We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but requires a bit of tweaking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Dubai The Palm Resort & Spa
Ranked #48 of 550 Hotels in Dubai
Bahrain
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good but requires a bit of tweaking”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We booked a suit for one night in September 2013. We had to wait a bt until it was our turn to check in. The room was really nice. It was new with the smell of pain still in it The good thing is that our package included half board. Their food was good.
We were travelling on our anniversary. This was explained to the hotel in advance. The room didn't have anything in it to resemble this. The funny thing is that a butler knocked on our door and awoke us from our nap to say that he had keft some sweets in the room but it seems they were removed by housekeeping.
The beach was not sand. It felt like crused shells and hurts the feet. A short walk in the water and it gets deep. The main pool though was very nice. It was deep in the middle and bid enough for a good swim.
Likewise the check out took forever to get over with.
I guess they need sometime to get their act together as one would expect a more organised serviced from a Sofitel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ahmed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelDxbPalm, Guest Experience and Quality Assurance Management at Sofitel Dubai The Palm Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your Tripadvisor review of our hotel following your stay with us.

This feedback has most certainly been shared with our team who are extremely keen to listen to our guests and deliver magnifique experiences.

We apologize for the minor callenges with the check-in and would like to assure you that we take the feedback of our guests extremely seriously as we strive to enhance our levels of service.

We thank you again and would be humbled to welcome you back to Sofitel Dubai the Palm.

Yours Sincerely,
Guest Experience and Quality Assurance Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,427
    854
    273
    99
    73
See reviews for
1,598
2,057
104
178
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (937)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
riyadh
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I was looking forward to this vacation on Eid Break, upon check in i was informed that Breakfast was not included in my premium suite rate, I then told him that it was, he called someone else and then admitted he made a mistake, he then swiped my AMEX for US$4000, for a 3 night stay. The key cards did not work upon arrival in the room. The porter told me I had to go done myself to get new cards. The Room was very nice and then proceeded to the Lounge room for complimentary refreshments as advertised, but it was closed. I was then informed that this facility is not opened yet. I then asked to see the manager, I waited 30mins, I told him about all the above, and he said that on check in I should have been advised. He then came back 5mins later with a letter offering complimentary cocktails each day. I then proceeded to the lounge cafe where we ordered lunch. 20mins later the Waitress returned to take the order again as she had forgotten what we wanted as she had not written it down. When she delivered it she gave the wrong dishes and apologized that they had run out of the dish she was actually serving us! I then asked the concierge where the Bar was, I was informed that no bars open till 730pm. I then had had enough and requested that I check out, a customer services representative came and apologised for the problems stating the staff are new but there was the pool bar open all day, and I should let the hotel have a chance. I agreed and was led to a table on the beach that was very good. We gave our drink order, after 25mins the waitress came back asking if we had had our food yet, we said we only ordered drinks. She Went away again, after 10mins we left, and checked out!. The Hotel inside is very nice as well as the rooms, but in 90mins, i had checked in and Checked out. This has been the worst experience I have had at a 5* Hotel, and the worst experience of this Brand, they have served me well in the past.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Drew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C-Schnyder, General Manager at Sofitel Dubai The Palm Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

On regard of your short visit to our hotel, I do regret that a string of coincidental errors provided you with a negative experience. This level of service is most certainly not what we would like to be recognised for and we offer you our deepest apologies for not meeting your expectations.

Every kind of feedback from our guests is important as it enables us to identify and measure our strengths and weaknesses and to work toward improving the quality of our services.

It is apparent from your remarks that we certainly have a very large area to cover. I assure you that your observations will be shared with the concerned Department Heads for inmediate corrective action.

Sincerely,

C. Schnyder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed in a two bed apartment which was gorgeous. Staff were really helpful and considerate.
Although there were a few problems I think this is just teething as its only recently opened.
My wife and my daughter both had birthdays and the staff laid on cake and balloons which they loved.
My only criticism is breakfast. My wife arrived at 10:15, waited 20mins to be seated, 20 mins for a high chair only to be told breakfast was finishing at 11.The breakfast was cleared dead on 11 as though there was a fire in the building!
We refused to pay as none of our family had managed to eat properly, especially as its £30 each!
I checked out the night before we left as we had an early start, only to be told in the morning they had forgotten to charge for an extra bed so tried to charge extra.
On the whole, great place but think more training is needed for the management.
We would definitely
stay again.

Room Tip: We had a room that gave us views over Dubai and the world development. Some building work going on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weewilky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelDxbPalm, Guest Executive and Quality Management at Sofitel Dubai The Palm Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your Tripadvisor review of our hotel following your stay with us.

This feedback has most certainly been shared with our team who are extremely keen to listen to our guests and deliver magnifique experiences.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel The Palm, Dubaii.

Yours Sincerely,
Guest Executive and Quality Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francescas, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I just came back from 10 days trip with my family and friends. We were all at the sofitel palm. I really can't describe it.. it was perfect. First of all we were really impressed by the architecture of the hotel, it's big, beautiful and has this touch of nature with the wood and the green, absolutely amazing. The rooms were fabulous, nothing to say, big, clean, well designed and really relaxing. The pool and the beach area were awesome !!! the pool is big with a really nice design and we had the best time there. the service really surprised me, I travel a lot around the world, but in this hotel I was really surprised by the staff. Everyone was so friendly, they did everything they could to make your stay fabulous and it worked ! The food was delicious, with the 7 different types of restaurants, you have all you need to make your self happy. So all I can say is that, this trip, was the trip of my life, and I really commend this hotel !

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C-Schnyder, General Manager at Sofitel Dubai The Palm Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for giving us excellent feedback on Tripadvisor.
I was extremely happy to read that you had a “Magnifique” experience staying with us and you enjoyed all of our facilities.

We really apprecaite your kind comments on regards of our architecture and design, our spacious rooms and our relaxing pool area.

We look forward to welcoming you back in Sofitel The Palm, Dubai.

Yours sincerely,

C.Schnyder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

I absolutely loved this hotel. The room was gorgeous with huge balcony, the fish restaurant had the most delicious food and beautiful setting and the pool area was the most relaxing perfect place to unwind. I would completely recommend this hotel x

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SamanthaFord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C-Schnyder, General Manager at Sofitel Dubai The Palm Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for giving us excellent feedback on Tripadvisor.
I was extremely happy to read that you had a “Magnifique” experience staying with us and you enjoyed all of our facilities.

We really apprecaite your kind comments on regards of our fantastic Seafood restaurant, our spacious rooms and our relaxing pool area.

We look forward to welcoming you back in Sofitel The Palm, Dubai.

Yours sincerely,

C.Schnyder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We went to Dubai for a one week break in the above hotel. Beautifully appointed large room with a large balcony overlooking the sea and in the distance views of the Burj Khalifa. Very good value buffet which had excellent international cuisine, extremely helpful waiting staff. The hotel fronts the beach, bliss, the sea was very clear and full of small and medium fish and cormorants, swimming area very safe and water very warm- life guard on duty at all times. There were four or five pools around the hotel, one with a water slide. The main pool did get a bit congested at first as people came down to put belongings on a recliner and then went away - at the end of our holiday the staff put notices about to say that they would put belongings into lost property if the seats were not used for over an hour, and that instantly relieved this issue. But the smaller pools (also with life guards) were never busy and there was never a time when we couldn't find a recliner. We went to a speciality restaurant one evening which was excellent but expensive. We also used the spa, the staff were excellent. The inside of the hotel has an unusual feature, walls of plants which was very attractive.
The downside - the hotel wasn't quite finished so the shopping arcades were not yet open - presumably this will be remedied by the end of the year, although we were not inconvenienced by the building work as workers were very discreet. There was a glass partition between bedroom and bathroom so if someone got up to the bathroom in the night it illuminated the bedroom. Also we found that on our wing we had to walk a long way to get to the beach, as there was no access to the beach from our side of the hotel except down a fire escape. This may be remedied when the hotel is fully completed.
I would recommend this hotel for people who want to get away from it all and have a really relaxing break; I don't think it will be bettered as a get away from it all destination when it is completely functional. But if you want to see the main attractions of Dubai, it might be worthwhile to think of booking a hotel nearer to the metro.

Room Tip: All rooms are good as they either face the sea or face the beach, I don't think anyone would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C-Schnyder, General Manager at Sofitel Dubai The Palm Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your kind comments posted on tripadvisor following your stay at Sofitel The Palm Dubai.

I am also delighted to read that you will be returning to stay with us in the near future.
We certainly look forward to welcoming you back and to continue ensuring your stays with us please you and provide such great memories.

Sincerely,

C.Schnyder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We have stayed 15 days in this amazing resort... having been in Dubai more than 50 times since 2004,and stayed in all the best hotels including the 7 star one more than 10 times... I can say that this is the best resort for families with children as well as for singles who loves clubbing.

Brand new, the architecture and the interior design makes you feel that you are far far away... even the atmosphere perfumes and the music at the background was magnificent.

The resort has 7 restaurants... all has ultımate quality of food, perfect atmosphere, distinguished concepts and top level service quality. The hotel holds the best Chinese restaurant and the one of the best Chinese restaurant.. the french restaurants concept deserves a photo shooting... the international buffets design, variety, freshness of food, and care taken by the stuff is worth to underline.
We have discovered some wonderful tastes which we had not experience before...Of Course, we all put on some weight ... :)

Amura kids club is a wonderland for the children.. they have a separate ice cream house surrounded by water canals, even going to take a cone of ice is a memorable adventure for your kids.

The beach is very nice... the pool surrounded by cabanas... Everything was just wonderful... we will turn back in 3 weeks and for sure they got us as loyal guests ... :)

You live in an at most luxury...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovapeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C-Schnyder, General Manager at Sofitel Dubai The Palm Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Sofitel The Palm, Dubai and for your recent review on Tripadvisor.
It was our great pleasure to look after you and serve you according to our high standards.
I am pleased to read that you enjoyed our facilities speacially the kidsclub and our dining choices.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon and create one more ‘Magnifique’ Journey for you.

Sincerely,

C.Schnyder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
The Marina
Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach
Rixos The Palm Dubai
#26 of 550 in Dubai
2,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jumeirah Zabeel Saray
#53 of 550 in Dubai
5,134 reviews
Atlantis, The Palm
#106 of 550 in Dubai
16,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Dubai The Palm Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Dubai The Palm Resort & Spa

Property: Sofitel Dubai The Palm Resort & Spa
Address: East Crescent Road | The Palm Jumeirah, Dubai 55558, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Dubai
#36 Spa Hotel in Dubai
#44 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Dubai The Palm Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 543
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover why SOFITEL DUBAI THE PALM LUXURY APARTMENTS is such a superb destination for family vacations in Dubai. Adults and children alike will be thrilled by the relaxed Polynesian island theme of this luxury 5-star resort on Palm Jumeirah island. Families can vacation in a beach-side suite or villa with Gulf views. Serviced apartments suit longer stays, with kitchens, lounges and up to 3 bedrooms. Babysitting can be arranged if you fancy a night in downtown Dubai, a monorail or taxi.Amura Kids Club guarantees hours of fun for children of all ages, keeping them happy, active and safe while you indulge in well-deserved relaxation. Two of the swimming pools are exclusively for kids, who will love the slides and waterfalls. Seven restaurants and bars offer refined cuisine from around the world so there's something for every taste.Don't miss the popular Friday brunch at family-friendly Manava, which offers heaped buffets for breakfast, lunch and dinner throughout the week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel Dubai The Palm Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palm Shoreline Apartments Hotel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing