We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic family holiday, sorry to leave”
Review of Atlantis, The Palm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Atlantis, The Palm
Ranked #99 of 542 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fantastic family holiday, sorry to leave”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We first had doubts when we had booked a two week stay at the Atlantis during August and during Ramadan with so many negative comments..... Well can only sum this holiday up as AMAZING. Yes it was hot, but you do get use to it, and the fantastic watermark soon sorts that out. The hotel staff totally look after all needs and you couldn't fault a thing. At the hotel you wouldn't have known it was Ramadan as everything continues as normal. We ate in almost all of the restaurants as we had he benefit of having half board when we booked. Although the steak and Japenese restaurants don't fall into the half board categories is still a must, expensive but well worth it. We went out most evenings after sunset. The taxis are so cheap and an excellent source for information.
The hotel is immaculately clean and our room was serviced twice a day. The staff at the concierge are the font of all knowledge within Dubai and will provide you with the best tips to get round and what you should do, especially if it's your first trip there.
The Dubai Malls are something else and were open until 1am!! Try your hand in the Dubai Ski, that was great although you'll be glad of a bit of heat when you come out. Don't forget to take some gloves it's the only thing they don't provide. We also went out on a Sun Downer jeep safari trip in the desert - an absolute must, it was one of our best days and got some fantastic family photos. From the 4x4's, hawk show, camel rides to a brilliant BBQ prepared out in the middle of the desert star gazing.
The kids club is also brilliant and very entertaining. Our daughter went a few times and loved it. Unless you're staying in the Imperial Suites where you receive complementary entry, it can be expensive using it daily.
There is generally so much going on at the hotel, you really don't feel the need to go anywhere else. We met so many nice people, and as I said before the staff no matter where you are around the hotel, waterpark, restaurants even to the guys who run the little golf buggy's transporting people all day long can not do enough to make you feel welcome.
We will definitely come back to the Atlantis and I can't recommend it enough. We will even go back during August (best sun tan by far). Please don't listen to the minor few who have to complain, this hotel is brilliant. I am already scanning through for 2013.

Room Tip: No matter where you stay, the views all around are great. We were on the 9th floor in the East towe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mclou0471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16,217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10,627
    3,263
    1,306
    522
    499
See reviews for
8,401
4,399
205
602
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,654)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

The Thomas family returned to the Atlantis between the 11th and 23rd August 2012. Having stayed at the hotel before (and having experienced the high standard of a number of Dubai hotels in general) in our opinion the Atlantis ticks all the boxes as the best all-round family hotel in Dubai.

We found our suite to be well appointed and in pristine condition; the housekeeping staff were fantastic and were keen to work hard to keep everything spotless.

The choice of dining at the hotel is excellent, Saffron and Kaleidoscope offer an excellent choice of breakfasts and buffets, and Rostang the Michelin star restaurant is superb. For lunchtime we enjoyed eating at The Edge; the staff there were a credit to the hotel, a big thank you to Mercedes, Yani, Vickash, Erwin, Sarah and Sufiyan for their excellent service (the children really enjoyed their spaghetti bolognaise!).. Of an evening we enjoyed dining in the relaxed atmosphere at Nasimi Beach and then relaxing around the zero entry pool adjacent to the restaurant.

The Atlantis water park is a fantastic experience and is very child friendly. Safety is an obvious important factor and it is reassuring to see a high number of lifeguards on duty at all times. The rides are exciting and best of all the queue’s are minimal which means that you can enjoy numerous rides in quick succession.

The dolphin experience was the highlight of our visit and clearly the dolphins are well looked after and enjoy the human interaction. Our dolphin ‘Sol’ was fantastic and his trainer was enthusiastic, informative and she ran a very professional display. The physical contact with Sol was incredible and has left a lasting impression on us all.

The Royal Pool and Zero Entry Pool, as with the water park, were staffed by a high number of lifeguards who always had a smile on their face and took time to talk to the children and adults alike whilst quietly ensuring that everyone enjoyed the pool in a responsible and safe way. Thanks too to the man who brought out the complimentary ice-creams and his colleague who brought out the complimentary iced towels, both were very much appreciated in the heat.

The kids club is the best we have ever seen, especially the dome which extends into the huge aquarium (which is a main feature of the hotel). The range of facilities is superb, everything from computers to an indoor rock climbing wall.

The gym is excellent with a wide range of machines, free weights and cardio equipment (the best we have experienced in Dubai) and the staff again are friendly and informative.

Our children rated the holiday 10/10- looking forward to going back!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tommo001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Stayed in Atlantis the Palm in May but due to laptop problems only writing review now (again).
Booked an Imperial Club room, 13th floor- only drawback was that it didn't have a big balcony and had interconnecting doors to next room.

At weekends the resort gets very busy with families from neighbouring states, with many loud and uncontrollable kids. We were unlucky to have such neighbours for a couple of nights at the weekend and the kids kept trying and knocking on the interconnecting doors, running outside screaming from the top of their lungs. shouting, crying uncontrollably etc, generally very loud. The father didn't seem to care much and eventually, after calling twice, staff came to have a word and kids eventually stopped misbehaving. It was probably 11 pm by then (we were in bed early due to illness from earlier travel).

However, the room was fantastic, large and comfortable, king size bed, windows to the east overlooking Burj Al Arab, the waterpark and lagoon pool, beautiful bathroom, bathrobes and slippers, beach bag and flip flops, very nice and generous toiletries, not a great choice of TV channels but who goes there to watch TV? and a good choice of tea and coffe of superior quality for those moments when you fancied a drink in the room. International newspapers to the room are not free of charge, our mistake for not reading the fine print carefully.

Booking Imperial Club is definitely worth the extra cost. We made the most of the great choice of breakfasts. And after trying it once, would not go anywhere else but the Saffron Restaurant- best breakfast buffet ever (OK, we don't stay in luxury hotels all the time, this was a first...). So good I would sit there all morning drinking cappucinnos, trying different food and reading my book, it was most pleasant!
Tip- When asked for your morning drink, make sure you check the range of coffees on offer- they do espresso, mocha, lattes etc, not just regular coffee but the information is not volunteered (maybe only negative comment about the staff? if it can even be considered that)

Also, you can have snacks and soft drinks throughout the day and use internet laptops at the club. Staff is very helpful and will answer any questions you have. The afternoon tea is delicious- from biscuits and cakes to lovely scones with cream and jam- how very British and am impressive range of delicious teas to choose from!
As about the pre-dinner cocktails and canapés- it is a proper buffet diner, albeit small, but you get a great choice of sandwiches, few hot dishes, cold cuts, cheese, fish and salads, crisps and dips, fruit and cakes- well, enough to satisfy your hunger till the morning. Plus, bubbly and all range of alcoholic drinks- it makes for a delicious light dinner.

We enjoyed evening drinks on the club terrace overlooking the waterpark and aquarium most evenings. It can get quite crowded, lots of families with kids (understandably), but it was never mad and staff were always very helpful and on hand bringing drinks and clearing tables. Suggest getting there early if you want a table on the terrace, furthest from the door best.

One comment on the Club terrace is that it could do with some sun shade for day time, whether in the form of parasoles or a retractable canopy.

The Royal beach is lovely and the view so different, makes it special- we always stayed towards the Nasimi beach end. Water is calm and good for swimming though once it was a little foamy/ dirty, not sure what from. There was never a shortage of sunbeds and beach towels are provided, along with cooling lemon ice lollies. We never used the pools, seems a shame not to use the beach but the pools looked good and very well attended (probably a bit too busy for us).

The dolphin experience is great- was a lovely birthday present from husband and loved every minute- not so much the pictures but that is my own fault ( or maybe I should blame that professional photographer;-)).
TIP- It is probably worth talking to others in your group to buy the picture CD or dongle together and split the cost (though you'd need a laptop to transfer your photos). Family or friends can also go onto the private 'beach' and take pictures of and film your experience (again, for added charges unfortunately).

Aquaventure was great though we were disappointed that we could not use the lockers complimentary- yet more money charged on top of everything else. But we took our things with us and left them under the sunbeds, a risk indeed, yet they were still there after a few trips around the rapids.

We ate at a few restaurants in the resort and all food was delicious- albeit often too rich, or maybe just us too greedy. :-)

Loved the lagoon aquarium- made friends with lots of fish and spent a lot of time watching them in the lost chambers (also complimentary entry). Watch out for the napoleon fish, my favourite. Very instructive too, staff around are very happy to share their knowledge. It is worth noting feeding times and going there to watch it- quite fun. The divers washing the windows are quite entertaining to watch too- you don't get to see that in many places.

The Spa- had a back massage. It was alright but seemed very short and didn't quite release the tension that somehow I had in my next and shoulders. Maybe my expectations were too high. My husband also went for a massage but was put off by the fact that he was asked to change into a pair of 'paper' underpants, as he described them (I'm sure not made of paper), instead of being allowed to stay in his swimming trunks. That made him uncomfortable but the masseur didn't seem to appreciate that and my husband was not good at communicating it either, obviously. I was surprised as I wasn't asked to change from my bikini bottoms.

Concierge staff were very helpful, especially Amir who was excellent in handling transport and restaurant bookings and was always happy to provide tips and information on the resort and the city. In fact we could not fault the staff and noticed that they all seemed very happy.

I could write and write and, in spite of some 'negatives', we loved it here and would go back any day if there wasn't a whole world to explore out there. One of very few places that made me feel like home and was very sad to leave at the end. Absolutely loved it. Maybe expensive but worth every penny!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank S_A_Wills09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypridd
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at Atlantis for the second time in June and experience just as good as before. This time we requested room on high floor overlooking city (yes the reception is busy but we didn't wait longer than five minutes to check in). View from room worth the wait ( tea/coffee available during wait and you can use pool etc).

Half board option good value for money as food is expensive. Only had to wait a few minutes to be seated at all times.

For the waterpark suggest using buggy and go to furthest stop as this area is much quieter - loads of sun loungers and you can pick up a ring from the water. Waterpark very clean with lifeguards everywhere you look.

Being on the palm the hotel is a little out of the way and not a lot to do in the evenings. We therefore Used taxis and tram/train to explore more of Dubai.

All in all a fantastic hotel for families.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robbins71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Been meaning to stay here for some time and the place lived up to expectations. We cannot really fault the property good all round and very well worth the stay. We took the executive floor for that little extra which was well worth it. The lounge gets very busy so get there early for breakfast and evening drinks, though the wine on offer is way below standard. Has an excellent choice of food throughout the day on offer. Rooms are nice with excellent views all over. Great choice of restaurants with more than enough to choose from the many menus on offer. Just remember for the water park take your water from the room $5 for a bottle is a bit steep as is the rest of the food on offer in the park. The dolphin encounter is a great experience the kids loved it, push out the boat just this once but it does not come cheap.

Room Tip: Try and not get a room next door to locals whom tend to stay up late!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce M W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We loved our romantic get away. The hotel is expensive but worth every penny. The water park is awesome, the aqarium at night in the dark is super romantic, the food is amazing and the spa is gorgeous.
Make surety tell them if it is a special occasion. It was my birthday whilst I was there are they delivered a birthday cake to my our room and a spa voucher.
Save before you go and once you are there dine in each restaurant (but avoid the underground shopping mall which is very over priced).
Drink cocktails by the pool as sun sets, swim with dolphins and enjoy the very friendly service.
You could totally stay in the hotel without leaving but jump on the monorail or grab a cab and visit Dubai city and it's shopping malls. Whatever you do don't miss a camel ride and jeep trip in the dessert!

Room Tip: If you can stay in a club room if you can afford that little bit more. The room with beautiful bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed at the imperial club and had the most rich experience ever, from meeting the dolphins to playing in the adventure park, the aquarium and so much more it was a unique experience that we will forever treasure, even though it was costly it was the best treat, avoid visiting during summer if you can. The best time is April, May, June, October

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sawsan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
4.4 mi away
Burj Al Arab Jumeirah
Burj Al Arab Jumeirah
#25 of 542 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,106 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sofitel Dubai The Palm Resort & Spa
2.2 mi away
Jumeirah Zabeel Saray
Jumeirah Zabeel Saray
#49 of 542 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Fairmont The Palm, Dubai
2.1 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Dubai Palm Jumeirah
14.4 mi away
Raffles Dubai
Raffles Dubai
#2 of 542 in Dubai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantis, The Palm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantis, The Palm

Property: Atlantis, The Palm
Address: Crescent Road | The Palm Island, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Dubai
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Dubai
#42 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#43 Family Hotel in Dubai
#62 Spa Hotel in Dubai
#92 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Atlantis, The Palm 5*
Number of rooms: 1539
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atlantis is the majestic resort in Dubai situated on The Palm, a man-made island that has captured the world’s imagination with its magnificent scale and ingenuity.From the moment you arrive, you will be immersed in a dazzling world of imagination, pleasure and 5 star luxury. The resort offers relaxation and thrills for couples and families alike, including a landmark hotel, unique marine habitats, an exhilarating water park, pristine white beaches, world-class cuisine, indulgent spa and cosmopolitan boutiques. To stay or visit is to live out your dreams amidst warm Arabian seas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TravelUp, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Atlantis, The Palm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantis The Palm Dubai
Atlantis The Palm Hotel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing