We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury but at a price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Dubai Mina Seyahi Beach Resort & Marina
Ranked #50 of 550 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
aberdeen
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Luxury but at a price”
Reviewed December 17, 2008

The Westin is an impressive and luxurious place to stay if in Dubai for business or pleasure.
Entrance and public areas are designed in a contemporary style and have a feel of real quality.
Rooms are also very comfortable - in this case executive rooms - with a nice view of the hotel pools, beach and the palm mushrooming additional accommodation (can a palm mushroom?).
Food in the hotel was excellent standard but pretty expensive all things considered.
In Room internet access excellent.
Staff friendly and efficient but not overly welcoming.
One slight complaint was that some of the corridors felt out of keeping with the rest of the hotel - just not up to the same standards but nothing that would interfere significantly with the overall experience.

  • Liked — Comfortable Rooms and Executive Facilities
  • Disliked — Corridors
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kontiki-T60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minaseyahi, General Manager at The Westin Dubai Mina Seyahi Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this review, December 30, 2008
Dear kontiki-T60,

Thank you for sharing your experience at The Westin Dubai - we're glad your stay was a memorable one!

We also appreciate your comments and thank you for taking the time to help us become even better in our service levels and offering.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Dubai in May 2009!

Sincerely,

General Manager
The Westin Dubai Mina Seyahi Beach Resort & Marina
Le Meridien Mina Seyahi Beach Resort & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,008 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,235
    500
    149
    72
    52
See reviews for
1,031
1,033
103
336
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (661)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2008

My girlfriend and i started a trip to Dubai, Thailand and the Maldives by spending the 2nd November to 6th November at the Westin. We'd originally booked to stay at a different hotel in the Deira area but changed to the Westin, at extra cost, a couple of months before we started our trip and we're so glad we did!

After a long and tiring journey to Dubai overnight we arrived at 8a.m. to the grand and very impressive lobby area of the Westin to be checked in which was very swift. We'd booked a Deluxe Sea View with a kingsize bed but as it was so early one wasn't available. We were told that a room with 2 queensize beds was available right away so because my girlfriend was tired we decided to take it.

The room we got was on the ground floor and was on the corner of the building and very impressive upon entering with excellent facilities and decoration and all the electrics were operated by a control panel on the telephone. When we opened the doors to the patio area we were slightly disappointed though. There were no boundaries to our outside area and no seating and after a few hours in our room we decided to contact reception to see if we could change rooms, especially when i noticed 2 hotel workers using our patio area to lie on some cardboard and shade from the sun! There was also building work going on down the side of the building near the room which also helped us decide to try and change rooms. This room must be available all the time because i can't see anyone being happy with it and the hotel must also see it as a thorn in it's side.

It took over an hour and 3 calls to reception to finally get moved to a different room. I think we were forgotten about a few times but as it's still quite a new hotel i guess some of the staff are quite new too.

Our new room was 632 and was miles better. Kingsize bed with excellent sea view with a private balcony with table and chairs.

All the hotel facilities are fantastic. The breakfast's were always fresh and delicious and the staff are all friendly and cheerful especially the lads who go round the beach area on the golf carts with drinks. We had a meal at the Hunters Grill restaurant and it was superb!

I know Dubai is an expensive place to drink etc but i think £7 for a bottle of beer while you're on the beach is still a bit steep and i noticed the price for a tub of cashew nuts in the room mini bar was touching £8.

On our last day we were to check out at 12p.m. but we were not getting transported to the airport until midnight so we asked if we could have a late check out. We were told that to keep the room until 6p.m. would cost the equivilent of just over £280!!! Nearly £50 an hour!!! Obviously if i was on my own i'd have never considered paying this for the use of a room for 6 hours but because i was with my girlfriend and women like to have nice hair etc i was talked in to paying this quite extortionate ammount. I felt that the Westin were trying to drain me of even more of my hard earned money even though i'd just spent 3 nights there. Or maybe i was just stupid to pay it!?

All in all the Westin is a fabulous hotel and can only get better the longer it is open but in my opinion it doesn't justify top marks purely through value for money.

  • Liked — very modern and clean
  • Disliked — prices
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank deak75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minaseyahi, General Manager at The Westin Dubai Mina Seyahi Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this review, December 30, 2008
Dear deak75,

Thank you for choosing us and sharing your experience at The Westin Dubai on TripAdvisor. We're very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and also take note of your comments regarding pricing.

We hope you welcome you back at The Westin on your next trip to Dubai, for an even better stay!

Sincerely,

General Manager
The Westin Dubai Mina Seyahi Beach Resort & Marina
Le Meridien Mina Seyahi Beach Resort & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2008

Just back from 7 nights at this stunning hotel. Overall it is a great 5* hotel with all of the amenities you would expect. We were very concerned about the negative reviews prior to our stay so I emailed the hotel and was satisfied by the hotel manager that we would be well looked after. He gave his personal assurance and I am so pleased we trusted him. We had a fantastic break.

Pros

1. The rooms are a good size, superbly furnished and very clean. We were upgraded to a suite (room 735)
2. Excellent wardrobe space with plenty of real coat hangers (not the annoying ones which are hooked on to the rings in the wardrobe).
3. Tea and coffee making facility in room. (Although we didn’t quite get the hang of how to sue it – all a bit too hi-tech for me)
4. Fantastic large bathroom with full size bath, double sink, great power shower. Nice toiletries (Aigner) and plenty of them. I forgot my mouthwash and they gladly provided it .
5. Foyer - just amazing! WOW! Very luxurious and will be lovely place to sit down, read the papers, have a coffee once the work on Blue Orange finishes
6. The bars are great – Oeno has fantastic range of wines by the glass and a cheese room!
7. Breakfast was in the executive club lounge. Good choice of very well cooked items.
8. Restaurants – we ate at Bussola and Hunter’s Room & Grill – both excellent with good service. (Must say we also tried to eat at The Spice Emporium but they mixed things up, my partner got stroppy so we left)
9. Very helpful concierge & reception staff. I know a lot of people have found the reception staff particularly unfriendly but we never experienced that at all.
10. Comfortable ‘heavenly’ bed which was about the size of many hotel rooms!
11. The swimming pool – just amazing. The photos do not do it justice.
12. Staff – everyone we met was friendly, polite and knowledgeable. Special mention to Leilu (hope I have spelled that correctly) in executive lounge who looked after us tirelessly and if they could bottle her enthusiasm and customer service skills – I’d give it to most of the customer service staff in the hotel industry in the UK. As for the senior staff, they are amazing – Ulrike and Mandy made our stay feel very relaxed – giving us tips where to go and going out of there way to get us further information and had it delivered to our room. Many thanks to them both.

Cons

1. The bars and restaurants are expensive – but I think provide good value when you consider the cost of building the hotel. Be prepared to spend a lot and you will not be disappointed.
2. The guests! This is not a criticism of the hotel really although I do think they could do more about it, but some of the guests are amazingly rude. The way some people treat the hotel, its staff and other guests was just appalling. The executive lounge is supposed to be adult only after 6pm (cocktails) and quests simply ignored the staff’s request for this to be upheld. Children were on roller skates, picking up canapés and then putting them back for other guests to eat one evening which was just unacceptable. I have mentioned I think the staff could do something about this but I think more particularly, the management should insist upon it. We had a meeting with the manager of the hotel about it because we felt our enjoyment of the facilities had been compromised to such a degree. The lounge is a fantastic bar and wonderful place for pre-dinner cocktails. Guests should respect that and not try to turn it into a playground. We have stayed at Grosvenor House (which is owned by the same group) and they would never have tolerated guests arriving in beachwear in the evening, children roller skating around etc in their club lounge.

Finally, special and sincere thanks to Ko (Hotel Manager) for his time, his patience and his efforts to make our stay truly memorable. He succeeded admirably.

Would I go back? Absolutely. Already looking at May 2009 but have to see if the £ holds up as it is getting pretty expensive over there!

  • Liked — The Staff
  • Disliked — Having to leave!
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Brum74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minaseyahi, General Manager at The Westin Dubai Mina Seyahi Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this review, November 29, 2008
Dear Brum74,

Thank you for sharing your experience at The Westin Dubai - we were very happy to have welcomed you and provided a memorable stay with us!

We also take note of some of your other comments and thank you for taking the time to help us become even better in our service levels and offering.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Dubai in May 2009!

Sincerely,

General Manager
The Westin Dubai Mina Seyahi Beach Resort & Marina
Le Meridien Mina Seyahi Beach Resort & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2008

We are frequent travellers to Dubai and usually stay at the Jumeirah Beach but decided to sample the Westin for our trip in October. For the most part the hotel was excellent and gave five star service in many areas although I feel that it doesn't quite live up to the standards expected from some of the other hotels on Jumeirah Beach.
We arrived at 2am and our check-in was processed extremely efficiently and we were allocated a sea view room which was large, clean and with all the facilities required for an enjoyable stay. There were some little 'niggles' which did become annoying as the week progressed such as our drinking glasses were removed each day and we had to contact housekeeping to bring new ones each time we wanted a drink!
The staff were excellent and we couldn't fault the service, the beach/pool was first class with sunbeds readily available and the hotel facilities and general ambience create a feeling of serene calmness as soon as you enter. We ate in two restaurants in the evening, and although the food was excellent I felt that in comparison to other hotel restaurants, they were rather expensive (although this does take into account the changing exchange rate).
I did miss some of the little touches that we have become used to at other hotels such as ice lollies around the pool, the hotel newsletter delivered each evening and the free newpapers in the morning.
We greatly enjoyed our stay at the Westin and I would return again in a few years. On our next trip to Dubai we will be returning to the Jumeirah Beach as we prefer the location and also the access to Wild Wadi. When we were at the Westin the Blue Orange Restaurant was closed so there didn't appear to be a great choice for breakfast as we have been used to on previous trips to Dubai - the food that was available was of good quality but the service was a little slow.
Overall, the hotel is stunning in appearance, spotlessly clean with very friendly staff however I feel that it has not yet reached the five star standards of some of the other hotels in the Jumeirah Beach area.
As an addition, we also used Dubai taxis rather than the hotels own which were far more expensive however we had an early flight and had to book from the hotel at DOUBLE the cost of a Dubai taxi!

  • Liked — Beach location
  • Disliked — NA
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank cmt18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minaseyahi, General Manager at The Westin Dubai Mina Seyahi Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this review, November 23, 2008
Dear cmt18,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your overall experience at The Westin Dubai.

I reviewed your comments regarding your stay with us. We do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get. Thank you specially for your notes on the little service extras you would have appreciated - these will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our service.

If you would like to discuss your experience with a member of the hotel staff, please send an email to feedback.minaseyahi@starwoodhotels.com so we may address it with you directly.

Sincerely,

General Manager
The Westin Dubai Mina Seyahi Beach Resort & Marina
Le Meridien Mina Seyahi Beach Resort & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2008

We visited the westin for our annual childrens holiday and i can honestly say we had a fabulous time the hotel was beautifull service was excellent ,food was out of this world,the blue orange restaurant is something else just class,we have stayed @ the mina seyahi loads of times and always enjoyed fabulous times there staff are superb and nothing is to much trouble for them which is why the mina is one of our favourites mike scully and his team do an excellent job with customer care,we visit dubai 3 or 4 times a year for a relaxation break we have just returned this time we choose to stay @ habtoor grand mainly down to price i can assure you they need to take a leaf out of mike and his team on customer service !!!.you certainly will not go wrong staying @westin nor mina seyahi.
Luigi F

  • Liked — EVERY THING
  • Disliked — NOTHING
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chubbsCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2008

Great hotel. I loved the spacious rooms and the bathroom is to die for! I wish I was back there :)

  • Liked — bathroom
  • Disliked — the time curfew on the beach
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank leinad0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minaseyahi, General Manager at The Westin Dubai Mina Seyahi Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this review, November 23, 2008
Dear leinad0,

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor - we're so glad you enjoyed the rooms at The Westin Dubai and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Sincerely,

General Manager
The Westin Dubai Mina Seyahi Beach Resort & Marina
Le Meridien Mina Seyahi Beach Resort & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2008

My husband and I spent 5 nights at the Westin Hotel Dubai recently due to his work .
From the moment we boarded the plane I knew things were going to be great, but I never expected to be so totally overwhelmed by the whole experience when we arrived at the Westin Hotel.
This is certainly the best hotel and resort we have ever stayed in and as we live in Spain we are used to the more relaxed way of live but it will never reach the standards we have found at this hotel.
The staff are so friendly and helpful I almost wanted to give everyone a big hug to say Thank You!
Hope one day we can go back and really appreciate it all again.
FANTASTIC!
Jenny Paling

  • Liked — Everything almost
  • Disliked — Price of extras, central control unit on bedside table
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minaseyahi, General Manager at The Westin Dubai Mina Seyahi Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this review, November 4, 2008
Dear Jenny,

Thank you for your great comments - we're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back at The Westin Dubai in the near future!

Sincerely,

General Manager
The Westin Dubai Mina Seyahi Beach Resort & Marina
Le Meridien Mina Seyahi Beach Resort & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
The Marina
The Ritz-Carlton, Dubai
The Marina
Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Marina
Grosvenor House Dubai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Dubai Mina Seyahi Beach Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Dubai Mina Seyahi Beach Resort & Marina

Property: The Westin Dubai Mina Seyahi Beach Resort & Marina
Address: Al Sufouh Road | Jumeirah Beach, Dubai 213084, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai > The Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Dubai
#30 Family Hotel in Dubai
#38 Spa Hotel in Dubai
#42 Business Hotel in Dubai
#46 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Dubai Mina Seyahi Beach Resort & Marina 5*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Occupying a prime location on Jumeirah Beach, the Westin Dubai Mina Seyahi is a 5-star beach resort. It features spectacular 5 resort pools, a 1,200 m private beach, luxurious rooms and 8 restaurants. Panoramic views over the Arabian Gulf and the Palm Jumeirah can be enjoyed from most rooms and parts of the Westin Dubai Mina Seyahi Beach Resort. Rooms and suites include free Wi-Fi, a Nespresso machine, spacious seating area, and a marble bathroom with luxury bath amenities. Modern and classical design with high ceilings and grand mirrors are also featured in each unit. Guests can relax at the Heavenly Spa by Westin. There are also tennis courts, a fitness centre, and a water sports centre. At the Westin Mina Seyahi children can enjoy a kids pool, daily beach games, kids club and a Wild Wadi Waterpark nearby. Steakhouse, Thai and Italian cuisine are just some of the choices on offer, served formally or informally. Spanish, Asian and international dishes can also be savoured at the resort. Special menus for children are served in the restaurants. Westin Dubai is 5 minutes by car from Jumeirah Beach Walk and 20 minutes away from Burj Khalifa and Dubai Mall. Mina Seyahi is a great choice for travellers interested in beaches, family holiday, relaxation and food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Westin Dubai Mina Seyahi Beach Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Dubai Mina Seyahi Beach Resort And Marina
Westin Dubai Mina Seyahi Beach Resort & Marina Hotel Dubai
Dubai Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing