We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded our expectations!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Star Metro Al Barsha
Ranked #387 of 561 Hotels in Dubai
Reviewed May 28, 2010

We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived, to see the bright and welcoming smile of the receptionist. We found our way to our room and immediately plonked on the oh-so-soft bed for a quick nap before we began our exploration. The spacious room was well furnished and there was a nice little kitchen with every imaginable pot, pan and utensil.

The stay was comfortable. The receptionists were ever-smiling and were able to guide us very well, no matter what query we had. They helped us book a Dhow cruise and a desert safari. We were very happy to find the Mall of the Emirates at close proximity and were able to walk across every morning for shopping or to take a metro to other locations.

The breakfast was plentiful and the service impeccable. There was a well-equipped gym, but we never tried it out. Dubai is too exciting to waste time indoors!

Stay here if you are looking for a comfy place to head back to after a day out. Don't expect a host of things-to-do, e.g., the pool was not functional, not that we were looking to swim!

Call ahead for any queries you may have, as the receptionist is more than willing to give you an idea of what you can expect at this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Genevieve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 78 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2010

I was visiting my son for Mother's Day weekend.

The main points are:

Excellent location : 5-10 minute stroll from the Mall of the Emirates and the nearest Metro Station.

(You enter/exit the MoE on the Ski Dubai side - walk along the road toward The Dunes Hotel, then next left and it's on the right.)

Excellent, very kind and helpful staff : what more can I say on that?

Phenomenally large accommodation : HUGE bedroom (comfy KS bed!) with en suite, separate lounge with dining area and balcony and very adequate kitchen facilities. Also a "guest bathroom" off the hall.

I shall certainly recommend this hotel to all and sundry.

Just a note, go to the hotel's own website, download and print the little location map from there and take it with you in case you need to ask directions.

Thank you to James and the team for making my stay so pleasant.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank llisa110rry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2010

I booked via Expedia and was really impressed with the hotel, its location and staff. Its not one of the large swanky resort style places but if you want a city base near one of the main malls but with the feel that you actually live there, then this is the one.
For £70 per night I had what was really a one bedroom flat! Lobby with sofa and wc, bedroom with kingsize bed, flat screen tv and ensuite plus a balcony, fully equipped kitchen with everything you'd need plus washing machine, 4 seater dining table area and sofa and chairs with another flatscreen tv and then a balcony...amazing value!! There is a food shop across the road and restaurants nearby plus a 10 min walk to the Mall of the Emirates for the Big Bus tour and Carrefour supermarket.
I liked the idea that it wa a residential area and you really felt as though it was your home. As you'd expect, there were lots of building work around the building itself but I didn't get disturbed by any early morning noise so that wasn't a problem anyway. Not glorious views from your windows but fascinating just watching everybody going about their business.
I got a taxi from the aiport...there were so many of them and it was the fastet taxi line I have ever been in. Twenty minutes later and we arrived at the hotel and it cost of 60 Dirham (about £13).

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dbirkwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2010

We travelled from Abu Dhabi with 2 young children and visiting grand parents. We booked 2 One bedroom apartments after a recomendation from other firends. This proved to be an excellent base to explore Dubai from. Literally a 5 minute walk from Mall of the Emirates and the Metro station. The apartments exceeded everything i was expecting for the price. The staff were proffesional and very helpfull, the rooms were very clean and modern and evenly split between a large living area and a bedroom with en suite. The kitchen area was well equiped with microwave, hob, fridge and freezer. Both the lounge area and bedroom had decent wall mounted TVs. The sofa bed was more than adequate for our 5 yr old and the 3 yr old was comfy on the sofa in the bedroom.
If you are looking fro clean, well equipped and modern apartments for a stop over with family then you cannot go wrong with these. It is the perfect base to reach out and explore Dubai. If you are going make sure you go and see the crek area and take lunch at the Dubai Golf and Yacht club.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toots8419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2009

We booked for 4 nights as a stopover on our way home from a trip to Egypt and as the price was very reasonable we were expecting the apartments to be very basic but luckily we were wrong.

We were very excited when we entered our room to find a large and very clean apartment with an ensuite off the separate generous sized bedroom, a guest toilet off the hall, separate well appointed kitchen with a washer/dryer and good sized refrigerator as well as a large dining and lounge area. There were also flat screen TVs in both the lounge and the bedroom. Even though there was construction going on all around us we never had any problem with noise.

The location is fantastic with a small but well stocked supermarket over the road and only a few minutes walk to the Mall of the Emirates. There is a metro train station at the Mall which makes travelling around Dubai much easier.

We found the reception, restaurant, concierge and housekeeping staff very friendly and helpful. The lady at reception went out of her way to help us during our stay, especially with the booking of our desert safari tour and even reconfirmed our onward flight.

The building is a fairly hard to find and some taxi drivers needed assistance to find their way, either from their colleages or us once we got to know the area better but it was never a great problem. It is a pity that there are no proper street names in that area - it would make locating the property so much easier. Maybe that will come when there are more completed buildings.

I would highly recommend this property and already have to our travel agent and other people we have spoken to and will be staying there again as we hope to have more visits to the incredible city of Dubai.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SallyBray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2009

its in short words HEVEAN so cozy and relaxing plus it has a great location right behind the uae mall, the stafe are so kind and nice

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sattamangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2009

Just came back from a business trip to Dubai and stayed at this hotel for 4 nights.
I was given a one-bedroom apartment (this is an apartment hotel) with a sitting room, dinning area as well as a well equipped kitchen with washing machine - plenty of space.
I stocked up the fridge with drinks bought from a small supermarket right opposite the hotel.

The team at the hotel was very helpful and friendly. They organised airport pickup for me both ways (from Abu Dhabi Int'l Airport).

It took me 25 minutes to the Convention Centre and therefore very convenient. It was only an hour from Abu Dhabi airport.

Breakfast is served in the cafe area and there is no restaurant for dinner. However, they do offer room service, with a good choice, if required. I found a Thai takeaway round the corner as well.
Having said that, I spent every evening out at the food courts at the Hall of Emirates (the one with indoor snowy ski slope) trying all sorts of cooking and then walked back to the hotel - a 10 minute walk.

The surrounding area has a lot of building sites but it is the same everywhere in Dubai at the moment. The sound proof was good as I did not hear anything.

There was a gym and sauna and a steam room at the top floor although I did not use the facilities.
Internet access was availabile free and I made good use of it.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank etravelcho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
Icon Hotel Apartments
#493 of 561 in Dubai
54 reviews
The Marina
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Dubai, Jbr
The Marina
Ramada Plaza Jumeirah Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Al Muraqabat Plaza
#413 of 561 in Dubai
25 reviews
The Marina
Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Metro Al Barsha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Metro Al Barsha

Address: Al Barsha 1 | Behind Mall Of the Emirates, Dubai 184786, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 On the Beach Hotel in Dubai
#164 Spa Hotel in Dubai
Price Range: $85 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Star Metro Al Barsha is a sparking new hotel apartment that brings a new dimension to the concept of hospitality. Designed especially around business life styles. 24 hrs in room dining, spacious apartments, fully equipped kitchenette, 24hrs in room entertainment (LCD TV), business centre, boardroom, high speed internet, in room safety box, covered parking, 24hrs lobby cafe, gymnasium, sauna, steam bath, housekeeping & laundry services, complimentary shuttle to beach and Mall of the Emirates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Star Metro Al Barsha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Metro Al Barsha Hotel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing