We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything out here is huge!”
Review of Atlantis, The Palm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Atlantis, The Palm
Ranked #105 of 549 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Everything out here is huge!”
Reviewed January 1, 2011

Large hotel which is well located. Has enough attractions to keep one busy for a couple of days. The grand lobby, the nice club imperial rooms and the sumptuous breakfast. Also the dolphin bay adventures though pricey are fab for both adults and kids and so is the aquaventure. Must visit and worth a repeat.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jt05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16,745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10,991
    3,347
    1,351
    543
    513
See reviews for
8,707
4,526
209
614
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,732)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2010

We stayed in the West tower over looking the sea; having a 14 and 11 year old we booked this hotel for the water park and spent 3 1/2 days out of the 5 there.

The water park was great and the kids loved it, we could either join them or sit by the lagoon, it's very safe as there are lifeguards every where.

Our deal was for bed and breakfast, we signed for breakfast every day (£72 ouch!) so glad it was included. This being a 5 star hotel you can't really go there on a tight budget, coffee £6, beer £7.

We took a cab every night to a mall (Dubai £10 or Emirates £6) and the marina £6 where we had a meal for about £60 for the four of us; this would have been per head in the hotel.

We also booked the dolphin swim, again not cheap but a once in a lifetime experience.

All in all a really nice time and great hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2010

Brilliant 4 day stay. Upgraded to Imperial Club & would definately recommned it. Excellent restaurants, oodles for our 18 month old to do & on-site babysitting in the evening really made it a holiday.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
1 Thank MrCarnegie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2010

Good points:

As a resident you get to go pretty much anywhere you want, you get given a water proof room key holder on check-in with a cord so you can wear it round your neck and as long as you have that the security guards at the entrances to the ‘residents only’ and outside areas will let you through.
The buggy-trains that transport you around the outside areas of the hotel are frequent and an efficient way of getting around the site.
The resident’s pool area and beach were quiet, not that busy and on the whole nice areas to relax in and offer as many complimentary towels as you need.
The hotel is a grand and fantastic place to wander around in and admire the aquarium, waterfalls, decorated bars and shops amongst other things. We had a delicious mojito in Barazura which was amazingly decorated.
There’s a good mix of people from tourists to the very rich and makes for a very special and memorable experience.
The rooms were clean, well maintained, and pleasant to be in with a comfy bed, although noise from the corridor penetrated the room too easily and too often.
Aquadventure was a lot of fun, a good opportunity to release your ‘inner child’, we went there two days in a row and enjoyed all the rides especially the exhilarating slides and the ‘tidal wave’.
Lost Chambers was nice to wander through, had we had to pay we would not have been as impressed, the Aquarium at the Dubai Mall is more impressive for the money.


Bad points:

The restaurants:
Saffron did not have the lobster nor crab legs as advertised. This what we went there for especially. Had we not had the Dubai entertainer 2 for 1 offer we would have left.

Seafire's steak was disappointing, it should have been the best steak I had ever had for the price charged and it was average, I have had better in less much less exclusive restaurants. Again had we not had the Dubai 2 for 1 offer I would have related my disappointment to the chef. The starter and the dessert were good, but that is not a recommendation when the steak is the weakest dish on the menu.

In both the above restaurants I noticed that if you ask for a bottle of still water you are given a bottle of outrageously priced Vittel, when a bottle of plain "Atlantis" water as found in our room would suffice. I noticed at Saffron most other people drinking this, although we were not offered a choice.

Atlantis restaurants are more about making money than making good food and a happy customer. When Shark Bites (fast food diner) is the place I was most impressed with of all the eating establishments I visited, that suggests to me that Saffron and Seafire are doing something wrong.

Food/Coffee hut attendants at Aquadventure are utterly incompetent, I waited 10 minutes for 2 coffees, just because they were trying to cash up at the end of the day BEFORE they were due to close. If I hadn’t asked for my 80AED change three times I would never have got it.



As a resident at the hotel it is not clear how safe and easy it is to leave ones possessions in the Aquadventure park whilst going on the rides i.e. negating the need to pay 40AED per day for a locker. As mentioned previously no information was given to us when we arrived that we had access to hotel beach towels, that our room key would be waterproof and could simply be warn round our neck or any other convenience for a resident to make our stay easier when visiting the onsite attractions. This is poor customer service and meant we spent time trying to find out what we could and couldn’t do and on the first day at Aquaadventure we ended up paying for a locker.

At Dolphin Bay it would have been good to have more interaction with the Dolphin in terms of foot pushes and being pulled along holding on to the dorsal fins. The experience is good but those more special activities are quite short. There was a long tutorial including a quiz and this aspect seemed quite drawn out taking the focus away from the actual dolphin interaction.

Room amenities: “high speed internet” which they class as “complimentary”, which doesn’t mean free, it means they make it available…at a charge of 99AED per day! Unreasonable.

There is so little to explain what is “complimentary” and what is free in the facilities and what you will be charged for. Once you know then you can make the most of what you have available, but this information needs to be related clearly to residents from the outset.

Don't pay an extortionate price for a bottle of water in the shop, it’s given free in the rooms and replenished a couple of times a day or just ask one of the helpful housekeepers.
Related to my other points about not making facilities for residents clear. If I knew I could go to the concierge or call guest services and ask for 4 bottles of plain Atlantis water and not be charged a room service fee and a fee for the water then I would do it. But this was not apparent whether I could or not. "Complimentary bottled water daily" is listed as an amenity of an Atlantis room, but then so is high speed internet and we were charged for that.

Our bill on leaving was incorrect and no apology was offered. Not only had several other people’s expenses gone on our final bill, but one charge was on there for the day before we even arrived in the country. This held us up leaving and caused an inconvenient dispute.

Noise from Nasimi Beach bar: we were pleased that we were in the East Tower away from the Nasimi Beach bar as it was extremely noisy, if we had been in the West Tower the noisy music into early hours would have been disturbing.

Overall we'd get more out of staying there a second time, however I find it unlikely we would return.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2010

we stayed in this hotel trying to get some relaxing time and enjoyment. This did not happen at all.
We took the imperial club package. please don't, it is a total rip off.
When we came in they offered to upgrade us. when we said ok, they than wanted to charge us the difference between a suite and our room.
In the room we could hear the children next door. we changed rooms. same thing.
We found fungus in the bathroom. terrible.
When we confronted the manager, he said this was a onetime thing. I asked for cleaning manuals who weren't there. children in rooms next door was also an incident.
Manager sent red wine and dates to compensate. Both we didn't need of like.
Everything outside the roomcharge is unbelievably expensive. about 4 times the price you would pay in Belgium or Nederland. Even for tennisrackets they charge money. 1 hour massage is about 200 euro. you even pay extra when you want a joined room with your wife.
They put things on our bill that were supposed to be inclusive. It took about 1 hour to check out because they overcharged us so many different things.
They arranged a bellboy for our luggage but he never showed.

We stayed in many 5 star hotels and this was by far the worst of them. For this money you better stay at Burj al arab or other hotels in Dubai. It is not worth 3 stars.
They have no clue about client focus or hospitality.
And the hygiene problem they have is completely unprofessional. see pictures !!

Don't go there!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank haraldlotus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2010

I visited Dubai for a week in October, and stayed at The Atlantis for 2 nights. It cost around £300 per night for a Deluxe room. The hotel was generally quiet, with not too many children. The service was excellent. Check in and check out was quick and efficient, and all the staff were very courteous. The hotel was very clean and luxurious – as you walk around the hotel the scented candles and lighting make for a very nice atmosphere. My flight leaving Dubai was very late at night so the hotel hospitality lounge was very useful to store hand luggage and to shower and get changed after a day by the pool. I enjoyed a day at the Water park, and ate twice at the Kaleidoscope buffet restaurant for dinner. I recommend buying The Entertainer coupon book as there are 2 for 1 offers for this restaurant – especially useful as a buffet costs £40 per person. A pot of tea served by the pool was £5, and a cocktail in the nightclub was £11 – so be warned that it is quite expensive to stay here. Not everything is expensive in Dubai though - a 30 minute taxi ride from the hotel to the airport was only about £12, and we also used the free shuttle to the Dubai mall. I stayed at the Arabian Courtyard for 5 nights prior to staying here which was also excellent and a better place to be situated for exploring Dubai – but for relaxing on the beach and luxurious surroundings I recommend The Atlantis.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goldcardluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2010

We stayed here just prior to Christmas and we had a fantastic time. Having read previous reviews, I was concerned as to what the Atlantis would be like. However, if you are a family with children and are not on a tight budget then you will love it! The Hotel is enormous but very impressive.

On arrival at the hotel we were offered an upgrade to the Imperial club at a charge which we accepted. The facilities at the club were great, Breakfast, afternoon tea and drinks and canapes in the evening. The staff in the club were very friendly and went out of their way to get you what you want. We did get delayed by two nights coming home due to the snow and Anastacia at the Imperial Club was fantastic helping us to sort it all out.

We ate at Kaleidescope, Saffron, Leventine, and Ronda Locatelli and found that Saffron was our favourite. There is a huge variety of food at Saffron all lovely and even catered for fussier eaters serving pizza's, roast dinners, and dessert heaven for children. Meals in all the restaurants were on average £40 per person. You could probably eat out more cheaply at one of the malls or in the creek but by the time you've factored in the cost of the taxi it probably ends up being a similar price. You could however use the free bus to the malls.

We did use the kids club a couple of times for a very short period, my six year old boy quite enjoyed it but my 10 year old daughter did not and was the oldest one there! It is handy if you need to unpack or pack and the kids don't want to sit around waiting.

During our stay we visited aqua adventure which is a great day out. It is free for guests and towels are provided at the park. It is spotlessly clean and plenty of lifeguards. There is a great children's playarea and quieter swimming areas for smaller children, slides for the more adventurous and lazy river and rapids.

We also visited Mall of the Emirates and Dubai Mall which were both amazing. There are many shops and a gold souk in the Dubai Mall. The free bus is a great way to get to both of these but does take twice the time a taxi would as it stops at other hotels. I wouldn't recommend the Dubai Outlet Mall as it took 45 minutes to get there and we had to wait 4 hours for the bus back which was too long for shopping there. Also we thought the items were not discounted enough and alot of the things looked as if they had been there along time.

We also went to the Gold Souk in Deira which is full of atmosphere and worth a visit, the spice souk is also within walking distance. We did try to find somewhere to eat in the creek but with 2 young children in the evening it was not easy. I would suggest getting a recommendation of somewhere to eat and also a firm descrtiption of it's location. We ended up getting a taxi to the Park Hyatt Hotel and eating in the French Restaurant there, which I have to say was outstanding but as a hotel was very quiet and not really a place I would want to stay with my children probably perfect for those honeymooners who didn't like the busy Atlantis.

We visited the "Burj Khalifa" which is extremely impressive. I would suggest you book at the reception for your visit. You can combine that with shopping at the Dubai Mall as they are located in the same area and also remember to stay to watch the fountains at 6. They are really spectacular!

We did not get a chance to see the Burj al arab and if any of you want to, you will need to make a reservation for afternoon tea as you will not be allowed in otherwise.

We had an evening at the textile souk at Karama which was great fun. They have completely caught on to the fact that Primark and Asda are cheap in the UK and are willing to have fun bartering over the price with you! Don't be surprised to find a kind of 1970's style shopping area when you get there not a traditional Market!!!!

We also did the desert safari with "Arabian Adventures" and I think that was our favourite day. We had a guide called Babillon who made the tour!!! We did the dune 4x4 which was fun possibly a bit tamer than expected, camel rides and then dinner at a bedouin tent which was fantastic. Whilst you are there they have belly dancing, hubbly bubbly, henna tatoos and some really nice authentic food.

The one thing I was concerned about before going was what to wear. In the Atlantis it is definately as they say "resort casual" even in the evenings. They do like you to cover up when coming in from the pool and not in a see-through sarong. When you go out and about nobody comments if you wear strappy tops and shorts but I prefered to keep shoulders and knees covered, which is requested on signage as you enter the malls.

One last thing to consider if you are a family 2 adults with 4 children you may find it more difficult to get a 6 seater taxi. They are about but not so many of them and so you may need to either wait or take 2 cabs.

All in all a fantastic holiday, wish we were still there!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MrsDopey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
Burj Al Arab Jumeirah
#30 of 549 in Dubai
4,240 reviews
Jumeirah Zabeel Saray
#52 of 549 in Dubai
5,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Marina
Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantis, The Palm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantis, The Palm

Property: Atlantis, The Palm
Address: Crescent Road | The Palm, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Dubai
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Dubai
#42 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#43 Family Hotel in Dubai
#65 Spa Hotel in Dubai
#95 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Atlantis, The Palm 5*
Number of rooms: 1539
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atlantis is the majestic resort in Dubai situated on The Palm, a man-made island that has captured the world’s imagination with its magnificent scale and ingenuity. From the moment you arrive, you will be immersed in a dazzling world of imagination, pleasure and 5 star luxury. The resort offers relaxation and thrills for couples and families alike, including a landmark hotel, unique marine habitats, an exhilarating water park, pristine white beaches, world-class cuisine, indulgent spa and cosmopolitan boutiques. To stay or visit is to live out your dreams amidst warm Arabian seas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Atlantis, The Palm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantis The Palm Dubai
Atlantis The Palm Hotel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing