We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely fillet mignon, fabulous sides..” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hunters Room & Grill

Hunters Room & Grill
Ranked #218 of 9,408 Restaurants in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $65 - $108
Cuisines: Steakhouse, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Hunters Room & Grill offers an upscale, contemporary spin on the traditional grill house, with minimalist décor of leather seats and dark wood tables. Hardwood floors and an open kitchen complete this elegant, no-frills atmosphere where enticing aromas and succulent textures and flavors command center stage.
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
101 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Lovely fillet mignon, fabulous sides..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

The Hunters Room and Grill is located in the beautiful Westin hotel, it's terrace overlooks the garden and pool area.
Pretty decor, relaxing background music and an open kitchen wihin the dining area.
Our steaks were delicious, especially my fillet mignon.
Good choice of sides and everything we tried (cauliflower cheese, creamy spinach and truffle fries) was tasty.
There is a choice of steak knifes, which is a nice touch and a bit of a ritual.
Big let down was the bread for me, not warm and crispy, just small slices of white and brown bread whih tasted of nothing. Service was nowhere to be found most of the time.. not to top up our water/wine glasses, clear the plates straight away or to even pay the bill at the end. However, we may return just for the yammy food one day.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sabrina159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    79
    24
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wagu is the way!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

Definitely one of the best atmospheres I have experienced in a long time.
I had a prime wagu and the misus had a t bone.
Some top quality food, especially the chips and various other sides.
Having said that please be prepared for the prices, bearing in mind the quality is top.
Desserts were a no go after the hearty meal. Ah maybe on my next visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Zaine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Absolute Disappointement”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

About two years ago we dined at the Hunters Room & Grill in the glamorous Westin Hotel and it was an unforgettable experience. I was very excited to share the experience with my parents during their visit; unfortunately it turned out to be the biggest disappointment. Our waiter has recommended us a wagyu rib-eye which is supposed to be the best cut there is; trusting the restaurant staff's competence we ordered three of these steaks. It was an absolute disaster! The meat was full of fat and nerves, it was burned on top and bottom and soaked in butter. I would expect a piece of meat at this price to be flawless, tender and heavenly and not for half the steak to be uneatable. The situation worsened when we brought our disappointment to the staff’s attention and they kept insisting that we ordered the best but will inform the chef in any case. However no one from the management bothered to visit our table. Major disappointment!

Restaurant not recommendable

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

Must be too used to US and Aussie steaks to be impressed by the quality here. Expensive food and wine even by UAE standards.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank MushroomTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
129 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Cat with your steak anyone?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

Ate here during our stay at the Westin. The steak itself was excellent, good quality piece of meat and perfectly cooked to taste. The sides were a let down, rather bland and uninteresting. We had a table outside on a lovely evening. Unfortunately stray cats wander around the tables at their leisure and get far to close for comfort (rubbing against your legs) during what should be a fine dining experience. Unfortunately some diners think it's cute to feed animals which ensures they keep coming back. The cats have got to go! Otherwise a decent meal, albeit £200 for 2 without starters or desserts and a decent but not awe inspiring bottle of red.

Pretty good but not a patch on similar type places in London.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank PuttersLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hunters Room & Grill also viewed

Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to Hunters Room & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing