We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Evening visit”
Review of Atlantis, The Palm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Atlantis, The Palm
Ranked #99 of 545 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Evening visit”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

My husband & I visited the Atlantis - the Palm one evening during our recent holiday in Dubai, on arrival the reception area in the early evening seemed more like an airport terminal than hotel lobby, it was heaving with people checking in or checking out, visitors (like ourselves) and guests, and was generally very noisy. The hotel is visually amazing, with lots of things to excite the senses, not least the aquarium. We did not stay and eat there despite the numerous restaurants and cafe areas, but decided a 1 hour visit was enough for us.
I am sure that for some people it's the perfect holiday destination, but it is not somewhere I now long to take vacation.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serge_Zaalof, President and Managing Director at Atlantis, The Palm, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at Atlantis, The Palm on TripAdvisor.

I would like to apologise for not meeting your expectation during your visit with us. We would like to assure you that we are continually looking for innovative solutions to enhance the arrival experience of our guests. As an example, we have an access control procedures to ensure that certain areas of the resort remain exclusively for resident guests.

Thank you once again for your review regarding your evening visit at Atlantis, The Palm.


Best regards,

Serge Zaalof
President and Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16,389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10,750
    3,286
    1,320
    530
    503
See reviews for
8,498
4,442
206
606
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,679)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We stayed at The Atlantis for our 4th time in the May half term 2014. We booked this hotel again as all previous stays were magnificent including great service, great food and a real 5 star experience!
However, this time it was a completely different experience and not in a good way!

Firstly on arrival at 8.30am after a round trip of 13 hours, we queued for 40 minutes at reception in order to check in, at no point were any refreshments offered or apologies provided. We then had to queue for 20 minutes to get a table for breakfast. Finally, as they had no rooms available until after lunch, we were taken to our cases which were kept in a storage area which guests should never see. Here we had to change along with 50 odd other guests who were subject to the same experience. In all previous years we were provided with private changing areas.

Having gone through this experience and feeling shattered, we went to the pool hoping to finally relax and unwind. No chance, firstly there were no beds available at 10.30am and we had to complete a number of circuits of the pool area asking people if they were using all their beds and begging ourselves a few spare. None of the staff offered to help or tried to help when we asked.
them. In the days ahead it became clear that guests were putting their towels on the beds as early as 6.30-6.45am, it was like being in Benidorm! Their were never enough umbrellas and every day the staff had to wait for the breakfast restaurant to close and use their umbrellas around the pool. Not ideal when there are so many young children and babies there and its 41 degrees!

When we finally got our room, I was told that our cases would be delivered to our room in 10 minutes, I rang down when they never arrived after 30 minutes and was told they are on the way up. I called again after 45 minutes and again was told they are on the way. They eventually arrived 1 hour and 30 minutes later!

The restaurant menu around the pool has always been amazing in the past, healthy fresh options and plenty of choice. Not any more! The menu has now changed with only a few options which include mainly beefburgers, chicken burgers, etc with a few salads. Not anything close to what you would expect from a 5 star hotel!

We chose to go half board this time around as in the past all the restaurants were fantastic. The first day, around 5pm, we called down to make a reservation and almost every restaurant in the hotel was fully booked! We had to book all our restaurants that evening for the whole week ahead in order to guarantee a table at a time we wanted, again not ideal as we then had no flexibility to change our minds or make different plans if we wanted to. The first night we went to the Kaleidoscope which is a buffet style restaurant and a favourite of ours in the past. Not this time! It was like eating in a works canteen with unbelievable noise and queues for everything. There were way too few waiting staff for the amount of people there and therefore we had to clear our own plates etc in order to be able to visit the buffet again for the next course! This was the same at breakfast every day too.

The whole atmosphere has changed in this hotel, it used to feel exclusive and speacial but it now appears to have really lowered its standards. There appears to be no dress code any longer. In the past everybody dressed up in the evening around the hotel, this time around it was full of people wearing beach shorts and football shirts! Little things like towels hanging over the balconys every evening making it look like a hotel in Magaluf would never have been allowed in the past. The hotel is massively under staffed and this results in very average service at best but very poor service most of the time, this included waiting 40 minutes to get our drinks in the Nasimi restaurant on our last night!

The whole place had a feel of a low cost hotel in Spain or even a Butlins holiday camp. With so many new hotels going up in Dubai providing so much competition, The Atlantis has to decide whether it wants to revert to being a top 5 star hotel or whether it wants to become a cheap and cheerful 3 or 4 star hotel offering a cheaper value for money holiday option for those who otherwise could not afford to go to Dubai.....which is fine and definitely a big market for this but it should no longer advertise itself as a top exclusive hotel, because it is far from being this!

Definitely our last visit to this hotel.....real shame!

Room Tip: West Tower best side of hotel, get day flight as opposed to night flight so room ready on arrival
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank kw0266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serge_Zaalof, President and Managing Director at Atlantis, The Palm, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience Atlantis, The Palm on TripAdvisor.

I sincerely regret that we did not meet your expectations this time around due to crowd issues. Please be assured that we are constantly innovating on our products and services to continuously enhance the experience of our guests, particularly with respect to crowd. We currently have in place several access control procedures to ensure that certain areas of the resort remain for resident-guests only. In addition, we have launch new rides in Aquaventure and new dining concepts such as Yuan, thereby extending the variety and locations of our recreation and dining options.

Once again, we thank you for your kind feedback and we look forward to welcome you back at Atlantis, The Palm.


Best regards,

Serge Zaalof
President and Managing DIrector
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014

I will start with positives.... Room service food quality was avergae (sometimes cold) and bed, pillows, towels, bathrobes, bath, shower and toiletries all were fabulous, this is where the good things end for this hotel.
We stayed there for the weekend (we were attending the Saffron brunch which is always amazing).... our arrival set the tone for the rest of the weekend. The entrance to the hotel was bedlam with taxis and cars everywhere with bellboys randomly grabbing bags from car boots without telling us they had which resulted in us thinking we had left a bag at the airport as well as dropping items.
The check in took 30 minutes of queueing before we were seen (no apology for the wait) and then took another 20 minutes to complete the check in (at one point the check in clerk declared - "i found it" as if finding the reservation was an achievement)
The rooms on arrival smelt damp and were massivly underwhelming in the quality of decor.
The wifi is TERRIBLE, constantly dropping out of service (I would rather pay for wifi and have it work).
The hairdressers is absurd - 250 dihrams for a wash and blow dry (approx 40 GBP) and they could not "find" any milk for a cup of tea, making appointments was also a nightmare.
A simple request for a bottle opener for our room was refused 4 times, instead guest services deemed we should call them every single time we needed a bottle to be opened and to accept that it will take 20-40 minutes for the waiter with the bottle opener to appear (I bought one in the gift shop instead).
Check out took 55 minutes, the car service desk were rude to us when it was clear we werent spending the money on a private taxi and they did not give us advice as to how to find an ordinary taxi.
All in all the hotel had the vibe of a good Vegas resort hotel but without any of the efficiency or service quality. Out of 4 in our group - none of us will stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SarahBat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serge_Zaalof, President and Managing Director at Atlantis, The Palm, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us on TripAdvisor.

It is regretful to read that your arrival experience was not up to your expectations. It may happen that the lobby gets quite busy during the peak hours of check-in and check-out, nevertheless, we would like to assure you that we are continually looking for innovative solutions to enhance the arrival experience of our guests.

Furthermore, I have also noted your concern regarding the delay in delivering your requested bottle opener. I wish to sincerely apologise for the inconvenience and please be assured that your comments have been passed on to our Guest Services team for their review and action.

Moreover, I truly regret to learn that your salon experience at Shuiqi Spa and Fitness did not meet your expectation as our team are consistently trained by professionals and products that are used in the salon are well-known brands. I would also like to assure you that we are on par with other salons in a 5 star properties in Dubai.

On a more positive note, I appreciate your positive comments regarding the amenities and linen in our hotel room.

Thank you again for your review and we wish to welcome you again at Atlantis, The Palm.


Best regards,

Serge Zaalof
President and Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014

This resort is fantastic. Highly recommending. You will be nicely surprised. Simply excellent.
Our personal advice, go for Imperial Club Room, you will pay more, but the value included exceed the premium.
So this review is about Imperial Club Guest Room.
There is dedicated reception at the lobby level.
If you arrive early, you may use the Imperial Club facilities (12th floor, east tower), offering snacks, coffee, soft drinks and once you room is ready, the staff will take you there and your luggage will follow.
Rooms are spacious, service is excellent and care also. Ample supply of drinking water, coffee of any sort, ice, etc. Enjoy breakfast in the Imperial Club, or in the Saffron or Kaleidoscope restaurants. It is a buffet style breakfast, excellent offer for anyone. Price is included for Imperial Club room.
Imperial Club opens at 7.00 AM and closing at 11.00 PM. you have full access during that time. From 5.00 PM till 7.00 PM it is a "Happy hour" and with the dinner you may enjoy alcoholic drinks for free. Everyday.
You will also get a free Aquaventure entry every day and staff at the imperial Club will give you wrist band in the concierge area, so you do not have to wait the queues.
Staff is very attentive, polite. Special thanks to Mr. Biju and his staff under his management. They are fantastic.
In summary, the Resort, staff and quality makes you to come there again, we been there second time and it is not the last. First stay 5 days, second was 14 days.
Thanks Atlantis The Palm Dubai.

Room Tip: Go for imperial Club Room, views of Dubai.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Sydney2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serge_Zaalof, President and Managing Director at Atlantis, The Palm, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed in full extent the benefits of the Imperial Club and other resort facilities. In addition, it is rewarding to learn that Biju and his team have been exceptional in their service and we will be sure to share your appreciation with them.

I wish to sincerely thank you for recommending Atlantis, The Palm and look forward to welcome you again in a not too distant future.


Best regards,

Serge Zaalof
President and Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

Booked at Atlantis for 1 night after traveling tru Vietnam and Thailand.
Got to the hotel and the check in lines were very busy I did not feel like a guest here!!
In my room the hot water was not working and they took more than 2 hours to arrange me another room.

The service is not personalized however if you are a family with children traveling the kids would have a good time at the resort.

The place is over priced and over rated... Stay there as a once off for the experience but don't expect 5 star service.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Ashley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serge_Zaalof, President and Managing Director at Atlantis, The Palm, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor.

I truly regret for the delay that you have experienced at check-in and for not meeting your expectations in general. Our standard check-in timing starts from 3:00 p.m. onwards but nonetheless, we do try our best to provide early check-in. However, this is always subject to availability of rooms.

I have also noted your concern regarding the hot water in the room. I wish to sincerely apologise for the inconvenience and please be assured that your comments have been passed on to our facilities for their review and action. Nevertheless, I am pleased to know that our team was able to move you to another room to minimize the inconvenience that you had faced.

With regards to our pricing, we wish to assure you that it is competitive with other 5 star properties. In addition, we also have promotional offers all year round. The information on our promotions, they are available on our website and in case of doubt, we can assure you that all colleagues are at your service for any question you may have.

We thank you once more for your review and we look forward to welcoming you again at Atlantis, The Palm.


Best regards,

Serge Zaalof
President and Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

Wow! Everything about this resort was amazing! The receptionist was friendly. He provided us with a good deal for upgrade. The water park was great and had clean water.

The room was amazing and it has one of the best views. The restaurants have great ambiences all of them. The only slight drawback you can say is that its slightly overpriced.

Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amit N Jasu B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serge_Zaalof, President and Managing Director at Atlantis, The Palm, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us on TripAdvisor.

I am grateful to read that you had a wonderful stay with us. I also appreciate your positive comments about the services rendered by our colleagues, views from our hotel room, cleanliness and facilities at Aquaventure and ambience in our restaurants.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you again in Atlantis, The Palm.


Best regards,

Serge Zaalof
President and Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

The buildings, water park and facilities are great but service wise is terrible, let's start with check in very slow very crowded reception the receptionist serves many customers while you are checking in it took more than 45 minutes to complete the check in procedure. However, the housing keeping haven't made our room up in the first day, he excused that he was very busy and he has many room to work on even though we left at early morning and came back at 4 pm, in the second day the just fixed the bed that's it and left the laundry bag although I asked them to collect it, moreover, you never reach any of department by phone because they are always busy I called the concierge at 9:15 am to ask them and they got back to me at 11 am. I believe there are many hotels in dubai has better service than Atlantis.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Maen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serge_Zaalof, President and Managing Director at Atlantis, The Palm, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us on TripAdvisor.

It is regretful to read that your arrival experience was not up to your expectations. It may happen that the lobby gets quite busy during the peak hours of check-in, nevertheless, we would like to assure you that we are continually looking for innovative solutions to enhance the arrival experience of our guests.

Moreover, from your comment, it does seem that you did not receive the same level of service from our housekeeping colleagues and we would like to sincerely apologise for any inconvenience. In order for us to further improve our service, we would grateful if you could reply to the private message that we have sent to you.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family again at Atlantis, The Palm.


Best regards,

Serge Zaalof
President and Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
4.4 mi away
Burj Al Arab Jumeirah
Burj Al Arab Jumeirah
#29 of 545 in Dubai
4,144 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sofitel Dubai The Palm Resort & Spa
2.2 mi away
Jumeirah Zabeel Saray
Jumeirah Zabeel Saray
#46 of 545 in Dubai
5,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Dubai Palm Jumeirah
2.1 mi away
Fairmont The Palm, Dubai
14.4 mi away
Raffles Dubai
Raffles Dubai
#2 of 545 in Dubai
3,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantis, The Palm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantis, The Palm

Property: Atlantis, The Palm
Address: Crescent Road | The Palm Island, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Dubai
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Dubai
#42 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#43 Family Hotel in Dubai
#62 Spa Hotel in Dubai
#92 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Atlantis, The Palm 5*
Number of rooms: 1539
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atlantis is the majestic resort in Dubai situated on The Palm, a man-made island that has captured the world’s imagination with its magnificent scale and ingenuity.From the moment you arrive, you will be immersed in a dazzling world of imagination, pleasure and 5 star luxury. The resort offers relaxation and thrills for couples and families alike, including a landmark hotel, unique marine habitats, an exhilarating water park, pristine white beaches, world-class cuisine, indulgent spa and cosmopolitan boutiques. To stay or visit is to live out your dreams amidst warm Arabian seas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, TravelUp, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Atlantis, The Palm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantis The Palm Dubai
Atlantis The Palm Hotel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing