We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb fo families”
Review of Atlantis, The Palm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Atlantis, The Palm
Ranked #105 of 549 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb fo families”
Reviewed July 4, 2009

Just returned from a short break at Atlantis, having previously stayed 3 nights at the Mina a salam, and 2 nights at the burj al arab 4 years ago. Asked for room upgrade cheekily, and was personally escorted to a 12 th floor large room, with views of the palm.Room was typically up to standard,large bathroom with good quality shampoos, gels etc. Every member of staff said hello when passing, even had the lift button pressed for us. The overall standard and finish of atlantis was very high,giving the right impression youve spent your money well. The restaurants were very expensive, and we dined wherever we ended our day,which was much cheaper.The aqua park was superb,and spent several hours each day being silly. The lost chambers was also very good.As guests get free access to both it makes for a great value destination. Breakfast was also superbly varied,kept us going all day,but can be a que to get in.If its an upmarket hotel with ambience to suit then may be stay elsewhere, but for families i dont think theres much to beat it with only a 7 hour flight. Limo from airport £25, taxi to airport £12. Driving time barely half an hour.When dubai is finished goodbye florida. Ps you must try the skiing .

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Boomer001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16,756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10,996
    3,350
    1,353
    544
    513
See reviews for
8,716
4,527
209
614
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,733)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Caerphilly County, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2009

after reading previous reviews about prices i was a bit worried but even though prices were high they were not as bad as i was expecting. Breakfast was wonderful there was 2 restaurants to have breakfast both on either side of the hotel i found the saffron one the best. the hotel was lovely and the staff very helpful and friendly nothing was too much trouble for them. the bed in my room was the most comfortable bed i have ever slept in and everything in dubai was immaculate and clean.

the heat was unbearable and i was not able to sunbath on my lounger to sunbath i had to sit in the pool constantly, the hoods on the loungers were a god send and you also had to put towels on top of the hoods to block out the sun. the water park was slightly cheaper than the hotel for drinks a coke in there was 12 dirhams and 17 in the hotel. a kids meal in the water park was 35 dirhams the water park was nice but due to the heat it was too much effort to walk around and go on the slides.

the lost chambers was a load of rubbish and i would not have been happy if i had to pay to go in there luckily as residents it was free. we took a taxi every night into the mall or marina as it was cheaper to eat out down there. the marina was very nice but also quiet found a lovely indian restaurant which was very reasonable in price. the mall of the emirates was massive and had a ski slope in there which is well worth a visit. the dubai mall had an ice rink in but was a lot further away than the emirates mall. taxis were quite reasonable from the hotel to the mall we worked it out depending on traffic as they run on meters they were costing anything from 25-30 dirhams which is around 4-5 pound.

do not book any trips from the hotel were going to book a dessert safari from there brochure on the concirege but after a trip to the mall we found a tour operator there that did the same safari for half the price. the safari was good however i did not enjoy the sand dunning it was too hot and made me feel sick but the campsite and the food was very nice well worth doing and we went with fun tours situated in the mall of the emirates.

water is left for you everyday but they only left 1 but if you want more just ask the room boys and they will give you more. dubai was nothing like i expected it to be it was a cross between new york with american malls. i enjoyed the holiday and the hotel was lovely but i would not be in a hurry to go back to dubai unless the price was cheap.

on check out they also tried charging me for a bottle of whisky they said was taken from the mini bar but no one had taken it as i dont drink and my partner cant stand whisky so the only thing we could think of was the room boys. they did take the charge off but be careful.

towels are provided at the hotel and water park. also they do come around the pool handing out lollies free of charge every day.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tanian0tt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
1 review
Reviewed July 2, 2009

Fantastic hotel you can feel much comfortable and you can amuse the highly service of the spa and the good taste of food and high service at the restaurants with its high variety and quality the aqua fun wa amazing ,reception staff was helpful ,room was very clean and my vacation was really unbeliveable fantastic

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hokytoky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2009

Very large hotel complex with good entertainment facilities. Good for two days but certainly not for longer stay.

No large twin beds in the suite but just a rather small mini-queensize-bed. Why don’t you offer two queen beds? One mattress is good for part-time enjoyment. Not all your clients like to sleep on the same mattress full-time.

Suite in the East tower was very noisy because of the air conditioning system close by. We realised it only after we were already settled there and did not want to lose time when moving to another suite.

Food was really outstanding in Ossiano and Nobu. The Asian breakfast choices at Saffron were excellent. Food at Nasimi was deficient – just “beach food”.

Pools are good for kids. Not good for swimming.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elvirus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2009

We got back from Dubai last Saturday (27th June 09) after spending an amazing week in the Atlantis hotel.

I've seen this place has again taken a bit of a hammering so I had to respond. Yes the place is expensive but people know what they are getting themselves into when they book their holidays here. We paid circa £15 in one of the restuarants for a pint of draught lager (I didn't know the price before I ordered it but I put that down to experience and wouldn't do it again).

We had upgraded to the Imperial club which was circa £60 per person per day but when you consider the price of food and drink around the poolside (£4 for a litre of water, £18 for burger and chips etc) and the cost of alcohol around the pool, by the end of the day it paid for itself. The upgrade means you can access free soft drinks and snacks all day (and by snacks I mean good food, fresh fruit and some sweet sticky toffee puds!!) and it included 2 hours per day of free alcohol (6 - 8pm) so you don't need to drink a lot to enjoy the value.

Breakfast in the hotel ranged from Chinese to Indian, Japanese to Italian to good ol fashioned bacon (beef bacon - thats what it said on the plate...) and eggs as well as the usual fruit and cereals etc.

The rooms were clean and tidy, the staff were always friendly and would try their best to make your stay a relaxing one, we don't have a single complaint or problem about the hotel, the food or the staff.

There were plenty of offers available in the restuarants if you did a little research (by which I mean having a quick read of the hotel brochure when you arrive). We ate in the NOBU restuarant for £25 per head for a 3 course meal and it was fantastic, the best fish I'd ever eaten! We also ate in Seafire (the best meal we had in the hotel all week in my opinion) which was VERY expensive (£180 for 4 of us, and that was only a main meal each, no starters or desert and we didn't have alcohol!!) but absolutely amazing! One of the other restuarants had a similar 2 course meal for £25 per head which again shows that you can get better value if you have a look around. There is a fantastic ice cream shop around the corner from Seafire which is definately worth a visit too.

The waterpark was a great way of killing a few hours each day, relaxing as the sun beams down from above. The 'Leap of Faith' was certainly a good way to wake yourself up!

The poolside and the beach were so relaxing, very quiet and peaceful you could just relax in the sun in peace ( for about 15 minutes then you need to cool off in the pool!).

We swam with the dolphins which was an amazing experience and we also did the dune safari (don't book this through the hotel, there are flyers about the place, ring directly yourself as the hotel will hammer you with a booking fee!).

If you get chance to visit the Burj Al Arab we would recommend the culinary flight experience, you eat in all of the Burg's restuarants which is an experience we will never forget.

In terms of money we got a slightly better exchange rate paying for things by credit card and the exchange rate for cash over there was slightly better too (not massively but every little helps!!)

The biggest tip we can give is, take flip flops!!! You could constantly see people running and muttering under their breathe as the ground gets that hot, you can't walk, YOU RUN!! We even saw a couple who had shared a flip flop each and were hopping the ground was that hot, very funny to watch!

There were a few comments regarding the amount of building works which are ongoing at the moment and yes there are a lot, only one building is visible from the hotel beach and it is in the distance. For me if you are concentrating on that and complaining that it is a building site you are simply concentrating on the wrong things, just turn your head and enjoy staring into the blue sky instead!!

We were gutted to be back on Sat pm, we loved every second of our week there and would go back tomorrow - AMAZING!!!

Have a great holiday people!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neonwheelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, England
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2009

Atlantis Dubai – Family holiday for five!
Positives
‘Wow’ aquarium in Lobby which we were on awe of for first few days. Kids named some of the more distinctive sharks and fish.
Further smaller aquariums and ‘touch’ pools in Lost Chambers – free to guests and good free half an hour’s entertainment for kids and adults.
Buffet restaurants are great for kids and good choice. Very American style and you can have pizza, chocolate fountain and Haribos for breakfast if you want (kids need supervision to ensure they eat something other than pizza and sugar!) also cooked breakfast, cereal, fabulous array of fresh fruit, even Thai green curry!! Danish pastries were also delicious. Evening meals mainly consisted of a Chinese section, Indian Section and an English Section. Evening meals weren’t so great for kids and food was a little to unusual for two of our kids. Only occasionally were steamed ‘normal’ carrot, broccilli and cauliflower type vegetables available and rarely any type of potatoes or pasta. Plenty of different meat and fish dishes though. Juices free for breakfast.
Rooms are a good size and adjoining available on request. Bathrooms also nice quality. Cleaned daily. Comments have been posted about thin walls but we heard no noise from adjoining rooms at all but you could hear corridor noise through the doors. Overall we were impressed with the room. Free bottle of 1.5 litres of water in each room each day.
Taxi’s readily available and as always in Dubai they are cheap. Transfer from airport - £15 to hotel and £11 from hotel back to airport (not sure why one was cheaper?!). Journey approx half an hour.
Staff very friendly and amenable. We have previously been very very spoilt at the One and Only Royal Mirage in Dubai and I must say we kept comparing it to the Royal Mirage. The service at the Atlantis was good but not the extra special ‘good’ we get at the Royal Mirage. There were also a few staff who really struggled with English doing things like taking orders which just made it very hard to place a simple drinks order sometime. We did order a bottle of Rose one evening which was like vinegar. They did swap it for a different one free of charge which was impressive! On the whole it was very good we have just been very very spoilt in the past with the One and Only. Probably unfair to compare the two but we did. Aquaventure staff were exceptional and incredible. Hotel staff not as good.
Aquaventure – Great kids pool. My nine year old isn’t confident with water slides but by the end of the holiday he had gone on every slide except the Leap of Faith!! All the pool areas were shallow enough that they could touch the bottom at all times except during a wave in the torrents. Numerous lifeguards everywhere always with a ready smile, a “how you doing?”, “where are you from?” and a splash of water as you passed by to make everyone giggle. By the end of day two my nine year old had gone down the rapids relentlessly and several lifeguards them remembered his name for the entire holiday. They were fantastic. No problem getting sunbeds except on Dubai’s weekend (Friday and Saturday). Thursday night had entertainment and the pool was open until late which the kids loved. Nice not to worry about slapping on suncream as it was dark! Lifeguard told the kids that Frank Lampard had visited earlier in the week. Not sure if he was telling stories to entertain the kids but it shows they really want to keep kids happy and excited.
Lazy river and rapids give you access to most of the park to save the soles of your feet from being burnt.
During the Thursday night Aquaventure entertainment you get chance to feed the rays and visit the Dolphin Park. It was something mad like £400-£500 for the five of us to swim with the Dolphins (you could do this near the creek for approx £200 for five . . . we didn’t do either). The dolphin park put on a display during the entertainment but it was basically an advert to get bookings for their “deep water experience” and “shallow water experience”. Reasonably entertaining but don’t get too excited.
Had the feel of a Vegas type hotel. Comments were posted on here that it was too busy in the lobby areas. It wasn’t as busy as Vegas hotels. Yes there were a lot of people around at times but you weren’t fighting through the crowds and it wasn’t too bad Sunday – Thursday (Dubai’s weekdays). You could always get to the front of an aquarium wall easily.
Palace Pool – Busy, vibrant and bustling. Not our scene but others may love the noisy music and crowds.
Zero Entry Pool – Fabulous, calm, free ice lollies for kids, free ‘spritz’ where they spray you all over with cool water whilst you sunbathe. Quiet and more intimate area which is also perfect for small children as the water level starts at toe deep and works up to waist high on an adult. Wish we had discovered this before the last day. Hubby wished he had discovered it on Tuesday as John Terry had been sunbathing around it.
Nasimi an absolute must for an evening drink. Try and go before 9pm if you have kids so they can enjoy the beach and its lighting. Failing that you can sit near the Zero Entry Pool with kids after 9pm. Really nice atmosphere and has to be done at least once.
Negatives
Milkshakes £6 each. Coke and 7Up around £3 each. Bottle of wine £24. Fruit juice included in breakfast cost but additional for evening meal.
Only two buffet restaurants. No allowance towards eating in other restaurants inside the hotel. It’s either buffet or pay 100% to eat elsewhere inside or outside the hotel.
Half board wasn’t something the Atlantis system supported. If you check your online bill on the TV in your room you’ll find “??? AED £280” or similar and it will be your meals which should be included. They will deduct these when you query them but in a 5*hotel or this calibre you shouldn’t have to mess around sorting this out. Especially as they kept charging my 11 year old as an adult rather than asking her age (the room was booked to 2 adults and 3 kids but we still had to argue the 3 adults 2 kids charges at Reception to get it credited). Poor and sloppy in terms of customer service in this area. The staff know it’s an issue but it still takes some time to sort.
Silly things – tea and coffee making facilities in room don’t get topped up for your entire stay. They give you ample tea bags at breakfast so make sure you pocket a few. You shouldn’t have to though! Likewise, fruit bowl never topped up. Not great for this level of hotel to skim on fruit, tea bags, sugar bags and coffee sachets!
Hotel magazine put through your door on Saturday which is fabulous and informative. Only trouble is we arrived on Sunday and only got one the day before we went. Why aren’t these left in all newly occupied rooms or handed out at Reception on check in? We learnt so much from this but too late. There is happy hour in some bars. Watch the moving photos in the lobby to see adverts showing which bars and times these apply to (2 for 1 but only applies to alcohol drinks so kids still pay full price).
There was a language barrier with some staff which made simple tasks very difficult and time consuming. Not their fault but you couldn’t help but wonder how they had been employed to deal with the public. These staff were often from places like India so they would have really struggled with Arabic and Japanese tourists as well as some heavily accented UK tourists.
Entertainment – only on a Thursday night (and I think that was for a limited period). The majority of the bars close at 9pm. The remaining ones restrict where children can sit (Nasimi won’t allow under 21’s on the fab beach area). Our kids (aged 9, 11 and 11) were sat really quietly, just enjoying having a conversation and we were asked to move at 9pm and chased at 9.10pm to get us off the beach. Such a shame. If they had been running rings around the beach I could have understood it but I guess they can’t have one rule for one family and another for the next. Kids felt distinctly put out by this which is a real shame in a family focussed hotel.
Noise – cleaners hoovering outside bedroom doors at 9am in the morning when ‘do not disturb’ displayed on both our rooms. Noise travelled from corridor into room but they aren’t busy corridors so didn’t cause much of an issue.
Aquaventure – BUY SHOES YOU CAN KEEP ON IN POOL AND ON WATER SLIDES. The floors around the swimming pools get incredibly hot and unless you are prepared to travel the 2km on the rapids you’ll have to walk to get from A to B and it isn’t pleasant. The bottom of the pool in places is also very rough (like fine sandpaper). All three of our kids had bleeding feet in more than one place. We are unsure if these were caused by burns or friction from the pool floor (as adults we didn’t experience this but the kids did the rapids to death) but one aggravated the other anyway and we were often mopping up blood and had limping, moaning kids taking the long walk back to the room with sore feet. You can wear goggles, hats, swimming glasses and shoes on all slides. It would be advisable to wear shoes that not only protect feet but also stay firmly on whilst going down the faster water slides.
Queues for slides were very long on Friday and Saturday, the Dubai weekend. Sun beds were hard to find if not impossible.
The slides which propelled you upwards caused serious damage to your bum if you weren’t wearing shorts. I was literally black and purple with bruises the size of golf balls and I promise I am not exaggerating. Kids were unscathed so suspect it was the larger adult female bums that took the pasting! The lifeguards tell you to lie across your rubber rings but inevitably your bum slips down into the ring and gets a clobbering at times!
Aquarium areas seemed very full with fish or incredibly large fish in not so big aquariums. Couldn’t help but think it looked rather too overcrowded with fish or cruel that a 6-8ft long fish had been put into a less than 20 foot long aquarium. . . and there were usually more than one in there.


Summary
All in all it was a very impressive holiday and hotel. We were all ‘water parked’ out by day four but there was little else to do on site other than viewing the aquariums without spending a small fortune. Lacking in entertainment for kids but this hotel was much cheaper than other hotels such as Jumeriah beach so you get what you pay for. We were very happy with our package and value for money but we feel as though we’ve ‘done’ Atlantis so wouldn’t go back. Two weeks would be too long and a twin centre would be a good choice for families.
Didn’t sample any restaurants other than Saffron or Kaleidoscope (buffet restaurants) they looked fab but we begrudged paying full price when we were half board. Only went to two bars. They seemed to close early unfortunately.
Thoroughly enjoyed the hotel. Time change perfect for kids as they didn’t feel any time difference when we came back (a midnight bedtime there is same as a 9pm bedtime here . . . likewise a 10.30am wake up was the same as a 7.30am UK one).
Value for money 9/10 on half board.
Value for money on extras 2/10.
Service in hotel 7/10.
Lifeguards 10/10.
Rooms 9/10.
Hotel generally 9/10.
Buffet restaurants 9/10.
Overall 8.5/10

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Happilyginger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2009

stayed for 10 nights for our honeymoon plus took our 2 yr old daughter. was met at reception with frosty staff who had no record of our booking eventually gave us a room then demanded a credit card and 7000 dirham as deposit. (we were not informed anything about this before!) when informed did not have it with us they cheekly remarked we would have our phone locked and mini bar, and made out we would not be treated well in restuarants. this was infront of other people which was highly embarassing! had to call back and for to travel agents who were disgusted with the way that we were being treated. then were saying we were B&B even though we paid for Half Board! again more phone calls till it was sorted. no apology or anything from Atlantis even though they told Gold Medal they were sending champagne as it was our honeymoon but nothing.
the hotel itself is amazing to see but could be done as day trip nothing else! very disppointed in the staff and nobody really wants to tell you how things work or what to do its really find out for yourself.
over priced in the hotel and the only restuarant which we found to be child friendly was Kaleidoscope, nothing for 2 yr olds.

aquaventure great. wuould go back to dubai but definately a different hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leanne2707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
Burj Al Arab Jumeirah
#30 of 549 in Dubai
4,242 reviews
Jumeirah Zabeel Saray
#52 of 549 in Dubai
5,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Marina
Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantis, The Palm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantis, The Palm

Property: Atlantis, The Palm
Address: Crescent Road | The Palm, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Dubai
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Dubai
#42 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#43 Family Hotel in Dubai
#65 Spa Hotel in Dubai
#95 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Atlantis, The Palm 5*
Number of rooms: 1539
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atlantis is the majestic resort in Dubai situated on The Palm, a man-made island that has captured the world’s imagination with its magnificent scale and ingenuity. From the moment you arrive, you will be immersed in a dazzling world of imagination, pleasure and 5 star luxury. The resort offers relaxation and thrills for couples and families alike, including a landmark hotel, unique marine habitats, an exhilarating water park, pristine white beaches, world-class cuisine, indulgent spa and cosmopolitan boutiques. To stay or visit is to live out your dreams amidst warm Arabian seas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Atlantis, The Palm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantis The Palm Dubai
Atlantis The Palm Hotel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing