have a smaller refrigerator and no washer-dryer. Both wired and wireless internet available. Same day laundry service available with reasonable prices. The staff is very attentive.

Avoid a room on a low floor due to the late night loud music which sometimes permeates as high as the 8th floor. Best views from the northeast side rooms. My room overlooked other hotels and construction projects.

I agree with the review by David H, especially "not in a great area if you want to experience Dubai." Taxi's are inexpensive and the Metro is a 15 minute walk away if you want to get to the real Dubai. Nelson's bar is very nice but reeks of cigarette smoke. Great if you are a smoker.

I did not have the bad experiences expressed by Fareen85. Perhaps that was an anomaly. I found the exercise room more than adequate for my meager needs.

Being a cheapskate I did not make use of the restaurants in the hotel other than small appetizers and snacks at the outdoor Terrace. The club sandwich is excellent there. I was there in December and January so being outdoors was very pleasant. I can't imagine how hot the Terrace must be in the summer. There is a Park and Shop grocery nearby, 10 minute walk, which has a wide variety of sundries and foodstuffs - including pork products in a separate room in the rear. Cooking implements are provided in the studio rooms.

Room Tip: Higher rooms quieter. For those with elevator phobias, stairways are clean and easily accessed. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MediaRotanaDubai, General Manager at Media Rotana, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at Media Rotana Dubai and for taking time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor.

I also would like to thank you for your generous comments and a good review for our hotel.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back on your return to Media Rotana Hotel.

Kind regards,

Rabih Melhem
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2012

It's not in a great area if you want to experience Dubai. It is good for work if you are based at Media/Internet city. But the Hotel itself does have enough of a vibe to keep you interested. It has an irish bar which is always busy. And also a new club on the 1st floor floor, which a lto of expats visit.
All in all, a decent hotel

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MediaRotanaDubai, General Manager at Media Rotana, responded to this review, January 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at Media Rotana Dubai and for taking time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased to know that you always enjoy staying with us. I would like to thank you for your positive feedback.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back on your return to Media Rotana Hotel.

Kind regards,


Rabih Melhem
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Millennium Dubai
0.5 mi away
TIME Oak Hotel & Suites
TIME Oak Hotel & Suites
#105 of 542 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
3.2 mi away
Bonnington Jumeirah Lakes Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Auris Plaza Hotel
Auris Plaza Hotel
#141 of 542 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
8.3 mi away
Villa Rotana - Dubai
Villa Rotana - Dubai
#78 of 542 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
11.2 mi away
Jumeira Rotana
Jumeira Rotana
#166 of 542 in Dubai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Media Rotana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Media Rotana

Property: Media Rotana
Address: Media Rotana Hessa St | Barsha Heights, Dubai 503030, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#72 Business Hotel in Dubai
#83 Spa Hotel in Dubai
#95 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#110 Family Hotel in Dubai
#129 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Media Rotana 5*
Number of rooms: 536
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arrive at Media Rotana to find yourself greeted with a feeling of contemporary luxury. Imagine dramatic architecture and design where you are offered privacy, personalized service and peerless facilities. We take pride in offering you the best of everything; stylish restaurants, modern rooms and friendly service. Whether your stay in Dubai is for business or pleasure, it should be a worry-free experience that delights you. So choose Media Rotana and we assure you the best stay away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Media Rotana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Media Rotana, Barsha - Dubai Hotel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing