We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service is unacceptable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Star Metro Al Barsha
Ranked #363 of 540 Hotels in Dubai
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Service is unacceptable”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

Absolut miss management...

We were 3 friends getting 1 room.
1- the receptionist gave us room number 1XX by entering the room we found staff of another guest still in the room... so we get back to chane the room.
2- only one key card availble for all of us, telling us the other two card ll be avilable by night... then they told us they ll be avilable by tomorow morning.
3- very bad signle for wi-fi
4- the refrigerator is not working properlay.
5- the shower is not good (broken)
6- I found a small insect in our room
7-the price changed 20 aed higher than the booking price.
8- the air condition is not working properly.
9- no additional towels are available now! !!
10- Bath tub is impasse
11- the Paint of the bathroom ceiling is improper

I'm wondering how this hotel exist in dubai!!!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank karasnashed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    27
    15
    7
    6
See reviews for
15
23
10
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

I stayed here for one week as my company put me up in temporary accommodation. I had chosen it from booking.com as it seemed a good but cheap apartment option. I regret choosing this hotel/apartment for a number of reasons. Room was good size and clean but was tired and dated. The main problem was the noise! Surely the windows are not double glazed as I got woken up at 5am by the local mosque every morning. Not only that but the bedroom doors might as well have been made from paper. I was kept awake till 1am every night by noises of other rooms even from down the corridor. Lots of screaming children and slamming doors! I complained on the first night to no avail and so in between outside noise and indoor noise I got very little sleep. If you are a heavy sleeper you might have more luck here but you are better off staying at a hotel (the only difference here is you get a microwave and fridge!)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dubai hotels

Mumbai
Level Contributor
105 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

I stayed in this hotel in January 2014 during my business trip to Dubai. Its an Ok choice, I had a huge appartment style room given to me which was good. It was very comfortable and clean. The washroom was very jaded and just OK. The balcony and not clean, but I had the curtains closed, so no issues. I ordered some Indian Food which was good. The TV had very limited international channels. The Breakfast was a complete disappointment, very limited stuff. The location is good, right opposite Reef Mall. The room was noisy because of proximity to Airport, so lot of Airplanes noise and the street noise also.

Room Tip: Don't chose room facing the street, very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NinuMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

I stayed in this Hotel on many occasions thanks to my Company.
It is an excellent choice, but certainly not cheap.
It is nice to be right across the street from the Reef Mall.
You should be able to find anything you need in the mall across the street.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElKaBong61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heald Green
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

Dad a huge apartment which was clean and functional, there was a problem with the toilet which was sorted very promptly with a new cistern, the room was clean but the balcony and windows were covered in Pigeon faeces, which to be fair was cleaned the moment I complained.
The provision of self catering utensils was poor, no kettle had to use a pan, not enough cups etc
The pool area needs an upgrade and the pool was as cold as anything I've ever swam in.
I had breakfast in the restaurant next door once (to be fair not part of the Hotel) and it was awful! Far better options in the mall opposite.
The hotel just needs a major overhaul and a good clean on the outside which I appreciate is difficult in Dubai given the heat and dust.
The staff were exceptionally nice, kind and efficient.
The hotels location is good for those with a passing interest in aircraft.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KA501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

Overnight stop here, courtesy of Emirates. 40 minute drive in evening rush hour from T3. Located opposite a shopping mall. Large suite on first floor; living / dining room, good size kitchen, large bathroom and large bedroom. A pronounced echo and the air con was a little noisy. More intrusive was the aeroplane noise, through the night. Wifi was solid although signal was weak in the living room. Very short on tea/coffee makings. Meal in the prenatal style restaurant was adequate but not special or tasty, so glad I did not pay for it.
Good value for free, not first choice for any returns for me.

Room Tip: Suites are spacious, although that makes them feel a little sparse, too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatterD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

I Stayed here for 6 nights in the month of Feb 2013 (Dubai Festival Time), i had done a lot of research about hotels but finally landed to this STAR METRO as it was the best high class interior hotel apartments at value pricing and convenient location nearby to Mall of Emirates and railway too (walking around 10 minutes).

HOSPITALITY - Managers and Staff were very good and helpfull in providing correct information, they infact upgraded my Room to best view huge 1 Bedroom, Sitting Hall, Kitchen at same cost.

ROOMS - Trust me you wont find such huge spacious, polished, absolutely tidy rooms at this rate, in nearby or this posh area.

FOOD - I only booked breakfast and it was delicious. Vegetarians will have few options (but thats fine and enough).

ACCESSIBILITY - Mall of Emirates & same railway station is around 10 min walk very nearby, Lulu Super market (budget superstore), all small food joints nearby and grocery store is just next to the Star Metro to buy some cold drinks, snacks etc etc. All tourist places are also easily accessible nearby only to this location. Getting a cab is also very easy from outside the hotel.

AMENITIES - LED TV sets in Bedroom, Sitting Room , Microwave, Refrigerator, AC, top quality fittings all over in rooms. There is no swimming pool / discotheque / games room (its hotel apartments dont expect such things here and its not required for tourist who want to explore Dubai rather than sitting in Hotel).

I would highly appeciate the Hotel Managers / Staff to maintain the high level services going ahead, would definately like to visit again to Star Metro hotel apartments.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the open ground with balcony. All the rooms on this side are of top quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KashKool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
0.3 mi away
Arabian Gulf Hotel Apartments
0.2 mi away
Pearl Coast Premier Hotel Apartments
0.1 mi away
Al Waleed Palace Hotel Apartments Al Barsha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Richmond Greens Hotel
Richmond Greens Hotel
#471 of 540 in Dubai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grandeur Hotel
Grandeur Hotel
#237 of 540 in Dubai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.3 mi away
City Stay Inn Hotel Apartment
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Metro Al Barsha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Metro Al Barsha

Property: Star Metro Al Barsha
Address: Al Barsha 1 | Behind Mall Of the Emirates, Dubai 184786, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 On the Beach Hotel in Dubai
#148 Spa Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Star Metro Al Barsha is a sparking new hotel apartment that brings a new dimension to the concept of hospitality. Designed especially around business life styles. 24 hrs in room dining, spacious apartments, fully equipped kitchenette, 24hrs in room entertainment (LCD TV), business centre, boardroom, high speed internet, in room safety box, covered parking, 24hrs lobby cafe, gymnasium, sauna, steam bath, housekeeping & laundry services, complimentary shuttle to beach and Mall of the Emirates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Star Metro Al Barsha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Metro Al Barsha Hotel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing