We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Free Compensation stay for years disastrous sof opening - improved but still not all that.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Atlantis, The Palm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Atlantis, The Palm
Ranked #91 of 544 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
200 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Free Compensation stay for years disastrous sof opening - improved but still not all that.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2009

I stayed at the Atlantis last year at the begining of their soft opening, it was a disaster and they gave 2 free nts whilst we were there but on arriving home I complained further about all the problems and requested further compensation and received another night - and was told this would be like for like.

I went back on the 8th/12th but before we had even reached got to our departure date, The Atlantis contacted our travel agent 2 wks before our arrival and retracted the bed & breakfast agreement and informed us it' was room only - giving some feeble excuse, we both myself and the travel agents thought this was an extremely poor thing to do and their excuse was so pathetic I won't bore you with it. This was suppose to be compensation to make up for the terrible experience that we paid for first time round, so we weren't off to a good start.

However, things did improve, as when we arrived our room was ready and we arrived early and it wasn't mahem in the reception area like it was the year before. The room was the same as last time but now showing signs of wear and tear, marked walls and curtains, 3 of light bulbs didn't work in the room - this should have been checked before each guest checks into the room but otherwise much the same - the rooms are spacious and the twin queen beds are big and comfy. Luggage was still a bit slow in arriving in to the room.

As our breakfast was rudely taken away from us, we refused to have breakfast in the hotel and there is no-where to go outside as this hotel is quite from the city or any shops etc, so we took our own breakfasts with us, which in fact was vast improvement from queing for breakfast - which we still witnessed whilst we were there. It was a lot quieter more civilised and relaxing having our breakfast in our room and a hell alot cheaper than paying £24 for breakfast - and it's not a great experience, the servive leaves a lot to be desired. However, we did eat lunch at the Edge pool bar a couple of times and I have to say the staff were lovely and very helpful, food was good and plentiful, so would recommend this option.

Whilst cooling down in the Royal pool, which does have the most greatest part of the pool which is only inches deep, which you can lay in to cool down whilst still sunning yourself and it has a ledge going all the way round, put a pool towel as a pillow on this ledge and your in heaven!! Perfect spot!! I got chatting to fellow guests and didn't hear very good things about the buffet dinner restaurant and another restaurant they had tried, said the service was terrible and didn't enjoy their experiences, so we never ate at the hotel in the evening, we went out instead which was cheaper and much more fun and you get to see more of Dubai.

We did receive a little bit of pampering round the pool this time - this included 2 ice lollies but we had to run after the guy for one of them and one cold face cloth and that was it in 3 days - at the Mina A' Salam (we went there after The Atlantis) you got ice lollies, orange slices, cucumber slices and cold face cloths in one day, ever day!! They didn't miss one person out as they go around the pool delivering these welcomed treats. Whereas The Atlantis is very hit and miss if you receive any such treats.

House keeping still not up to scratch, didn't always clean everything, also had some weird turn down service (when they remembered to do it!!) it looked like they started to do the turn down but didn't get to finish it - maybe that was the case!! if not, very strange!!.

I did get to go to The Atlantis waterpark twice and enjoyed my time in there, unfortunately two of the water rides were being serviced so couldn't go on them, which was a shame as there isn't that many attractions to go on so having two out at the same time wasn't good. The lazy river is great as you can access one of the water rides via it, plus you have different options/routes to take as you go round, one has rapids, another one has waves and the last one takes you to the water ride. It wasn't too busy in the park which was great and there are plenty of quiet places to chill out and sunbath within the park. So it was a good day and I had a lot of fun, did the Leap of faith twice - OMG!!! I was shaking afterwards but still did it again!! Plus the staff are very friendly and fun in the waterpark, helped make the day so good!!

The hotel service had much improved since last year but I still would not go back to this hotel as there are far better hotels to stay in which offer a completely different Dubai pampering experience - if you want to have that pampering experience don't stay at The Atlantis - it's spectular to look at but fails to deliver that satisfying feeling of a perfect stay which the Mina A' Salam most certainly did - would recommend you go there instead..

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fun loving Sun Seeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15,693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10,318
    3,149
    1,262
    495
    469
See reviews for
8,119
4,254
195
589
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,575)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Uk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2009

Having read many reviews before our holiday, I was a bit cautious before we arrived - especially as we had stayed at the Jumeirah Beach same time last year, but there was no need. We had an amazing holiday.
Booking - we booked with destinology who were really helpful and far cheaper than other travel agents, good tranfers both ways.
Travel - flew with Emirates - couldn't fault them - easy online check in, offered extra leg room, pleasant journey.
On arrival at hotel - this hotel is enormous, and reception was busy but organised, and despite arriving hours before checkin time, we were given a free upgrade (as most people were) to atlantis room and were in the room within 90 minutes of the plane landing.
Staff - all extremely pleasant and helpful - always went out of their way to help. Lots of security who often asked to check if we were residents at the hotel - which i didnt mind as i would rather that, than having 100's of strangers wandering pass my room. once they became famliar with us, they stopped asking.
Room - large - had 2 very comfortable king size beds, spotlessly clean. Was a smokers room but didnt smell (we dont smoke). Excellent rooms service - at least twice a day. had fresh fruit in room, and 2 bottles of water - but whenever we asked for more, they were happy to provide as much as we wanted - we then took a couple of bottles to the pool/beach and asked for glasses of ice during the day to keep cost down. As it was our anniversary, the hotel provided a beautiful chocolate treasure chest which lasted all week! the only concern we had with our room, is one night a child next door was very loud, messing about, singing/shouting/crying. We reported it to guest services who were very apologetic and sent security up to the room which seemed to do the trick. I think this was a one off as the rrom was occupied by other people who we never heard, and to be fair, It wasnt a fault of the hotel as it could have happened anywhere. Atlantis did everything they could and offered us an alternative room.
Beach/Pool - spotlessly clean. Lots of lifeguards around. some people were stung by jellyfish, but were treated very quickly by staff. Several signs around indicating there were jellyfish, so use the beach at your own risk! We didnt have any problems. Staff regularly around to bring food/drink. yes its pricey - but if you pay for a 5* hotel, expect to pay 5* hotel prices - not sure why there are so many complaints about this. tips/service charge is usually inclusive of the price, so no need to give tips unless you feel the need to/had superior service.
Restaurants - we stayed half board - which allowed us to eat in 5 of the restaurants - saffron and kaleidoscope are buffet - only tried saffron as there was so much to eat here, and shorter queues. at saffron, we didnt queue for any longer than 5 minutes - for breakfast or dinner despite visiting at busy times - again, not sure what all the complaints are about this - i have waited longer to be seated in a uk restaurant despite making reservations than i did there. Perhaps queues are longer at peak times of the year? We also ate at Rostang (french) - lovely, but more formal than anywhere else. Ther best steak i have ever had was at Seafire - fantastic - If you like steak, dont miss out on this!
On arrival we were given a booklet about the resort whcih had info on happy hours - well worth a visit, cause it brings the cost of drinks well below that you would pay in the uk.
Activities - Waterpark - great fun, well staffed, wasnt too busy so didnt have to wait more than 5 minutes for any ride. Not sure i would pay to go there had i not had free entry as a hotel guest. Dolphin bay - they do an informational talk everyday at 12.15 which is worth a visit if you want to see the dolphins without having to get up close and personal! (and ther's a starbucks there!) Lost Chambers - again, as a hotle guest, this is a lovely experience and useful for walking off our massive meals, but wouldn't necessarily pay to visit.
Spa - i have visited many spas in the uk, but never have i been in such luxury as there! it is stunning. They had a special offer on massage - 60mins for about £70, but this also allowed you to stay as long as you like in the beautiful sauna/jacuzzi and steam room area. Fantastic massage - well worth a visit if you like spa's!
Overall - we work hard and save hard for our holidays (and generally aren't accustomed to staying in many 5* hotels) and the extra's we paid for. we knew it was going to be expesive there and allowed for that in our budget. I feel we paid a good price for the week we were there. As it was after the school holidays and Ramadam, it was a lot quieter than perhaps it might be during peak times, which was great - However i wouldnt want to stay there during peak times of the year as i feel it would lose some of its 'luxury' or 5* feel. I am now saving hard to return same time next year!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MrsB01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2009

having read a few reviews, I was a little worried. However it seems to me that alot of the problems were teething ones that are now resolved. I expect this hotel will shoot up the rankings. From pre honeymoon to a month later it has gone up 20 places.

We stayed for three nights as part of a twin centre honeymoon to the maldives.

Flight: Emirates overnight good service only 6 hours in the air. Arrived Dubai early morning. Transfer time to the airport about 45 minutes and upon arrival at the hotel they checked us straight into a room. We booked a deluxe room and were upgraded 1 level to a room on the eighth floor. Decent size room. Everything you would expect. Breakfast included in our package which we had in the Saffron restaurant. Enormous selection. Eat as much as you can as it gets expensive when you have to pay!!!

At lunch we ate at the poolside bar. Soft drinks/beers are all around £5. A burger and chips £11 which to be fair the burger was so good it was worth the money. A steak sandwich £20 ridiculously overpriced. Spagetti about £10.

We tried both the Seafire steakhouse and Saffron asian buffet in the evening. Could recommend both. Will cost you around £120 for two including a couple of drinks and 3 courses at Seafire. Around £100 for the buffet and drinks at Saffron. In my view overpriced by about 20% but the food is excellent.

We went to Mall of the Emirates. The hotel provides a free one way shuttle every couple of hours. This takes about an hour. We decided to get a cab and were there in 20 minutes for about £5. Enormous shopping mall with just about every brand you have ever heard of.

Taxis are the best was around dubai. Instead of taking a tour I asked a cab driver how much it would cost take us to go and see the Burj tower and Burj al Arab and back to the Atlantis. Total price £15 for about an hours driving.

The hotel is huge. To give you some idea how huge they run a shuttle buggy from one wing to the other! The interior lobby, walkways and view of the aquarium are all impressive and of course air conditioned! Yes it is scorching hot outside but you soon acclimatise and slow down.

Overall experience of the Atlantis and Dubai. Ideal for a 3-5 night stay. Guaranteed good weather and first class facilites.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davestravels123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2009

We have visited Dubai on many occasions and have previously stayed in the Madinat Jumeirah complex (Dar al Masyaf, Mina a Salam and Al Qasr). We decided to stay in the Atlantis as we have two young children (2 1/2 and 1 1/2) and thought that it would be nice to have a change.
How wrong we were! We were extremely disappointed with the whole "childrens' set up". There is not a specific kids pool, albeit the "family pool" slopes gradually like a beach. There is no shade whatsoever over the pool at all. The only shade outside the pool comes from a small canopy fixed on every sunbed. However, this barely covers your body when lying on it, so how on earth can you expect kids to just sit under it without moving???
We had to hire a cabana, which I feel is a complete insult. This is supposed to be a five star hotel, not a two star in Spain (no offence to budget Spain but you know what I mean) and simple amenities like shade should be standard.
Coupled to that, my wife noticed that there was a poo in the pool and she reported it to the staff. Nothing was done for at least fifteen minutes before we left.
Aquaventure was also the same and, although you get free entry into the park, you then have to pay for towels and lockers and again no shade!
The high chairs in the restaurants were mostly all broken (straps missing) and dirty. There did not seem to be any childrens menus nor childrens cutlery and crockery. No kids packs (crayons etc).
The kids club was only open to four year olds and above and no parents were allowed in it! I can understand not being able to leave a young child but to not be allowed to take in our kids and use the facilities and look after them ourselves is ridiculous.
The beds were incredibly uncomfortable and my wife and I had backache every morning.
Finally, the hotel food and beverages were extremely expensive. I appreciate that it is not going to be cheap but I am comparing this to the Jumeirah hotels mentioned above.
The only positive points were the staff were generally welcoming and attentive (although you expect this in Dubai anyway), the hotel was clean and smart, the food in the buffet restaurants was excellent, the rooms were nice (except the bed!).
To summarise, I will not be going back and will return to the Jumeirah hotels above, which I cannot recommend enough.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dgholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2009

"welcome to the holiday of your life" is what the porter who open the taxi door as we arrived at the atlantis said..and thats excatly how it was....i took my teenage son and his friend for his birthday and it was amazing!......we travelled around dubai staying in different areas but once we left the atlantis we felt depressed and just wanted to go back!the waterpark kept the boys entertained as i laid back and read my book on the quiet private beach...the rooms were spacious and luxurious except the bed which was a bit hard...we paid half board and i have never tasted such a variety of food that tasted so so good!i dont normally eat much but i often had thirds and five puddings!im so slim but would leave the resturant looking pregnant lol...the pool was open til 10pm which meant i could have a swim when the boys were at rush club which also was included...i have travelled around the world and would never normally return to the same place as there is so many places in the world to go but i will be returning in october as i loved it so much

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ellaBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes,
Level Contributor
62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2009

We stayed here after 10 nights in the maldives for 4 nights to finish off our honeymoon. Well...this is one big hotel. A resort all of its own which in my opinion is what you need in Dubai. Everywhere else you really need a car to visit anywhere if brave enough to venture into the heat or if you want something to do. We got upgraded at reception to an Atlantis room from the basic deluxe room but it was on the smoking floor...got the odd waft off smoke but not as bad as I expected. The room was lovely and overlooked the Royal Pool. The staff throughout the hotel were all lovely and friendly. We went during Ramadan so you are not to drink or eat in public during during sunrise to sundown. This was fine at Atlantis as the cafes and restaurants were still serving food and drink but no alcohol til 7.30. The restaurants are very pricey especially Ossiano but the food is fantastic and the service exceptional and highly attentive. The meal incidentally in Ossiano was amazing with a stunning view with a table by the aquarium window. We also ate in Seafire, Rostang and Nasimi which were all great. Seafire also had happy hour BOGOF on cocktails between 7.30 and 9.30 which is great given they were over £10 each. The aquaadventure is great fun - we did 2 afternoons there and the rapids that circle the whole park are great to just sit back and cool off. This is free to guests. We also did the dolphin deep water experience (my morals set aside briefly) which was lovely. Again the staff at both attractions are very friendly.
If you are in Dubai the Atlantis is great because it has so much "under one roof". There are shops much like the Las Vegas casinos (Tiffany etc) and a great ice cream parlour!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claypole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesbourne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2009

This was our second visit to Atlantis after a disaster last year.
I can only say the Hotel has certainly improved 100%.
There are twice as many staff as before and all most professional.
The service has improved a lot and staff are freindly and want to help you.
The Marble Slab ice cream shop again excellent with good service and great ice cream.
Restaurants in Atlantis are still very expensive although there are special deals in some, so they are obviously feeling the pinch.
We went to Saffron on one of the nights which is a buffet reataurant. If you like desserts you will be in heaven with the largest chocolate fountain I have ever seen.
The monorail is now working which will take you off the Palm to the main land but at around £5.00 each quite expensive.
It would still be cheaper to go by Taxi which are all readiliy available.
We had a really nice realxing week

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidandClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
4.3 mi away
Burj Al Arab Jumeirah
Burj Al Arab Jumeirah
#22 of 544 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,975 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sofitel Dubai The Palm Resort & Spa
2.1 mi away
Fairmont The Palm, Dubai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Jumeirah Zabeel Saray
Jumeirah Zabeel Saray
#44 of 544 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,788 reviews
2.2 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Dubai Palm Jumeirah
14.4 mi away
Raffles Dubai
Raffles Dubai
#2 of 544 in Dubai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantis, The Palm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantis, The Palm

Property: Atlantis, The Palm
Address: Crescent Road | The Palm Island, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Dubai
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Dubai
#42 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#43 Family Hotel in Dubai
#59 Spa Hotel in Dubai
#86 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Atlantis, The Palm 5*
Number of rooms: 1539
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atlantis is the majestic resort in Dubai situated on The Palm, a man-made island that has captured the world’s imagination with its magnificent scale and ingenuity.From the moment you arrive, you will be immersed in a dazzling world of imagination, pleasure and 5 star luxury. The resort offers relaxation and thrills for couples and families alike, including a landmark hotel, unique marine habitats, an exhilarating water park, pristine white beaches, world-class cuisine, indulgent spa and cosmopolitan boutiques. To stay or visit is to live out your dreams amidst warm Arabian seas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Atlantis, The Palm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantis The Palm Dubai
Atlantis The Palm Hotel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing