We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to standard”
Review of Benjarong

Benjarong
Ranked #207 of 9,663 Restaurants in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: The finest taste of Thailand can be experienced at Benjarong. Enjoy traditional Thai music and dancing complemented by aromatic and authentic Royal Thai Cuisine. Gluten-Free, Halal and Vegetarian options,
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Not up to standard”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

The anticipated Thai meal in a Thai hotel was a great disappointment - I would like to think that this was a 'one off' but if not, I would not recommend eating there.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank colinallum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    54
    24
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Lake Lure, United States
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent Thai food at Dubai prices”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

If you want outstanding authentic Thai food in faux Thai surroundings, you will not be disappointed. If you are looking for Thai food at Thai prices, this is not the place for you.

The food was classically presented, with fantastic aromas and taste. The serving staff was very pleasant and attentive, and the Thai dancers were fun to watch.

It was a very enjoyable evening. Thank you.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
World is not enought
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Disappointing but ...”
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

My family came from abroad and I wanted to give them some taste of fine cuisine. We decided to head to Benjarong restaurant in Dusit Thani Dubai.

Let's start with positive. The food is fantastic. What you have in your plate is high quality food - congratulation to the chef!

On the other side, if I only want good Thai food in my plate, I would have call a Thai takeaway ...
Going in such place means expecting more...

First I was expecting a genuine Thai welcome. This was far from that
Next the restaurant was understaffed. 2h for a main course and a desert.... God!
Finally no one said good by after we paid... We head to the elevator alone

For 300$ for 6 people, it is a disappointing evening.

Let's end up with positive thoughts. The Thai dancing team is fantastic.

Hoping this will help the Benjarong restaurant fix these issues to deserve the 2012 trip advisor award the put on the front door....

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank luc t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
302 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, good food, pricey”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We went after my husband had stayed at Dusit Thani and ordered room service - he raved about the food so we decided to try the restaurant. The atmosphere is very nice - a beautiful place that definitely feels like Thailand. Service was excellent and they even had a dance and music show on a tiny little stage in the middle of the restaurant. The food was good - not as good as Thailand, but hey. The menu is pricey as are most in Dubai, but if you're looking for a treat or craving Thai food, Benjarong will fit the bill.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RSTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DusitThaniDubai, Public Relations Manager at Benjarong, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Sawasdee Krub Khun RSTravel,

Khob Khun Krub for choosing to dine at Benjarong after your husbands business trip. We are pleased you enjoyed the experience.

Our chefs use recipes used at the Royal Palaces of Thailand and are all Thai themselves adding to the authenticity of the Royal Thai Cuisine served at the restaurant.

The kitchen regularly review pricing to ensure we are offering the best value for our guests.

Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to serving you again.

Khob Khun Krub.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great Thai Food”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

I had been craving Thai food when we got to the Dusit Thani hotel in Dubai, after being deprived of it for so long living in eastern Europe. I was not disappointed! The food was excellent, perfectly seasoned and prepared. It was a bit expensive for Thai food though and the portions were on the smaller side, but overall it was fine. They had live entertainment too (Thai music and dance), so that was nice. The atmosphere is good and the seating is comfortable.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SnTinEU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DusitThaniDubai, Public Relations Manager at Benjarong, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Sawasdee Krub Khun SnTinEU,

Khob Khun Krub for your review of Benjarong. We are pleased that we satisfied your craving for Thai and were able to exceed your expectations when you dined with us. Thai food is traditionally shared and our dishes are served to reflect this allowing for guests to sample a variety of dishes.

Khob Khun Krub.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Benjarong also viewed

Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
United Arab Emirates, Middle East
 

Been to Benjarong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing