We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great business hotel”
Review of Media Rotana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Media Rotana
Ranked #142 of 545 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great business hotel”
Reviewed October 6, 2011

Great hotel, okay location, right in the heart of media city. Gym is good. Pool is nice.

Only negative is that food and drink in hotel is expensive

But great hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aj778899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,850 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    854
    675
    194
    61
    66
See reviews for
303
360
122
797
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

This was fine but we were only there for 2 night on the way to Mauritius. The big issue here is that is out of town. Not that far from the Emerates mall but far enough. It takes about 45 mins to drive to the airport. We were in Dubai in Ramadan and for us that was an issue although you can consume alcohol on hotel premises. It was possible to find somewhere to eat at lunch but you had to look and food was expensive in those places that were open. The hotel has good quality rooms, the air con works well and it was not noisy. We had expected some since it is in an area being developed. The staff were very good and helpful. If you take a cab the hoel has them lined up by the exit but these are at a premium price. The standard cabs, which abound, are much cheaper and can be found a few yards away. Beware, though, of walking about; it is incredibly hot and you are advised to go from one air conditioned environment to another. The fountain with music is super and well worth a cab there and back. Take a drink at Carluccio's and watch it in comfort.
The shopping, perportedly cheap, is not i.e. in the malls. We shopped in the souk, full of indian and Iranian small shops. Loads of fake goods some of which are good. It is worth seeking out a shop selling perfume both mens and womens. These are the same fragrances that you are familiar with and made in the same factory in Switzerland, the difference being that these are stroinger and oil based. The fragrances last a very long time so you use less. The price is very reasonable. The gold souk and spice souk are interesting. The museum is okay and a trip over the creek on a boat is worthwhile. My advice is to bargain and bargain hard but not in the malls where you are required to pay what is shown. In Debenhams my wife assures me cosmetics were considerably more expensive than they are in my local branch.
Food in our hotel was of reasonable quality (Italian|) but portions are not large and it took a while to be served. If you ask the cabbies or the vendors in the souk they will advise you where to eat. We went to a Persian restaurant, very basic but the food was superb, very good value and the atmosphere was very interesting.
Breakfast in the hotel was very good, that is if you don't mind turkey bacon. Is that an oxymoron? It was buffet style with freshly made for you omlette or fried eggs. Great variety of fruit. Waiter service to be seated and to serve drinks.

Room Tip: We werte offered an upgrade since the type of room which we had booked was unavailable in non smokin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geoffreykenward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MediaRotanaDubai, General Manager at Media Rotana, responded to this review, October 4, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at Media Rotana Hotel.

I was pleased to learn that on the overall you have enjoyed your stay in Dubai and with us.

Thank you once again for your time to share your feedback and experience. We will always welcome the opportunity to be of service to you again.

Kind regards,

Rabih Melhem
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

The facility is good , however not the best for the price. The accounting department double charged my credit card for issuance of visa. And I kept chasing the front desk team to refund the money for almost one month. I lost on the exchange rate and the management was completely irresponsive. It was my mistake to use this facility because this wasn't the first time to make problems with debiting credit cards. It's definitely never for it again !!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beebo73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MediaRotanaDubai, General Manager at Media Rotana, responded to this review, October 4, 2011
Dear Guest,

First, I would like to apologies for the trouble you experienced with regards to the delay of processing your credit card refund. Needless to say, there is no excuse for our failure and shortfall of our standard of service on this regard.

Please let me assure you that this is not the standard of service and operation in our hotel and necessary measures and trainings were ascertained in order to avoid recurrence of such shortcomings especially with regards to processing the credit card refund.

Let me thank you for writing us about your feedback. It is indeed gives us an opportunity to improve our services better.

Lastly, I hope this incident will not deter you from using the services and facilities of Media Rotana Hotel in the near future.

Regards,

Rabih Melhem
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

We had a two night stop over in Dubai which turned into the best part of three due to the hotel kindly letting us check into our room at 530am.

All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The room was immaculate and they even gave us some special desserts as we were on honeymoon.

The terrace was really relaxed and complete with pool and bar was very welcome!

The hotel is a little bit out of the main city but easy to reach by taxi or metro.

Amazing choice at breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChesterPinkpanther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Upon arrival we noticed the hotel was in an area that was still being developed however that can be said for most of Dubai. No queues at check in however at 11pm we did expect our room to be ready. However as Sajaad on reception explained the hotel was extremely busy and our room would not be ready for another hour. A little fustrated after a long flight however we killed time by taking a look around the hotel. (However we were upgraded to a suite which made up for this inconveinence)
The swimming pool area was excellant, clean and never busy. However due to the building orientation the swimming pool only ever got direct sunlight for a few hours of the day.
Gym was well equipped and like the pool area never really seemed busy.
The suite we were given was big which when travelling with family is a godsend.
All in all the hotel was very good.

Now a special note about the service. All staff were extremely firendly and helpful, nothing seemed too much trouble. The staff at Channels coffee bar provided us with warm millk for my young son everyday with a smile and nothing was too much touble for them. chef Philip and his staff did an excellant job with the food and again nothing seemed like too much trouble for them.

Being picky the only one thing i would welcome as an improvement would be free wifi access.

Room Tip: The suites are big so if you havr children would definatly try to get an upgrade to these rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manjitp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MediaRotanaDubai, General Manager at Media Rotana, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
Dear Guest,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you very much for taking time post your comments at Trip Advisor after your recent stay at Media Rotana Hotel. It was a great pleasure indeed to have you as our guest.

It is our goal to maintain the highest standards of service to all our guests, and we are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed the facilities of our hotel.

I have passed your compliments to our entire team, who were indeed delighted at your gesture and they thank you for your generous comments.

We look forward to welcoming you once again and assure you of our best attention and services at all times.

Kind regards,

Rabih Melhem
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2011

We stayed here because we were looking for our apartment to move in, in Dubai, We stayed for a week and we were both totally satisfied with the service even though the hotel was on full occupancy due to the festival of Eid.
They have an Italian restaurant which is great with a perfect cuisine and ambiance. they also have an oriental restaurant which serves good food. Breakfast buffet has variety and is really good.
Rooms are a little dark in terms of lighting but they are spacious and tastefully decorated and the bathroom was nice and clean.
Overall a good stay!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BatoolBahroz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MediaRotanaDubai, General Manager at Media Rotana, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your generous feedback following your recent stay at Media Rotana Hotel.

I am pleased to know that you enjoyed particularly our breakfast at Channels and Italian Restaurant in our hotel. I will be sharing your feedback with our colleagues who would be more happy to serve our guests.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit and hopefully in the near future.

Kind regards,

Rabih Melhem
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baku
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2011

Stayed here when we had an unexpected powercut recently. Called up and said I needed a room for family. Everything was taken care of from the minute we arrived. Had a well deserved drink in the bar and a late dinner in the itanian restaurant in the lobby. The hotel is perfect 4 star with OK sized rooms, clean, modern with plenty of towels and decent TV.
The downside is the area where the hotel is built called Tecom. Dubai municpality seems to have halted development of all the infrastucture in this area, so the streets and pavements are not complete. Still this hotel is very popular with expats living nearby for a drink in the Nelson pub or to eat in the restaurant, which is always packed at the weekend.
There is also a play area for kids in the lobby which is a nice touch.

Room Tip: Call direct and ask for a rate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sleepy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MediaRotanaDubai, General Manager at Media Rotana, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments at Tripadvisor.

I was very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, we are constantly striving to achieve the highest standards of service so it is always very rewarding for my team and I to know that we have met your expectations.

Thank you once again for taking the time and trouble to write. I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel some time in the near future.

Best regards,


Rabih Melhem
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Millennium Dubai
0.5 mi away
TIME Oak Hotel & Suites
TIME Oak Hotel & Suites
#115 of 545 in Dubai
573 reviews
3.2 mi away
Bonnington Jumeirah Lakes Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Auris Plaza Hotel
Auris Plaza Hotel
#146 of 545 in Dubai
989 reviews
9.9 mi away
Towers Rotana
Towers Rotana
#105 of 545 in Dubai
2,082 reviews
9.9 mi away
Rose Rayhaan by Rotana - Dubai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Media Rotana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Media Rotana

Property: Media Rotana
Address: Media Rotana Hessa St | Barsha Heights, Dubai 503030, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#72 Business Hotel in Dubai
#83 Spa Hotel in Dubai
#95 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#110 Family Hotel in Dubai
#130 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Media Rotana 5*
Number of rooms: 536
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arrive at Media Rotana to find yourself greeted with a feeling of contemporary luxury. Imagine dramatic architecture and design where you are offered privacy, personalized service and peerless facilities. We take pride in offering you the best of everything; stylish restaurants, modern rooms and friendly service. Whether your stay in Dubai is for business or pleasure, it should be a worry-free experience that delights you. So choose Media Rotana and we assure you the best stay away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Media Rotana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Media Rotana, Barsha - Dubai Hotel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing