We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can now understand the wide variation in reviews” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Copthorne Hotel Dubai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Copthorne Hotel Dubai
Ranked #213 of 544 Hotels in Dubai
Melbourne
Level Contributor
59 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Can now understand the wide variation in reviews”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

Stayed here for the first time for 4 nights early May 2014 and can now understand the wide variation in reviews.

The Good

Hotel is convenient to the airport but in a great location only 5 minutes walk from Deira City Centre and the Metro station.

Concierge was at the taxi in moments and had the luggage organised.

Served a glass of chilled orange juice on arrival and smiles and nice greetings all round.

Nice sizable room, huge bathroom, clean, plenty of hot water, separate spa and shower, great views from the 8th floor over the skyscrapers of Bur Dubai, everything worked, etc

The Bad

The hotel seriously let down by very patchy service and stupid attitudes or lack of attention by SOME staff.

Reception on check-in seemed to be done by someone who had sat in the chair for the first time and it took forever. but really didn't want to be held up in reception for a ridiculously long time after a 16 hour flight.

At breakfast in the restaurant reasonable buffet laid out and chef prepared great omelette, but coffee stone cold every day for 4 days, very slow service by disinterested staff and a simple request was responded with "I only work here, ask a manager".

First day, room was not serviced at all by the time we returned at 7pm, reception was very concerned when we reported it and promised to have to serviced immediately, we went out and came back at 10pm. Towels changed and bed made, but no bathroom accessories - soap, shampoo etc. Called down again and new supplies arrived within a couple of minutes with apologies galore.

Went to concierge and specifically requested a meter taxi, shown to a vehicle outside (obviously a "mate") which was not a meter taxi at all and proceeded to try and negotiate a price more than double the fare we had paid for the same trip the day before.

The Game Changer

Most of the above is negative, but we also were greeted every day from day 2-4 by a night reception supervisor who treated us like long lost friends and nothing was too much trouble and went out of his way to make us feel like we were the most valued guests the hotel had on file - coming out from behind the desk and shaking hands and a smile as big as skyscraper. His individual actions and those of the young Filipino lady at reception in the restaurant left lasting impressions that make us want to stay there again next trip regardless of the lapses and actions of other staff.

Room Tip: Bur Dubai View Room, higher level great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IPANT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHD_DXB, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Dubai, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Mr. Ipant,

Greetings!

We would like to thank you for your feedback and for letting us know your experience. We had noted your comments and opinion because from that, we will improve our service as our goal is to serve every guests with the good quality and proper service. Apologize as well for the inconvenience caused and had discussed with the concerned to act accordingly.

Looking forward to welcoming you once again in your future trip.

Best regards,
Copthorne Hotel Dubai Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    193
    101
    33
    24
See reviews for
114
108
48
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

I had a business convention this week and chose to stay at this hotel. It was amazing. Alaa Salameh, the GM, was very courteous and hospitable. The Indian there is amazing and definitely worth trying. Very spacious rooms with a great kitchen and outside balcony with room to sit comfortable. Across the street there is a beautiful park to enjoy a morning strolls. Breakfast is good. I stayed at the presidential suite and it can easily accommodate a family of five. The staff are super friendly and helpful in all areas. The shuttle bus provided easy to access to the outlet mall, so no need to pay for transportation. It is also 10 min away from the airport. I would highly recommend the experience to friends and family.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank Ibrahim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHD_DXB, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Dubai, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Mr. Ibrahim,

Greetings!

We really appreciate for taking some time in reviewing our service & facilities and even grateful for your feedback. We will definitely strive more to provide the best quality service to all our valued guests and we look forward to welcoming you once again in your next visit.

Best regards,
Copthorne Hotel Dubai Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Park
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

Meeting room was tiny, hot, and had to ask 3X every day for BREWED COFFEE. Hot snacks were cold. Got a good rate on hotel website - could not give me same rate for a two day extension asked for at checking - good - I walked 100 meters and got a better hotel and rate

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Joseph W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHD_DXB, Director of Sales at Copthorne Hotel Dubai, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Mr. Joseph,

Greetings!

We thank you for your review and apologize for the inconvenience however we've been trying to provide your request accordingly which is in accordance to the hotel policy and procedure. But there are cases as well as explained that we could not extend easily.

We are still looking forward to serve you on your next visit and really appreciate for your feedback.

Best regards,
Copthorne Hotel Dubai Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

The hotel was good but if everybody wants to go to dubi mall should pay 30 drh.
Its view was very nice (city view) and its meals comparatively was good but every time its rice was cold.
Totally was good but if l return back to past ,was searching more about good hotel that was better than it.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Mahdi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHD_DXB, Director of Sales at Copthorne Hotel Dubai, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Mahdi,

Greetings!

We are so grateful for your review and for informing us your opinion. We had noted your comments and advise the concerned to act on it in order to provide the quality service.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Best regards,
Copthorne Hotel Dubai Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

First,when I walked in the hotel STANK like I don't even know what.. maybe some kind of perfumey pesticide? Then, a disastrous check in. Long story. Basically my key opened not only my room, but the room next door which was occupied. Thank goodness no one was home. This totally freaked me out along with the stink and I went back downstairs and asked for a refund. They were VERY VERY nice, and upgraded me to a suite, but it was DIRTY. Clean under the beds people! I wouldn't sit on the couch, it looked gross. The stink was in the room too, so again, I'm guessing exterminator. I now have two big spots on my face where something bit me. (I can't say I got this in the hotel, but I just don't know.) However, I can tell you I left my clothes in the living room. I feel terrible writing this review, because really the service was VERY nice, but it was just dirty and run down and was not up to a 3 star standard by any means. Next time I will spend a little more $. It is convenient to hotel and metro. I was also a bit grossed out by the breakfast in the restaurant. People were down there in their slippers, (gross, but not the hotel's fault) and it also had a funky smell in the breakfast room. The next day I skipped breakfast. It was too much for me. The pool was nice, but the pictures they have on their website of the health club were misleading. They had 2 treadmills and a few machines. I was there for the weekend of a business trip to the Middle East.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jstrahler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHD_DXB, Director of Sales at Copthorne Hotel Dubai, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Ms. Joan,

Greetings!

We would like to thank you for your feedback and for letting us know your experience. And we really sorry for the inconvenience caused and the disappointment you had during your stay. We tried to reach you out to verify some details and to be able to act accordingly. We will strive more to give the kind of service that will make our every guest experience a wonderful one.

We are still looking forward to welcoming you in your future trip in Dubai.

Best regards,
Copthorne Hotel Dubai Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

Stayed here for a couple of days on the way back from Nairobi. Very clean and friendly checkin in staff, especially at 6am in the morning. The only disappointing things was the Indian restaurant was not open and the skyline restaurant was a building site. Ate at the buffet though and this was reasonable for the price, as was breakfast. Metro station about 3-4 mins walk with access to the airport and all the main attractions. Am staying here again in June for another business visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHD_DXB, Director of Sales at Copthorne Hotel Dubai, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Mr. Paul,

Greetings!

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking some time in reviewing our service & facilities and even grateful for letting us know your feedback. We apologize for the disappointment caused but we are doing the best we can and we look forward to welcoming you once again in your next visit.

Best regards,
Copthorne Hotel Dubai Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

The hotel is close to airport, within proximity to downtown, clean, quite, nice views of the creek, staff are extremely friendly and helpful - Super experience. Recommended for solo travelers and couples.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Nadim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHD_DXB, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Dubai, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Nadim,

Greetings!

We are so grateful for letting us know your review and more grateful that you had enjoy your stay with us. Really appreciate for your recommendation and looking forward to seeing you again.

Best regards,
Copthorne Hotel Dubai Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
1.0 mi away
Millennium Airport Hotel Dubai
0.1 mi away
Flora Creek Deluxe Hotel Apartments
16.9 mi away
Armada BlueBay
Armada BlueBay
#212 of 544 in Dubai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Somewhere Hotel
Somewhere Hotel
#204 of 544 in Dubai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.5 mi away
City Seasons Hotel
City Seasons Hotel
#203 of 544 in Dubai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
0.1 mi away
Flora Park Deluxe Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Dubai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Dubai

Property: Copthorne Hotel Dubai
Address: | Port Saeed, Near Deira City Centre, Dubai 119311, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#129 Business Hotel in Dubai
#182 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Dubai 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Copthorne Hotel Dubai is ideally located in Port Saeed, Deira just 300 metres from the shopping and entertainment complex, Deira City Centre and metro station and within 4kms of Dubai International Airport (DXB). Overlooking the picturesque Dubai Creek, it is contemporary in style with 210 spaciously comfortable guest-rooms and suites. Most rooms offer guests relaxing views over Dubai creek and surrounding parks from private balconies and room types include the Superior Room, 1 bedroom and 2 bedroom suites, as well as our 4-bedroom Duplex Penthouse Suite. Other facilities include 2 Restaurants serving international cuisine and non-alcoholic beverages, 5 meeting rooms, an outdoor pool terrace and jacuzzi, health club, Spa and ladies hair salon. The Copthorne Hotel embodies Arabian hospitality provided by a multi-lingual team of service driven hoteliers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Dubai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dubai Copthorne Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing