We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel but not as good as JBH”
Review of Atlantis, The Palm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Atlantis, The Palm
Ranked #99 of 542 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good hotel but not as good as JBH”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Having stayed in 5 stars hotels in Dubai before this is definitely not the best. I found the service (checking-in, room serviced etc) ok not. The resort is very big and it can take some time to get from your room to the water park and restaurants. The water park is brilliant and is free for hotel guest. You are given a wristband which you need to top-up before you enter the water park in order make purchases when you are in the water park, this is taken off you when you leave and you are then expected to return later to reclaim any credit. This was frustrating, as I mentioned before it is long way from one side of the hotel to the other.

The reason why I prefer JBH over Atlantis is:

Although both are great hotels with great food etc

Atlantis is too far from some of the shopping malls (it takes at least 10 minutes just to get to the mainland by car). The beach at Atlantis is artificial and therefore the sand is rock hard, hence hurts your feet. The rooms are not all sea facing and therefore the view from some parts of the hotel is not good. The water park at Atlantis is better than the one at JBH.

Dubai is an amazing holiday destination but has becoming increasingly expensive - the first time I stayed at JBH in 2001 the costs of a room was £100 per night for 2 adults and up to 2 children (under 12) Inclusive of breakfast. That has now gone up to £450 per room per night without breakfast and as one child is now over 12 I would need to take 2 rooms - Atlantis allowed 3 adults (son now 14 years old) and 1 child to stay in the same room and therefore worked out cheaper for me. Atlantis was the only 5 star hotel that i could find that to allowed 3 Adults and a child to stay in 1 room So if you are in the same situation I would definitely recommend Atlantis. But based on hotel, service etc JBH is better.

Room Tip: Rooms to the centre have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LOVEDUBAI_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16,222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10,628
    3,265
    1,308
    524
    497
See reviews for
8,406
4,400
204
603
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,655)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Robina, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Perfect, excellent, beautiful, extraordinary hotel! Everything is perfect! A magic ambiance and amazing pool. Real 5 stars hotel. If you stay at Atlantis you don't need to leave the hotel! Aqua venture is a beautiful waterpark.

Room Tip: East tower facing to the Palm best room to stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mariodambrosio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

My first time in Atlantis was very good. A very big aquariam filled with facinating sea creatures. Then a water park that has 7 big slides and some went through tunnels which was my favourite part. There is also a very big tank that had many sharks and one that looks half sting ray half shark which looks a bit scary,a hammerhead shark, and not forgeting the play dead fish which is very funny.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna2308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

We loved this hotel from the minute we arrived.... the lobby and the main focal point takes your breath away with its 3600 coloured glass tubes reaching 10 mtrs skyward. We had booked an imperial room and were so glad we did as breakfast, the many snack times and alcoholic happy hour are all amazing. The hotel is truly first class and the staff are super friendly but not imposing and you are made to feel very welcome from the start

The food was great and as we were half board the all inclusive buffets were a sight to behold with everything from Chinese, curry, tex mex, English roast, chocolate fountains etc etc, and the fresh fruit (and I do mean fresh) was totally gorgeous and the choice so varied we simply loved just tucking into this, I recall one occasion when we ate a salad for lunch as a starter and were totally full only to be confronted with the most amazing aberdeen angus steak burger and fries ever

The kids never got bored of looking at 65,000 marine creatures and we visited the lost chambers daily and the fish hospital. We would just sit and marvel for ages after a great dinner at the spectacle that was the Atlantis's main attraction, did I say main attraction or was this the 42 acre water park bolted onto the back of the hotel, the kids never tired of this although our son was 3cm too short for all the big rides which took some managing in house!!! The park is so well done with life guards at every view point, you felt totally safe and once again these guys always had a smile for you

Our son got more attention than our daughter which we found a bit odd but guess something to do with culture but be aware if you don't like your kids being cuddled and fussed over by complete strangers. Again the kids club was nothing short of amazing although we only used this once

The very slight negatives (and these are slight) is that the price of drinks is ridiculous as is the price to swim with the dolphins and whilst I understand why my wife had to accompany our 8 year old daughter at £300 for the both I felt rather broke when leaving his area, so if you can't use happy hour or haven't paid for imperial club or the dolphins in advance be prepared for a large bar bill and credit card statement at the end of your stay.

Back to the positives then..... we went out of term time, naughty parents I hear you cry, and it was quieter at the start of the week than towards the end where we couldn't get into our imperial club room but they offered us a private area within one of the restaurants, which I have to say was better than the imperial club room with great views over the pool, so no issues there

This is a huge hotel and I have to say we are really fussy travellers with high expectations and this did not disappoint, you do tend to get what you pay for and having just returned from a break in Greece the hotel there simply didn't compare to what we had experienced at the Atlantis, but Greece was half the price though!!

Well done Atlantis, to all readers, please pay the extra for an imperial club room if you can stretch the budget a little further and when our son has grown 3cm more we will be back. PS we did manage to sneak him on a few slides!!!!

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
Thank hopki68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Just came back from the Atlantis after a 4 night stay. We stay here last year at the same time but what a difference a year makes........
It is still very impressive and beautifully kept, rooms are immaculate and the staff on the bedrooms couldn't be more helpful.
Pools are also beautiful.
Concierge is a different story, we were on half board and told we could eat in any of the restaurants but some would have a supplement charge of 200AED pp. Marvin at the french restaurant is a great guy and knows his stuff.
We booked Ossiano for my husbands birthday on June 11th as concierge recommended it for a special occasion and told us about the supplement charge of 200AED. When we arrived we had a drink at the bar and then were shown to our table. We were handed 2 menus, 1 a very limited menu for half board with 200AED, 2nd menu was a tasting menu of multiple courses for 975AED and the al a carte menu from what I remember for a starter was about 300AED.
So BE WARNED when you go to the concierge .........

The staff seem to be given a script to learn from, there is no individual personalities.

The policy of the hotel seems to be upsale at every opportunity, pool people constantly asking you if you need water, food etc ( very annoying) all restaurants want you to have drinks before dinner.
It is our opinion only that this hotel has increased it's food and drink prices from last year and even then it was over priced.
It also seemed to be much quieter than last year so maybe management need to rethink strategies and engage more with guests.

I think once is enought to vist this hotel.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Irishhogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

This was my first time at the Atlantis. It's a large hotel and as we entered I felt it was definitely a family destination. Children were running everywhere! Being a holiday, reception was packed. As we waited in line, a gentleman came to us and asked if we were checking in. He then asked us to stand off line and he would take care of check in. 5 minutes later we were done and he apologized for the delay. The staff we encountered were all very helpful and courteous.

If I have a complaint it's that the reception hall was very hot. We live in the Middle East and are used to high temps but if we would have waited for any amount of time we would have been soaked. Other than that we had a great time. You might consider whether you want to go to a quiet resort or one with many family activities and HIGH energy. The grounds are beautiful and there are nice views of the sea and city. If you don't mind large numbers of people (around 1300 rooms) its a nice place to stay. If you want a quiet get away, you might look elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yent67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Amazing place with awesome views, fish tanks are very well maintained which I liked. Grounds are kept very clean. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Booked a tour through them for a desert safari the best night! Location is a bit out of the way as it is on the palm and it's a drive to anything but overall it was fantastic. Water park was average but we got in for free as we stayed there so can't complain.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jade_m55g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
4.4 mi away
Burj Al Arab Jumeirah
Burj Al Arab Jumeirah
#25 of 542 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,107 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sofitel Dubai The Palm Resort & Spa
2.2 mi away
Jumeirah Zabeel Saray
Jumeirah Zabeel Saray
#49 of 542 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Fairmont The Palm, Dubai
2.1 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Dubai Palm Jumeirah
14.4 mi away
Raffles Dubai
Raffles Dubai
#2 of 542 in Dubai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantis, The Palm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantis, The Palm

Property: Atlantis, The Palm
Address: Crescent Road | The Palm Island, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Dubai
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Dubai
#42 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#43 Family Hotel in Dubai
#62 Spa Hotel in Dubai
#92 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Atlantis, The Palm 5*
Number of rooms: 1539
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atlantis is the majestic resort in Dubai situated on The Palm, a man-made island that has captured the world’s imagination with its magnificent scale and ingenuity.From the moment you arrive, you will be immersed in a dazzling world of imagination, pleasure and 5 star luxury. The resort offers relaxation and thrills for couples and families alike, including a landmark hotel, unique marine habitats, an exhilarating water park, pristine white beaches, world-class cuisine, indulgent spa and cosmopolitan boutiques. To stay or visit is to live out your dreams amidst warm Arabian seas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TravelUp, Expedia, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Atlantis, The Palm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantis The Palm Dubai
Atlantis The Palm Hotel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing