We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good budget restaurant for a delicious Sushi.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sumo Sushi & Bento

Sumo Sushi & Bento
Ranked #940 of 9,408 Restaurants in Dubai
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Jumeirah
Description: Sumo Sushi & Bento is celebrating over 15 years as the ORIGINAL family friendly Japanese cuisine franchise in the UAE and expanding. Since opening our first restaurant in Dubai we have expanded throughout the UAE. We have earned ourselves a solid reputation by providing quality menu items, a relaxing atmosphere and excellent service. We take great pride in what we do and value the opinion of our customers. We want you to feel at home here! Our love for authentic Japanese cuisine and appreciation for a memorable dining experience is what inspired us to bring quality and affordable sushi to the public.
Al Ain, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good budget restaurant for a delicious Sushi.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

Restaurant colors are not attractive nor the atmosphere. Food is delicious, Sushi is amazing! Like their Friday buffet!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dentfoudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SumoManagement, Manager at Sumo Sushi & Bento, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thank you so much for the review...we really appreciate you taking the time to give us feedback. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    58
    16
    9
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fresh sushi!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

Nice experience always been only in Jumeirah branch, good value for money and always fresh!
I return every time I am around the area!

Helpful?
1 Thank Fit01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SumoManagement, Manager at Sumo Sushi & Bento, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thank you so much for the review...we really appreciate you taking the time to give us feedback. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Used to be my favourite sushi place.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

I have been a Sumo customer since their first branch on sheikh zayed rd. It used to be my favourite sushi place, but over time the prices have gone up, the quality has gone down and the portions have gotten smaller.

On my last 2 occasions i was shocked at how small their maki rolls became on the tray. We complained to the management about it. I also noticed, one particular item "sushi sandwich" is prepared differently in the different branches. Usually the contents are diced, in one of the branches, if i'm not mistaken it was media city, the contents were just slapped in and didn't have the same look or feel.

When you eat at the restaurant we tend to receive good quality food, but a lot of times when we deliver, it feels like the cuts they would slice would be the sloppy / fatty cuts of the fish.
What i like about the menu is the variety and the creativity of some of the rolls. But i chuckle every year as i look at the menu when i notice that the prices have gone up again (this is over a period of 10+ years), but still it is significant enough to notice.

To stand out from the crowd of sushi shops, Sumo really needs to maintain, or in fact, up their quality in order not to lose any loyal customers.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank AhmedElGamal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SumoManagement, Manager at Sumo Sushi & Bento, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thank you so much for the review...we really appreciate you taking the time to give us this thorough feedback. We are taking your suggestions and looking closely at them as we are always open to hearing feedback as to ways we can improve. Our mission is to always give the best quality, best prices and best experience for our customers. Thank you very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Always fresh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

Our favourite venue to eat Sushi in Dubai. Food is always very fresh and tasty. There are many outlets to choose from so always one nearby

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
1 Thank Alain R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SumoManagement, Manager at Sumo Sushi & Bento, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thank you so much for the review...we really appreciate you taking the time to give us feedback. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
84 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Sushi and bento done right. Good Japanese in Jumeirah.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

We order in from here a lot, specially when we are feeling like sushi or a bento box, but don't feel like going and fighting weekend traffic. Sumo's sushi is fresh, there's a lot of variety, and must admit, it's not bad in terms of value for money.

The miso soup is really a good starter – it's quite authentic. Most of the sushi options we have tried are good. Their bentos are really what sets them apart – from our point of view. We've tried different varieties, the chicken katsu, beef bbq, and specially the tempura bento is just the thing. The Urumakis or rolls are very good as well – and every bit tastes fresh –as all sushi should.

The actual restaurant sits in the main atrium lobby of the Town Centre on Beach Road – which means it has this open feeling, rather than dimly light and cozy Japanese. We didn't mind it though, because the food was just right. Sumo is not the best sushi destination in town – and they don't try to be. What they are good at is fresh sushi, done right, with some tasty bento as well. You can't complain about the prices – which aren't cheap – but not insanely sushi-expensive as some restaurants in Dubai get to be.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SumoManagement, Manager at Sumo Sushi & Bento, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thank you so much for the review...we really appreciate you taking the time to give us such thorough feedback...we really appreciate every bit of it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sumo Sushi & Bento also viewed

Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to Sumo Sushi & Bento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing