We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DISAPPOINTING STAY!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Dubai
Ranked #227 of 542 Hotels in Dubai
Wigton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“DISAPPOINTING STAY!”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

I would like to review this hotel-positives-pleasant enough door staff,reasonable location,good breakgfast and restaurant room.
Negatives-plugs in bathroom didnt work,jacuzzi in room didnt work,asked for non-smoking bedroom -was told guests smoke in all of the rooms-smell of stale tobacco in room! communal toilets swimming in fluid! asked for a late check out as was not flying until 3.30am-told no room avalable-staff very unhelpfull!!!! i would return to Dubai -but not this hotel-all faults and complaints were logged at hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    201
    103
    32
    26
See reviews for
117
112
51
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Karachi, Pakistan
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

I was very pleased from the start when I walked in to the hotel. Very good environment. Ideal for Families and Business Trips. Great savings because it is very close to the Deira City Center Station. Staff is very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shahrukh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We booked a one night stay in order to do some sight-seeing in Dubai, which was our disembarkation port after a 14 night cruise. We were travelling with 12 friends, so we had reserved 4 suites. The rooms were first class - clean, bright, well furnished with flat screen tv's in all the rooms, along with free WIFI access. The manager was exceptionally nice,and gave us first class treatment. The staff were extremely helpful and made our stay there stress free. The hotel had a tour desk and they helped arrange the shuttle bus for our tour around Dubai. The buffet breakfast was excellent, which the Manager included in the price of the room. The hotel location was perfect, we were able to walk to the mall and transit station. Our flight was in the evening, but the Hotel Manager allowed us to have use of our rooms past the scheduled checkout time. The tour desk arranged our trip to the airport on the hotel shuttle for a very reasonable price. This hotel stay was truly a wonderful experience!

Room Tip: Restaurant has reasonable prices for good food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rosalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I contacted the hotel on Sunday 17 march to reserve a room for 21 March. I specifically mentioned I have a 6 month old baby and asked for a cot which was confirmed. I arrived 21 March with no valet person outside or any indication where to park. At reception I again asked for the cot and was told room service will bring it. Once we entered our room, the drilling from construction work in the hotel was so loud that we could barely hear each other. I couldn't put my baby down to nap due to the noise. I contacted reception and room service twice again asking for the cot and kept on being told they will bring it. At 17:30 I went to reception and asked again only to be told that they have no cot available. I then asked to see the manager. A gentleman called Mina. He told me to give him 15 minutes. 15 minutes later (18:30), he called to move us to a different room due to the noise but said he is still looking for a cot. I then had to pack up everything, go to a new room and make a bed on the floor with duvets and pillows foe my baby. She couldn't sleep betweenbus as she never has and I did not want ro run the risk of her smothering under the duvet. Letting her sleep on the floor and not in a cot is just as dangerous as they can pull the pillows or duvet over their face. A HUGE risk for SIDS. We specifically chose this hotel as you clearly advertise your child friendly facilities. The new room we were put in basically took us from bad to worse. The aircon is set at 16 degrees and not matter what we did, it doesn't go higher. The one kitchen sink plug was bent so it cannot be used. The bar fridge wasnt stocked.

For an iinternational hotel group and a room that I paid AED 950 for, this is unacceptable. This is the worse service I have ever had from any hotel in the middle east. Now I have to try and sleep while worrying about my baby sleeping on a duvet and the potential of her getting injured or worse, smothering under the duvet.

If it wasnt 6pm at night and if I didnt live in Abu Dhabi, I would've left the hotel when they told me that the cot is not available. But my baby had to sleep.

I do not expect an apology. Im sick of apologies. And if I am going to get a standard response from the general manager, then do not even bother. I expect action to be taken and to be compensated for the bad experience we had.

If you read the reviews then I am not the first person to have been promised a baby cot and then have it unavailable.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sondra-hope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worldwide
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We just spent 2 nights at this hotel. Originally only 1 night was booked via booking.com. We tried call the hotel direct to book a second night however, the receptionists kept hanging up on us. When we eventually got through they informed us that reservations closed at 8pm, it was 1 minute past 8!
When we did arrive we were made to wait 30 minutes before our room was ready and when I asked if there was a bar, they informed me that it was a dry hotel. (No mention of this during booking).
Later on the first night, we placed the breakfast card on the door for the next morning. When breakfast arrived, there was only 1 breakfast for 2 people! We were then told that we had only requested 1 breakfast. 2nd day we returned around 5pm to find the room un-made and the breakfast trays still in the room.
We complained about the service and the attitude of the staff concerned. We were up-graded, however this is not the point.
Dubai has a huge number of hotels that provide a great quality of service and amenities. Shop around even the ibis hotel over the road is far superior.
Thank you Copthorne but NEVER again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lov_leeWorldwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
72 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

I stayed here a couple of nights on a business trip just because it was recommended by Agoda and cheaper than its peer 5-stars in the area. I remembered my Dad's words: Everything cheap is not good and Most things good are never cheap!. I realized the moment I entered the small unimpressive lobby - I always wonder how 4-star hotels in Dubai get 5-star ratings? The concierge team was only interested in pushing customers to a private taxi service parked outside their porch. This hotel is off the main road and hence not many public taxis pass by - this is a haven for the concierge team to make an extra buck by recommending more expensive taxis to unsuspecting customers. The rooms are a good size with poor lighting and the bathroom has sub-optimal shower pressure. I complained on Day1 to the housekeeping about a non-functional power-point but no one bothered for the next 48 hours to repair it. The breakfast is like that of a 2-star hotel and guests keep waiting for the chefs to appear at the live Omlette counter! I waited for 15 minutes and left without the Omlette. I wanted to go on a complimentary shuttle service provided by the Dubai Outlet Mall. The concierge informed me that the hotel pick-up time for guests is 16:25 hours. I came down at 16:15 hours and was told that the bus had just left. The staff is mighty irresponsible. I realised that the hotel is running on auto-pilot because Emirates Airlines uses it as a transit Hotel for its guests.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet because the Hotel is off the busy roads!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drallah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopDxb, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Dubai, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Copthorne Hotel Dubai!

We would like to thank you for the below and we are expecting your next visit to extend our Hospitality for you

Copthorne Hotel Dubai Managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Reception staff are pretty poor - checked us into a smoking instead of non smoking room when I clearly asked for the letter. After much debating over whether non smoking rooms were available or not and me threatening to hold the hotel accountable for any health related concerns (the smoke stench in the rooms was unbearable) we were shifted to another room in 20 mins!

No free Wifi, when I asked for their business centre hours, "Sorry sir, its closed for renovations" I asked for a Wifi connection in the room. "Sorry sir, this is only available down at reception!" I had to use the Wifi at the cafe downstairs, 20 dirhams minimum spend to get a connection for an hour.

Do not select a room with the Park view, this is on the same side as their wedding/reception venue. They have speakers mounted on the walls - It was so loud that I didnt get to sleep until 12am at night when the function ended, then had to get 14hr non stop flight at 7am. Not fun at all.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elvin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopDxb, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Dubai, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Copthorne Hotel Dubai!

We would like to thank you for the below and we are expecting your next visit to extend our Hospitality for you

Copthorne Hotel Dubai Managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
1.1 mi away
Millennium Airport Hotel Dubai
0.1 mi away
Flora Creek Deluxe Hotel Apartments
0.1 mi away
Somewhere Hotel
Somewhere Hotel
#219 of 542 in Dubai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Novotel Dubai Deira City Centre
0.1 mi away
Flora Park Deluxe Hotel Apartments
0.5 mi away
City Seasons Hotel
City Seasons Hotel
#204 of 542 in Dubai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Dubai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Dubai

Property: Copthorne Hotel Dubai
Address: | Port Saeed, Near Deira City Centre, Dubai 119311, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#129 Business Hotel in Dubai
#192 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Dubai 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Copthorne Hotel Dubai is ideally located in Port Saeed, Deira just 300 metres from the shopping and entertainment complex, Deira City Centre and metro station and within 4kms of Dubai International Airport (DXB). Overlooking the picturesque Dubai Creek, it is contemporary in style with 210 spaciously comfortable guest-rooms and suites. Most rooms offer guests relaxing views over Dubai creek and surrounding parks from private balconies and room types include the Superior Room, 1 bedroom and 2 bedroom suites, as well as our 4-bedroom Duplex Penthouse Suite. Other facilities include 2 Restaurants serving international cuisine and non-alcoholic beverages, 5 meeting rooms, an outdoor pool terrace and jacuzzi, health club, Spa and ladies hair salon. The Copthorne Hotel embodies Arabian hospitality provided by a multi-lingual team of service driven hoteliers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Dubai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dubai Copthorne Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing