We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big Mistake !!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Atlantis, The Palm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Atlantis, The Palm
Ranked #93 of 545 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff,Wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Big Mistake !!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2009

Stayed at Atlantis for 14 nights for Christmas and New Year,
In an imperial club room.
The Last 2 Christmas and New Year we have stayed at Jumeirah beach hotel, and we were far from prepared for the gulf in service quality we encountered.
After 3 days we called Kuoni to hotel, they tried to move hotels for us but the manager wouldn’t allow us any form of refund, but moved us to a £1900 a night suite due to our level of upset. Even in this room on 4 separate occasions the hot water didn’t work and needed maintenance to come to the room
Our original imperial room was very nice with decor to a high standard,but suffered from a lot of noise from adjoining door and corridor .
Beach is very hard like walking on concrete with a sprinkling of sand on top. Contains sharp building rubble which increases as you go into the sea. I hurt my foot on one of these exiting water on 3rd day as water is too murky to see what your stepping on .
This followed by an appalling lunch at the poolside restaurant and preceded by another cold breakfast earlier that day were the straws that broke the camels back. prompting our request to move hotels.
Poor English is spoken by many of the staff, and poor anticipation of our needs by nearly all restaurant staff becomes tiresome.
Plastic thermos flask teapots often with luke warm water inside.
Breakfast buffet food was cold as lids are left constantly open.
No pork products available you have "turkey bacon" and chicken or veal sausages.
Porridge made to order only with long wait (but at least it was hot)
On the last day in Kaleidoscope had breakfast signature bill put under my nose whilst i was eating with comment can you sign please,while she stood and waited for me to stop eating put down my cutlery and sign. Very annoying!
Food at pool and water park very poor, a processed chicken burger at Aquaventure £11. The only upside is Tell them your not happy and they take it off your bill.
Wagyu steak sandwich Nearly £30 at poolside.
Atlantis cheeseburger with fries best of a bad lot at £14.
Several guests we spoke to who also normally stay at Jumeriah beach were equally unimpressed.
I have filled in hotel questionnaire from JD Power, although the hotel management are well aware of our utter dissatisfaction and we are in the process of writing a letter of complaint to our travel agent.
It became clear very quickly its 5* facilities did not make it a 5* hotel.
We will be returning to Jumeirah beach next Christmas and putting this year down as a big expensive mistake








.

  • Liked — Nice room
  • Disliked — appalling level of service,cold food, sharp rubble on beach
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GRB123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15,724 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10,331
    3,159
    1,266
    498
    470
See reviews for
8,124
4,271
195
589
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,580)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2009

As you can see from the title, we would not recommend this hotel for families with young children. Reasons for this being:

1. For all the hype on number of restaurants, eating is very poor with all eateries at the water park serving all the same disappointing food. Restaurants within the hotel are definitely not geared towards guests with young children as there are no childrens menu plus when asked what they could do for kids, it was met with a look of puzzlement. I must admit in the Italian restaurant, I did have the smallest piece of swordfish ever!! Our saving grace during our weeks stay was the buffet restaurant which we ate at each morning and once at our last night.

2. One day at the resident's pool, the courteous attendant arrived with 1 of the yellow life jackets for my 2 year old daughter. The next day this was a big problem to provide as it from the hotel's waterpark and not resident's pool!! I ended up having to wait for well over an hour as the attendants and team leader couldn't organise my request which was eventually agreed by a manager. That reminds me, I'm still waiting his response on why the jackets cannot be provided at resident's pool??

3. Waterpark not well designed for young children such as separate shallow area near main water feature as there are continually larger children and adults running through. Only had 2 single yellow slides at feature and nothing more! Main part of lazy river definitely not suited for young ones given the ferosity of the rapids and waves, although did see one father and 2-3 year old daughter which was frightening and had to avoid knocking his inflatable ring over or they would of easily been swept away.

4. Tried to organise dolphin adventure by this was pretty much all booked up month ahead of our stay with only 1 place available which is useless when minors need to be accompanied. Their solution was to go along to area and wait and hope for no shows!!

To give some sort of balanced feedback, I would say:

1. The spectacle of the hotel was stunning and the large aquarium is spectacular although would question keeping a small whale shark there!

2. The ice cream shop in the mall was great although you couldn't charge to room.

3. Large glass display in centre of reception was pretty stunning, but recalled each time a strange chemically burn smell so didn't want to hang around there.

On the whole some experience although an expensive one, but would not hurry back.

  • Liked — Buffet restaurant
  • Disliked — Other restaurants
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BakuExpats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2009

We stayed at the atlantis from the 26th dec until 6th jan. myself my wife and my 2 girls aged10 and 12, as we drove onto the palm and saw the hotel it was wow,we arrived and were greeted by lobby staff bags out of car and into reception within minutes.the reception/lobby area was grand but i have seen better, we booked into the imperial club which had a seperate checking in area it was ok.i found out after there is a vip lounge to check but it was not open(arrived at 10am).we were ckecked in and in our rooms within 15 mins, the rooms were very clean but nothing special ,bathroom door opened into the bedroom ,26"lcd all the rest was basic, the imperial was on the 12th floor ,i advise if you book the imperial club ask for the 12th floor other you will be in and out of the lift. my impression of the club was excellent well worth the 720 dirhams per day extra. staff,snacks,serviceand the cocktail hour between 6pm and 8pm where most acholic drinks we complimentary . soft drinks and snacks are comp all day,the hotel itself the lobby/aqaurium/shops were to busy for my liking from 10am till 11pm hundredes of visitors,the water park was excellent for all of us especially in the morning no queing got busy from midday onwards ,there were comp buggys to take you to and from every 5or6 mins, never used the beach but it looked very nice with bean bags and sun beds every where. the pools were great first couple of days we spent at the royal towers pool very quite and then we went to the zero pool kds loved it around the pool there was a trampoline basket ball net 2 pingpong tables all comp, the pol itself was vast with a basket ball net also at appr 4 pm the pool started to heat it was brill, the food in and around the pool was ok and expensive ,there are 3 tennis courts which were free to use but you had to hire the rackets(not a problem) but then you had to buy the balls (what a con). the restaurants ,we ate in most of them, seafire was the best for me the steaks were out of this world service was very good aswell 10/10 next Michel Rostang very good next Giorgio Locatelli,not very good at allservice was none exsitant had to ask all the time until i called the manager then it was the best ever ,next nobu everything fantastic,next Levantine we went here for breakfast god food service was ok (not 5*standards by a long way)the atmosphere was very hectic ,for breakfast aswell next the Saffron same atmsphere as the levantine but the service was a lot beter and the food was ten tims better, next lunchtime which we ate either at the water park useally water park food , or round by the pool we ate pool side bars not 5*at all. the kids club i refused to put my girls in there as it was £44 a session 2 two sessions a day (never known a hotel to charge for kids club)my over all expereince of the atlantis excellent staff nothing was a problem for them. very very very expensive (i have stayed in just as good for a lot less)i would not recommend this hotel under 4s apart from the pool as there was nothing for them . i think i have covered everything apart from saying a BIG BIG THANK YOU TO RIO AND WALTER in the imperial club

  • Liked — the staff
  • Disliked — very expensive
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank well_travelledjan64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2009

I am a Nanny of six children and this is how I found it for the children.

Food- Excellent, some of the children are quite fussy that I look after and even in restaurants they didnt do chicken nuggets and chips they made them for them. Definately go to saffron for breakfast. Highchairs always came with in seconds of reaching the table apart from once out of 2 weeks. Also highchairs were very clean. Staff made a real effort with the children.

Lifts- beware of the doors! they shut rather quickly, did manage to loose a child in one thank god it was the oldest and was sensible to wait at the bottom. The children were quite scared to get in them first if you were not stood by the door. Never had to wait long for a lift.

Rooms- very clean, lots of space, linen changed everyday. Fresh bottle of water left each day aswell, fruit bowl full at arrival never got filled up though.

Waterpark- A buggy would take you to water park, couple of mins drive. 10 mins walk but a easywalk all flat with pushchair, pushchair access is great all over hotel. Life guards are everywere, every few metres. Great fun for all children, could do with a baby pool. Has got one but water tips over it, not very ideal as scares young children. Lockers are at the entrance and cost 10 pounds. But as hotel guests enter at other end of park and have already paid alot for there holiday should be free. Also to trape 6 children across the park and back again is a pain. Towel use is free to hotel guests.

Lost Chambers- great to look at fish! But once you have been round once, thats it really. Only one activity to do which is to put your hand in the water to feel a star fish. Could do with a activity room. Also a shop half way round, and staff around telling you about the fish.

Shops- Very expensive! there is a gift shop with alantis written on everything even crocs! Cold stone ice cream shop, can only pay by cash cannot put in on your room! Fab place for the children tho, staff sing, dance and throw icecream to each other.
Children love to watch.

Swimming pools in hotel- clean, life guards all the way round and not to deep. Service is around to pool is excellent, towels are brought over straight away, sunbeds are always available and moved to where you want them to be. No umberellas though u have to make a tent to keep children in the shade.

What to do for children in the hotel- around the pool is basketball, table tennis and trampoline. Tennis courts are easily booked, have to rent rackets and buy balls. No shade so best to book after 4. On the beach is football nets, sand pit for young children (No shade), table tennis and voleyball nets (mostly used by older boys and men). Kids club- very expensive! the girls wanted to go for a Hannah montana competition expecting a afternoon of fun and games and when they came out it had been a computer game! a little dissapointed! Do have movies and popcorn nights, also have rock climbing and computers, both girls and boys enjoyed. Club rush- again very expensive but has fully equiped computers and gaming consols. The boys loved club rush! Also there is a buisiness centre were internet access is free. The entertainers occasionally pop up then go! In the daily activity sheet it said limbo at 2pm we got there at 5 past and they had finished and then for the next 50 mins the children ran round the beach with a ball. Also no childrens Disco! or entertainment of a evening you have to make you own. Could do with a soft play area for young children and parents.

Room service- Fast, but can wait for it to be collected again.

Check in- As we had 5 rooms was a mix up at first but got sorted quickly as we wanted them in a row.

House keeping- Fresh linen everyday, plenty of towels. Always hot water, large bathroom. Very helful, I smashed a bottle of purfume were there in mins with a hoover and a mop.

Overal children did enjoy themselfs, bits of the hotel open to the the public and walking with 6 children was a nightmare in the day as its very busy. Security are good checking room keys cards but not if you forget them.

The family do want to go back in febuary,

Hope its been helpful. x

  • Liked — Safe
  • Disliked — open to the public.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank nanny6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2009

We stayed for a week to celebrate new years eve with my family, and we will not come back. The building is like a fantastic sand castle and it is a good place for kids, but it is far away from a 5 star hotel.

Rooms are clean and mostly quiet, but quite ordinary. You don't even get a newspaper. Internet worked only once in a while and was very slow. Restaurants are overprized, overcrowded and nothing special. We had to wait up to 45 mins to get a table for breakfast. They also try to screw you on almost every occation by adding extra items on your bill. On checkout they tried to overcharge us about USD 7500 in total (4 rooms) on all kinds of things we did not have, ranging from breakfasts (that was supposed to be included) to big dinners and drinks we did not have.

We had payed USD 800 per perosn for a NYE gala dinner in advance. The hotel messed up with our tickets and after fighting with the management for 3 hours we got a table, There was hardly any food left. The fireworks was cancelled (that's what most people paid for) and the management offered no refund. To top it all of, they tried to charge us extra for that dinner.

I could go on and on with disappointments. The bottom line is: Don't stay at this hotel, stay somewhere else and visit the Aquaventure for a day or two instead (good fun for everyone). This hotel would be a decent choice if you paid 1/4 of the price and expected charter tourist quality.

  • Liked — Nice location
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank donj35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2009

We are now back in the UK following a 10 night stay at the Atlantis over Christmas with our 2 kids ages 6 and 1. After reading a few of the reviews on Tripadvisor following the opening of the hotel we were a little concerned, but once we were there we found none of the things that people complained about to be true for our stay.

The hotel is quite magnificent and the facilities are excellent and everything is so well maintained. The staff couldn't have been more attentive and friendly and every one of them went out of their way to make us feel at home.

The hotel is huge and so reviewers comments about there being a lot of people around are true but we didn't feel it was too much and it certainly didn't have a negative impact on our stay. There was plenty of available chairs on the beach and around the pool and we never waited more than 5 mins for breakfast or for a taxi outside.

I have read some of the recent reviews and have to disagree with them as this was not what I encountered at all. This is a theme hotel and very family orientated so maybe they wanted something more intimate and boutique like.

Our stay at The Atlantis was one of the best experiences I have had, and I have travelled extensively and stayed at some of the best hotels in the world (Shangri-La - Bangkok, The Magellan Sutera - Borneo, Hotel de Paris - Monte Carlo, Mandarin - Hong Kong,) so I expect a lot and can compare it objectively.

I would definately go again and would suggest that some of the more negative comments in the other reviews be taken with a pinch of salt.

Daniel King
London

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Djking30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2009

Being a Dubai resident, we wanted to spend a week end in this new hotel in order to have a fair view of this new resort.

We came back after the week end with only a mediocre idea of what the Media called a Palace. In fact simply no value for money.

I will not call that an Hotel but a Public place with thousands of daily visitors running around and keeping the area so busy that the staff is simply not available for you. Security check points are everywhere and you have to show your room card at every check. The checking is terrible and even if you have paid thousands USD you have to queue like in a supermarket. By the way the check out is the same mess.

The Standard rooms where we were are basic and far away from the price you pay. No misunderstanding, rooms are clean but nothing special at all.

Beach is private hopefully but back side of the Hotel in the Palm with what I call dead water as there is almost no water circulation. Strange pieces of green stuff are floating around. We stay few minutes in the water and took a shower.

Water Park is also mediocre. Better to go to the Jumeirah beach Hotel water Park !

Restaurants are OK but again very expensive for what you get and service is again very poor.

In short better to go to any of the other 5 Star hotels available in Jumeirah like Al Qsar, Jumeirah Beach Hotel, Westin, Madinat, Meridien or Royal Mirage.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Visitors
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank LaurentMARIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
4.3 mi away
Burj Al Arab Jumeirah
Burj Al Arab Jumeirah
#24 of 545 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,978 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sofitel Dubai The Palm Resort & Spa
2.1 mi away
Fairmont The Palm, Dubai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Jumeirah Zabeel Saray
Jumeirah Zabeel Saray
#44 of 545 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,800 reviews
2.2 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Dubai Palm Jumeirah
14.4 mi away
Raffles Dubai
Raffles Dubai
#2 of 545 in Dubai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantis, The Palm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantis, The Palm

Property: Atlantis, The Palm
Address: Crescent Road | The Palm Island, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Dubai
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Dubai
#42 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#43 Family Hotel in Dubai
#60 Spa Hotel in Dubai
#87 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Atlantis, The Palm 5*
Number of rooms: 1539
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atlantis is the majestic resort in Dubai situated on The Palm, a man-made island that has captured the world’s imagination with its magnificent scale and ingenuity.From the moment you arrive, you will be immersed in a dazzling world of imagination, pleasure and 5 star luxury. The resort offers relaxation and thrills for couples and families alike, including a landmark hotel, unique marine habitats, an exhilarating water park, pristine white beaches, world-class cuisine, indulgent spa and cosmopolitan boutiques. To stay or visit is to live out your dreams amidst warm Arabian seas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Atlantis, The Palm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantis The Palm Dubai
Atlantis The Palm Hotel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing