We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please give better service, you're a good hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Dubai Mina Seyahi Beach Resort & Marina
Ranked #58 of 556 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 3, 2011

I stay at the Westin every couple of months as it's a really nice hotel. But as with a lot of comments here, the reception is a shambles. I work in the area of org change and process improvement and quite frankly, would recommend getting rid of that front office manager that keeps getting bad reviews (I have also "experienced" her), get more staff that stand out the front and just be nicer. It ain't that hard and would make checking in better for all. Restaurant staff are not fantastic but it's Dubai so I expect that.

Apart from that the actual hotel is very nice, food generally good, decent bars, good location.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BusTravel161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSeyahi, General Manager at The Westin Dubai Mina Seyahi Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2011

Dear BusTravel161,
Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments.

Rest assured all TripAdvisor comments are shared with the Executive Management to reinforce our strict and consistent adherence to five-star service and standards.

Upon your return to Dubai it would be a pleasure to welcome you back and have you stay with us again.

Peter A.
General Manager, Complex
The Westin Dubai Mina Seyahi Beach Resort & Marina
Le Méridien Mina Seyahi Beach Resort & Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,090)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,218 - 2,224 of 3,091 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2011

Wow, what an experience from the moment we tried to check-in, which was my idea of service from hell to playing hunt the beach-towel to when we tried to book for dinner or to when they locked us out of our room for half an hour-nice, with small children! The hotel is lovely, great beach, lovely long swimming pool, lap pool and kid's pool in a green garden leading down to the beach. The rooms are really nice, the lounge is lovely with great evening cocktails and afternoon tea. But service is sooo bad you would never believe it, they were rude at check-in, they do not tell you anything about the room, no newspapers, no towels or staff on the beach, no bar service staff around at the pool/beach area. Such a shame, I mean shambles!! Take lots of patience with you!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank SheikhaVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSeyahi, General Manager at The Westin Dubai Mina Seyahi Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2011

Dear SheikhaVictoria,
Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments.

Please accept my sincere apologies that your stay with us was not as memorable as anticipated. Rest assured we regularly review all feedback and take corrective action, but most importantly this does not reflect our general standards.

I have shared your review with the Management team to reinforce our strict and consistent adherence to five-star service and standards.

Should you wish to return to Dubai it would be a pleasure to welcome you back and have you stay with us again.

Peter A.
General Manager, Complex
The Westin Dubai Mina Seyahi Beach Resort & Marina
Le Méridien Mina Seyahi Beach Resort & Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2011

stayed at westi from 17thdec 1st jan. on arrival my son wasnt well and we were very kindly upgraded from aex sea view room to a one bedroomed suite. Suite was great. Rooms one of the most well equiped and comfortable in dubai. We have stayed at most of the top end beach hotels in dubai and would rate the westin as one of the best.
I first went to this hotel on their opening week and sadly didnt stay as they were very disaorganised and after hearing good things thought id give it another go. Sixteen of us went on a family xmas holiday. The ex lounge is by far one of the best we have used. Both the food and drink presentations and the staff in the lougne were excellent. Many thanks to Emily, mashrud , Venice and the rest of the team they were all both lovely and efficient.
The kids are now allowed in the lounge and were made to feel very welcome in the hotel. Great bars and restaurants. Sam the guy who organises the activites was a real hit with the kids. if there any sugestion i would make to make it a major front runner in the hotel stakes in dubai would be some sort of older kids club. My son is 11 going on 25 .
Beds are great, housekeeping great. Also the staff seem to genuinely enjoy their jobs and although i tip quite a lot you dont feel under pressure to as you do in alot of other hotels.
Many thanks to all the staff for a fantastic family holiday. kerry dark

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kerrylou10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSeyahi, General Manager at The Westin Dubai Mina Seyahi Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2011

Dear kerrylou10,
Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments.

It was a pleasure to welcome you back and wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay. I was pleased to learn Sam, Emily, Mashrud and Venice made your stay particularly comfortable.

Should you wish to return to Dubai it would be a pleasure to welcome you back and have you stay with us yet again.

Peter A.
General Manager, Complex
The Westin Dubai Mina Seyahi Beach Resort & Marina
Le Méridien Mina Seyahi Beach Resort & Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2011

We stayed in late Dec 10 in Westin Dubai, I is a lovely hotel when you drive up to the entrance. however after this it was down hill for a while. We arrived very early in the morning and I do understand check in time is at 3pm. When arrived the reception was very busy with check outs and check in. Only one person on the reception which i thought was wired being a 5star hotel. Once we had waited 15 Min's it was our turn. The Gentleman that welcomed us was very nice and helpful, he apologised for having us waiting and carried on with check in. As i expected the room was not ready.

We came back 2 or more hours later to see if the room was ready it was not. I was most upset therefore had ask for a manager to speck to. Out came this very grumpy lady! She told me she is the Front Office Manager and 'we are very sorry sir but we have not Had any check outs yet therefore your room is not ready, our check in time is at 3pm and you should understand you did book to come at our busiest time!'. That's is not true as saw people check out when i arrived. and she did not need to repeat what i was already told, i just waited to know how she could help us. finally we got a room at 2pm after waiting hours. I was given a 4th floor room with no balcony horrible view and two large beds. A 1.5 year old does not need a large bed! i requested to move, 45 Min's later the bell boy come to help us to move, we moved to a every nice room with large balcony on the 3rd floor but was very very smoky. then we moved once again this time by 5 pm!

When I approached Andrea (Front Office Manager) told me to wait as she is busy doing something in the system! Then told me that all the rooms are the some so i don't see your issue. She looked very stressed and I do not think should be the Manager because she has no people skills and could try smiling more often. Over my stay i could see the reception was very under staffed and that must put pressure on her and her time, i did witness her best rude to other guest was well as her staff. i hope this was just a bad week for her and is not like this all the time and she will single handed bring Westin down!

Other than reception the hotel is nice, lovely beach and pools, kids club is great.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller10042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSeyahi, General Manager at The Westin Dubai Mina Seyahi Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2011

Dear Traveller10042,
Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments.

I do sincerely apologize that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. Whilst it was a pleasure to learn the Kids Club and Recreation facilities were great, I have promptly shared your overall review with our Executive Management.

Should you wish to return to Dubai it would be a pleasure to welcome you back and have you stay with us again.

Peter A.
General Manager, Complex
The Westin Dubai Mina Seyahi Beach Resort & Marina
Le Méridien Mina Seyahi Beach Resort & Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2011

My family and I stayed here for one week in January, there were nine of us in total including three children, two aged six and one aged two.

Firstly can I say I have not stayed in any other hotel where the staff were so friendly to both the adults and children.
Upon arrival we were greeted by a lovely cold mango juice and towels, and the children were immediatley given a complimentry rucksack with lots of goodies including a disposable camera and water bottle.
Unfortunately our rooms were not ready when we checked in, so we went and had some breakfast, we then came back to the reception who informed us that due to us wanting three rooms together it could be a while due to some of the guest not checking out,. We were however given a room where we could go and take our luggage, freshen up and get changed which was welcomed. In the end we did not get all our rooms until 5 p.m but it didn't bother us too much due to the weather being glorious and us being able to go and relax by the pool.

The other good points about this hotel is it has a great location. The beach is lovely, pools are fantastic and plenty of lifeguards on duty to keep an eye on the children.
The hotel is kept spotlessly clean and tidy.

The food in the morning buffet was fantastic, a great selection of cereals, breads, pastries and cooked foods,. The only down side is that the fruit selction was very limited with only melon and pineapple on offer, it seemed to be that they were on a budget and any other more expensive fruits didn't come within that budget, the staff however were keen and happy to help in the morning.

The evening buffet selection was quite varied, but due to everything being cooked and left under hot lights to keep warm, this wasn't sufficent enough and a lot seemed to be cold or luke warm by the time you got to eat it.

The main problem however in the evening was that the staff seemed to have no clue on what they were doing when waiting on the tables. Instead of a certian member of staff designated to a number of tables, they were all running around every table in the restaurant and often forgetting what you had often asked them to get for you.

The restaurant was the only small negative that we had about the hotel, rooms were big, airy and comfortable, kids club was very good and the staff very attentive to the children's needs.
The front desk always tried to do their best for you on every occasion and if any one was to ask me if I would stay there again, then I would say yes without a doubt.

,

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank twinska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSeyahi, General Manager at The Westin Dubai Mina Seyahi Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2011

Dear twinska,
Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments.

It was certainly a pleasure to welcome you and your family in January, and I appreciate the detail of your review as it provides an accurate account of your entire stay with us. We use this feedback regularly to evaluate our services and facilities, and ensure a consistent five-star delivery.

Should you wish to return to Dubai it would be a pleasure to welcome you back and have you stay with us again.

Peter A.
General Manager, Complex
The Westin Dubai Mina Seyahi Beach Resort & Marina
Le Méridien Mina Seyahi Beach Resort & Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2011

First time that I stayed at the Westin. The staff was very friendly, efficient and quick. Their spa treatments are heavenly. I fell asleep both times I went there, once for a massage, once for a pedicure!
The food was good but I missed some classic food at the Italian. They only had fancy dishes which sounded good but was not what we wanted.
The beds were fantastic. I slept like a baby.
The only shame is about the noise, a lot of helicopters flying by. Beach is nice.
Would go there again!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annietue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSeyahi, General Manager at The Westin Dubai Mina Seyahi Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2011

Dear annietue,
Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. It was a delight to read you enjoyed your stay with us.

Should you wish to return to Dubai it would be a pleasure to welcome you back and have you stay with us again.

Peter A.
General Manager, Complex
The Westin Dubai Mina Seyahi Beach Resort & Marina
Le Méridien Mina Seyahi Beach Resort & Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2011

We loved this hotel. From the moment we arrived the staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and was kept that way throughout our stay. The bed was glorious. The breakfast at the Westin is one of the best we've ever had. The choice was incredible. Another very good thing is that there is an adults only area in the gardens and swimming pools. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WildlifeandLuxury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSeyahi, General Manager at The Westin Dubai Mina Seyahi Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2011

Dear WildlifeandLuxury,
Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments.

It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay with us, especially our Heavenly Bed and the breakfast experience.

Should you wish to return to Dubai it would be a pleasure to welcome you back and have you stay with us again.

Peter A.
General Manager, Complex
The Westin Dubai Mina Seyahi Beach Resort & Marina
Le Méridien Mina Seyahi Beach Resort & Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
The Marina
The Ritz-Carlton, Dubai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Marina
Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach
The Marina
Grosvenor House Dubai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Dubai Mina Seyahi Beach Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Dubai Mina Seyahi Beach Resort & Marina

Address: Al Sufouh Road | Jumeirah Beach, Dubai 213084, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai > The Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Dubai
#30 Family Hotel in Dubai
#42 Business Hotel in Dubai
#43 Spa Hotel in Dubai
#54 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range: $291 - $855 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Dubai Mina Seyahi Beach Resort & Marina 5*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Occupying a prime location on Jumeirah Beach, the Westin Dubai Mina Seyahi is a 5-star beach resort. It features spectacular 5 resort pools, a 1,200 m private beach, luxurious rooms and 8 restaurants. Panoramic views over the Arabian Gulf and the Palm Jumeirah can be enjoyed from most rooms and parts of the Westin Dubai Mina Seyahi Beach Resort. Rooms and suites include free Wi-Fi, a Nespresso machine, spacious seating area, and a marble bathroom with luxury bath amenities. Modern and classical design with high ceilings and grand mirrors are also featured in each unit. Guests can relax at the Heavenly Spa by Westin. There are also tennis courts, a fitness centre, and a water sports centre. At the Westin Mina Seyahi children can enjoy a kids pool, daily beach games, kids club and a Wild Wadi Waterpark nearby. Steakhouse, Thai and Italian cuisine are just some of the choices on offer, served formally or informally. Spanish, Asian and international dishes can also be savoured at the resort. Special menus for children are served in the restaurants. Westin Dubai is 5 minutes by car from Jumeirah Beach Walk and 20 minutes away from Burj Khalifa and Dubai Mall. Mina Seyahi is a great choice for travellers interested in beaches, family holiday, relaxation and food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Dubai Mina Seyahi Beach Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Dubai Mina Seyahi Beach Resort And Marina
Westin Dubai Mina Seyahi Beach Resort & Marina Hotel Dubai
Dubai Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing