We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good hotel, close to Mall of Emirates,” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Media Rotana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Media Rotana
Ranked #142 of 544 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very Good hotel, close to Mall of Emirates,”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2012

I have stayed there for 4 nights. Rooms are pretty spacious, very comfortable. There were no problem with changing room for another with bayview. Service is ok, food pretty much ok (big variety of seafood). I used this hotel for as a base for sightseeing. If you are looking for the hotel for a family vacation this is not a good choice. For business and sightseeing purposes it's excellent choice.

Room Tip: Ask for the corner room with bayview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BennyPL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MediaRotanaDubai, General Manager at Media Rotana, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at Media Rotana Dubai and for taking time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us with the facilities and services of the hotel.

Thank you once again for your feedback and it would be our privilege to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Rabih Melhem
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    715
    586
    169
    56
    56
See reviews for
251
322
103
656
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
saudi arabia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2012

I have stayed in Media Rotana many times, hotel is good, nice service, you cannot say top class but still Good! need to maintain as I have noticed some slackiness, there was a lot of construction around before and no place go close by earlier, now things are ready and one can walk around, it's close to Mall of the Emirates, 5 minutes by Taxi

Room Tip: ask for a room viewing Sheikh Zaid road, not direct but still at least something to see
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AsifD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MediaRotanaDubai, General Manager at Media Rotana, responded to this review, February 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at Media Rotana Dubai and for taking time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased to know that you find our hotel good and generally enjoyed your stay with us.

I understand that you were disappointed with the construction nearby the hotel, this is however one of the element of the ever evolving Dubai that is sometimes challenging to avoid.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back on your return to Media Rotana Hotel.

Kind regards,


Rabih Melhem
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

I had a "studio" room here while on an extended business trip. The studio includes a refrigerator, washer-dryer, cooktop, and microwave oven in a much more spacious environment than the other rooms. My colleagues had similar rooms, but the studio rooms are not identical ... some have a more spacious kitchen, some have a smaller refrigerator and no washer-dryer. Both wired and wireless internet available. Same day laundry service available with reasonable prices. The staff is very attentive.

Avoid a room on a low floor due to the late night loud music which sometimes permeates as high as the 8th floor. Best views from the northeast side rooms. My room overlooked other hotels and construction projects.

I agree with the review by David H, especially "not in a great area if you want to experience Dubai." Taxi's are inexpensive and the Metro is a 15 minute walk away if you want to get to the real Dubai. Nelson's bar is very nice but reeks of cigarette smoke. Great if you are a smoker.

I did not have the bad experiences expressed by Fareen85. Perhaps that was an anomaly. I found the exercise room more than adequate for my meager needs.

Being a cheapskate I did not make use of the restaurants in the hotel other than small appetizers and snacks at the outdoor Terrace. The club sandwich is excellent there. I was there in December and January so being outdoors was very pleasant. I can't imagine how hot the Terrace must be in the summer. There is a Park and Shop grocery nearby, 10 minute walk, which has a wide variety of sundries and foodstuffs - including pork products in a separate room in the rear. Cooking implements are provided in the studio rooms.

Room Tip: Higher rooms quieter. For those with elevator phobias, stairways are clean and easily accessed. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MediaRotanaDubai, General Manager at Media Rotana, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at Media Rotana Dubai and for taking time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor.

I also would like to thank you for your generous comments and a good review for our hotel.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back on your return to Media Rotana Hotel.

Kind regards,

Rabih Melhem
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2012

It's not in a great area if you want to experience Dubai. It is good for work if you are based at Media/Internet city. But the Hotel itself does have enough of a vibe to keep you interested. It has an irish bar which is always busy. And also a new club on the 1st floor floor, which a lto of expats visit.
All in all, a decent hotel

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MediaRotanaDubai, General Manager at Media Rotana, responded to this review, January 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at Media Rotana Dubai and for taking time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased to know that you always enjoy staying with us. I would like to thank you for your positive feedback.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back on your return to Media Rotana Hotel.

Kind regards,


Rabih Melhem
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

For the same rating and price I think u can get a better hotel..
Pluses are Close to Metro - around 7 to 10 minutes walk
Very Nice courteous staff - all the way
Very Nice breakfast
Room was not bad..

Bad points are
Washroom was stinking when I checked in
Slow check in
TV turned on automatically in the middle of the tight.. it happened thrice during my 30 day stay.. - this was a huge turn off and this is because i wont consider staying there again.
swimming pool's dimensions are disproportional to the standards.. if u like to avail swimming pool, stay away from this hotel.
Gym was not too good - less number of machines..

I stayed in Media One hotel though.. that was an awesome experience. .check that one out..

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fareed85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MediaRotanaDubai, General Manager at Media Rotana, responded to this review, January 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at Media Rotana Dubai and for taking time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor.

I was sorry to learn of your concerns regarding your stay at the hotel and at the outset, would like to offer my sincerest apologies for the disappointment you have expressed. The points raised have been addressed with the concerned departments to investigate and take the appropriate action to avoid other guests being similarly disappointed.

We are grateful for your feedback as such information enables us to continually monitor and improve services and facilities we are offering.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back on your return to Media Rotana Hotel.

Sincerely,

Rabih Melhem
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for three nights over New Year before joining a cruise ship for a Gulf cruise. On the whole we found this to be a very enjoyable stay. Our room was fairly large and we had views over the Burj Al Arab Hotel and Ski Dubai. We had New Years dinner in Prego's italian restaurant and we agreed that it was a superb meal and was up there amongst the best that we have ever eaten, and we have eaten in some pretty good restaurants over the years. The meal was reasonably priced and was inclusive of wine party hats and crackers and the staff were extremely polite and efficient. After our meal we adjourned to the terrace where not only were we give an excellent disco by the hotel, we had views of the fireworks from the al Arab and the Al Khalifa. On a minus side though, we went into the City about 10am on the Saturday morning and when we returned about 3pm our room had not been made up. We were told the this would take about half an hour but when we retuned then we were told that it would take another half an hour. After some input from the duty manager we eventually accessed our room after about forty minutes. On the whole we enjoyed our short time at the hotel and may return there in the future if we ever go back to Dubai.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dumbarton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MediaRotanaDubai, General Manager at Media Rotana, responded to this review, January 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at Media Rotana Dubai and for taking time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor.

I was delighted to know that you and your wife had a memorable and enjoyable stay with us during the New Year’s Eve.

My team and I were grateful for your feedback as such information enables us to continually monitor and improve services and facilities we are offering.

Once again, thank you very much and I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you and your wife back again in the near future.

Kind regards,


Rabih Melhem
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for the Dubai Film Festival and it was chosen by the company. It was an excellent hotel. The rooms are very nice, spacious, clean, and quiet. Breakfast was one of the best i have experienced in terms of variety and quality, and i have been to many hotels in different parts of the world. Service was impeccable, the health club and pool were perfect, and i enjoyed my stay thoroughly.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarroun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MediaRotanaDubai, General Manager at Media Rotana, responded to this review, December 27, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at Media Rotana Dubai and your positive feedback posted in Trip Advisor.

It was a pleasure to read how much you have enjoyed your stay with us. Customer satisfaction is amongst our highest priorities here at Media Rotana and I was glad to learn we were able to meet with your expectations.

Thank you once again for your support and the time taken to write. We will always welcome the opportunity to be of service to you again.

Kind regards,

Rabih Melhem
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Millennium Dubai
Grand Millennium Dubai
#54 of 544 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
3.2 mi away
Bonnington Jumeirah Lakes Towers
0.5 mi away
TIME Oak Hotel & Suites
TIME Oak Hotel & Suites
#109 of 544 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Auris Plaza Hotel
Auris Plaza Hotel
#134 of 544 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
4.8 mi away
Ghaya Grand Hotel
Ghaya Grand Hotel
#102 of 544 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
11.2 mi away
Jumeira Rotana
Jumeira Rotana
#196 of 544 in Dubai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Media Rotana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Media Rotana

Property: Media Rotana
Address: Media Rotana Hessa St | Barsha Heights, Dubai 503030, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#72 Business Hotel in Dubai
#83 Spa Hotel in Dubai
#95 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#110 Family Hotel in Dubai
#129 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Media Rotana 5*
Number of rooms: 536
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arrive at Media Rotana to find yourself greeted with a feeling of contemporary luxury. Imagine dramatic architecture and design where you are offered privacy, personalized service and peerless facilities. We take pride in offering you the best of everything; stylish restaurants, modern rooms and friendly service. Whether your stay in Dubai is for business or pleasure, it should be a worry-free experience that delights you. So choose Media Rotana and we assure you the best stay away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Media Rotana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Media Rotana, Barsha - Dubai Hotel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing