We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“be nice when its finished”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Dubai Mina Seyahi Beach Resort & Marina
Ranked #55 of 541 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“be nice when its finished”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2008

I will go with the positive first.
The westin hotel has the wow factor on arrival. The rooms are fab and the bathroom huge. We didnt get a balcony so if you want one make the request before you go.
The pools that where open where lovely. Unfortunately the lap pool and the kids pool where closed due to repairs. This wasnt a problem for us. Everywhere was immaculate but not finished.
They have opened this hotel to soon to the public. As we where only there for a 5 night stay it wasnt to bad. This hotel is showing signs of wear after only 4 months of being open. The blue orange restaurant floor was completely broken up. It moved under you feet. Half the seating area was boarded off to rectify this problem. This meant that all the tables where so close together that you could touch elbows. The buffet food was good on the first 2 nights then everything was cold.
We had a good rest after a long trip whilst at the Westin. We mostly sat at the adults only section of the pool. This was spoilt by the work men digging ,the view of the JCB and the cherry picker.
The picture that the Westin have put on the internet seems to have had a little bit of airbrushing. As you will see from my photo there are buildings behind it.

  • Liked — bedroom
  • Disliked — not finished
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank clareellis83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,081
    465
    146
    67
    49
See reviews for
947
967
94
322
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (618)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
leeds
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2008

We are a family of 4 - 2 adults and 2 young kids (aged 5 and 3) and we stayed at the westin from 13 Aug until 24. We had a deluxe sea view room.

The hotel aesthetically is amazing, and when we pulled up to check in our bags were dealt with quickly. We arrived after a late flight and were checked in swiftly, but without any warmth at all. there is an almost cold efficiency with the staff at reception and they were less smiley and enthusiastic than other staff at the hotel. That said, it was quick and we were soon in our room.

ROOM
This was fine for us. One reason we loved the westin and will continue to return is that is one of the only hotels in Dubai which allows our young kids to stay in our room. Even with 4 of us in the room it never felt cramped. the bed was good (but surprisingly not v comfortable), the bathroom amazing (but the toiletries in the deluxe room are cheap looking and not pleasant!) and the balcony had a great view. we were in room 335.

ROOM SERVICE:
We found this to be slow, cumbersome and expensive. we ordered 2 plates of chips one day and paid almost a tenner! that was probably to cover the cost of all the expensive cutlery and the 7 different condiments which accopanied it. However, the plus here is the room service staff who always arrived with a smile and were efficient and discreet.

STAFF
the staff in the hotel are amazing. Sure, there are a few problems with training (especially the kids lifeguards who couldn't look more bored and apathetic if they tried!) but on the whole the standard was great. A big thankyou to the staff in the blue orange who were great with us and our kids. they were sometimes too keen to take away dishes but that was not a problem for us.

BLUE ORANGE
We were on a HB package and loved the Blue Orange. there was plenty for our kids to eat, almost everything was made fresh, the chefs were brilliant and remembered what you liked, and we loved the soft piano music every night. My only gripe here is that the tiles on the floor were very loose and my son actually fell and grazed himself badly! The food was of a very high standard and I so miss my nightly visit to the wonderful Rusly at the ice cream stand. He was always ready with a smile and knew what we all liked. Hope he is there when we return.

Breakfast was plentiful but could get crowded and the top ups of tea and coffee were slow in busy periods, but overall the standard was great.

POOLS
There are a alot of pools but the kids pool did not have enough loungers and the area was overcrowded because guests from the meridien next door nabbed all the loungers.
This was v frustrating because it meant we had to land our towels on the floor near the pool so that our kids could enjoy the pool. The guests from the meridien have dark green towels and took over the kids area - the kids pool there is not very good so if you are going to the westin be prepared for people who have paid less than you to bombard certain areas. All the other pools seemed fine by this invasion as they are more spacious but we found it impossible some days to get a lounger beacuse the guests from next door were there. maybe a solution would be to have more loungers near the kids pool as that is where families with younger children tend to congregate.

Overall, we loved our stay and will stay again. the current prices quoted for the westin by UK travel agents are quite ridiculous so as long as they come down there is no reason for us not to go next year, I much preferred the westin to the royal meridien where we stayed last year. It is modern, spacious, roomy, trendy and caters for all. Just a quick mention about the spa - had a massage which was great but you cannot have a locker if you use the gym. you only get a key if you have a treatment which was annoying as you cannot shower after the gym unless you leave all your stuff lying around on benches. management need to look into this and allow gym goers to have access to lockers. Also, the massage was great but I was ACHING the next day and did not have any more treatements on account of this,

Another quick mention for the many russian guests - we found some of them v rude, especially when ordering food or in the restaurant. and there appeared to be lots of russians at the westin. Having said that, the friendliest girls on reception were russian and were great. There is a massive problem with getting taxi's at this hotel as the concierge just offer hotel cars. that can be v annoying.

The kids club was closed but we used the meridien one which was fine. kids enjoyed the stay there but hopefully next time the westin kids club will be open. We met the general managers daughter at the kids club one day when dropping our kids off and she was truly adorable and seemed to enjoy being there.

Despite all the snagging issues we loved our stay and would happily stay again. a big thank you to all the staff and the general manager who helped make our stay so special.

  • Liked — The room, common areas and Blue Orange with its high ceiling.
  • Disliked — Overcrowding at the kids pool due to sharing with other hotel guests
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank saara123leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2008

We arrived at the Westin and WOW this hotel is stunning.
Check in was quick staff at reception were not as friendly as other hotels we have stayed at, but we did get cold towels and fruit juice which was very welcome.
We were taken straight to our rooms and we were very happy with our seaview room on the 5th floor.

Room:
Great room very spacious and a good sized balcony overlooking the pools and palm island, the room had everything you need including a nespresso coffee machine which we loved, the bathroom was lovely and big, it was great to have a separate toilet, and a separate walk in rain shower the bath was a great size.
Every night you has a turndown service and fresh towels, and were left bottles of water. The bed was massive and it was so comfortable.

Restaurants:
As we were on half board we had dinner in Blue Orange most nights, the food was a very high standard and lots of variety at breakfast and dinner.
But sometimes the food could be a little bit cold, we met some lovely staff Jeff was always smiling, Amina on the chinese counter was very funny.
We loved Hunters Grill we went there twice and the food was fantastic and the service was first class.
There were two more restaurants Bussola and Spice Emporium but we never tried them, we had lunch around the pool a couple of times which was very good.

Bars:
We spent a lot of time in Senyar Bar there was a good atmosphere and music, they had great staff especially Charlie they get to know what you drink and as soon as you arrive they get your drinks ready on the bar for you.
Went to Barasti at the Mina a few times it has a great beach party atmosphere great music.

Pools:
The pools at the Westin were lovely we spent out time at the adult pool, there was a river leading to the family end each end had its own pool bar.
The staff worked very hard by the pool, there were lifeguards everywhere.
The sun loungers were very comfortable with lovely big beige towels, the staff would bring around ice cold flannels 3/4 times a day, cold slushes, cleaning sunglasses and fruit sometimes.
The beach was swept daily and the sea was hot as usual in August.

Hotel Area's:
The Westin was kept spotless, the public area's were spacious
every evening they had a violinist and pianist playing in the lobby lounge area, they also had a library in the lobby, there were a few shops open.
Front entrance Fred was very efficient, but they do try to push you into using the hotel cars, which are just a few dirhams more than a normal taxi, but if wanted a taxi you often had to wait.

We really enjoyed our stay at the Westin and would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — Evrything!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank ChelseaBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2008

I stayed in an executive club sea view room from 24th August - 3rd September. The airport transfer was spot on, brand new Mercedes Benz people carrier, was given plenty of water and a cold towel. Check in procedure was swift and painless. Room was massive, had everything you could possibly need. Plenty of water left each day as well as complimentary Arabic snacks and sweets. Level of cleanliness exceeded any other hotel I've stayed at.

Breakfast in the executive lounge was fantastic, plenty of choice on offer, although the scrambled eggs were a bit too runny for my liking but some people may prefer that. No dount they would have made me some eggs exactly to my specification though such was the eagerness to please. I had dinner in 3 of the restaurants, Blue Orange, Spice Emporium and Bussola. The Blue Orange buffet was massive, so much choice, the only downside is that I didn't manage to try everything I wanted to because I was so full up! The Spice Emporium was a wonderful experience, the level of service was out of this world. The food was cooked to perfection. I'd highly recommend trying it out, although the name is slightly misleading as the food is far from spicy. The Italian Bussola, was also fantastic, I didn't leave a crumb.

The checkout procedure was just as swift and professional, no problems with the bill and the transfer to the airport in their Mercedes S Class oozed luxury. Visits to Dubai can be very hectic and stressful, but staying at the Westin made the trip all that more enjoyable. I will definitely be back!

My only slight complaint is the taxi situation. If you want a taxi, you have to rely on the hotel's private taxi service which I found to be in most cases double the price of the return journey in a licensed taxi and the price charged seemed to be completely at the taxi driver's discretion. In some cases, you could notice the taxi driver asking questions to try and gauge how much you could afford to part with. I noticed a number of people were quite vocal about their displeasure when complaining about the same thing to the concierge. Having what amounts to a cowboy operation responsible for providing transportation to the hotel guests can only contribute to potentially damaging the reputation of the hotel which would be a shame.

  • Liked — The room, the restaurants, the staff
  • Disliked — The unlicensed unmetered taxis
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank SlimVW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwickshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2008

Having lived in Dubai for 6 years I remain a regular traveller to the region for last 15 years and have stayed at many of the leading hotels over the period. Having booked a holiday for my wife in April next year I decided to stay at the Westin on a recent business trip to see the property in advance.

It would be impossible to be dissappointed! Smiling happy staff who constantly go out of their way to please you and during my recent stay , the peak of the summer!. Food choice in the many outlets is 5 star cosmopolitan all round consistent quality in each outlet. You also have the added benefit of sharing, if desired, the outlets in the adjacent Meridien property. A good sign to me was to see the Eurpean residents living and working in Dubai flooding into the various restaurants and bars on Thursday evening. Trendy settings and a dedicated management aim to please all is clearly working!

Cannot wait to return to my second home and share the delights of the Westin with my wife on our vacation.

Dont hesitate to consider booking time at this hotel - and expect it to take a competitive position for the lead in the Jumeirah area as it matures and goes forward.

Outstanding for the time it has been open.!

Owen Bennison
Warwickshire UK

  • Liked — Overall very good
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank owenb_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2008

We have just returned from a 2 week holiday staying at the westin. I read a couple of reviews before we went, and read mixed comments so wasn't really sure what to expect. Myself, partner and 2 boys aged 10 and 7 were very excited about our holiday. We arrived approx 8.30am at dubai airport. Our car was ready and waiting to take us to the westin. When we arrived at the westin, we was blown away with the exterior and interior of the hotel. It was absolutely beautiful. No expense was spared designing this hotel. Concierge were waiting with the luggage carrier. We checked in and was given an ice cold flannel and ice slush why we waited. Nice touch as we were all very hot. We were told our room wasn't ready, but could have breakfast in the blue orange. The blue orange restaurant was just what we needed. Lots of variety for all of us, pancakes for the kids and fryup for the adults!! and lots more to choose from.
We were told our room would be ready about 11ish. They took our mobile number and said they would call us. We headed off to the swimming pool to cool down. We were very impressed with the life guards on duty, as this isn't something you would normally see in hotels. Even though both our boys could swim, it was peace of mind knowing that they were even more safe to swim alone.
Our room was ready about 1pm. We didnt mind the wait as we were busy swimming. The room was large, bright and very comfortable. The beds were like heaven.
We booked the half board through virgin holidays, so our meals would be taken in the blue orange. Once again the blue orange offered varities of different foods and we was not disappointed with the choices on offer.
We also ate in the bussola, which was very nice, but not much on offer for the kids.
The staff were amazing. Helpful, friendly and polite. We met so many different staff but was always greeted with a hello and a big smile. Without the staff at the hotel, it would not of been so good. The staff work so hard, and its not an easy job in 45 degrees heat.
The pool bar was a nice area to swim up and have a drink or a bite to eat. Again the staff behind the bar were smashing. My partner had great laughs with them. Prakesh, Sammy, Hari, Venky, Vicky, Daniel and Anwah were brilliant. They made us feel like royalty. We were definately spoilt rotten on this holiday.
The lifeguards too were brilliant, they did their job very well. We got to meet Edward, Kenneth, Ken, Kennedy, Charles, Jay R. They have to sit for 9 hours just watching people in the water having a great time. Not the easiest of jobs.
Fred, Richard and Fabien who worked for concierge were brilliant too. If you needed a taxi or just general information, they were the guys to ask.
We were pretty lucky on our visit to the westin, as while we were there Tiger Woods held a conference in the hotel. Not only did we get great pictures, our sons also got his autograph too!!
The kids enjoyed the penguin club. The westin is yet to open their kids club, but we could make full use of the le meridien hotel next door. Great facilities on offer for the kids. They played football, baseball, cricket etc etc. They also had the chance to experience snorkelling, banana boat and the formula 3. The guys worked so hard to make the kids happy. Omar, Karim, Sam, Dhillon and Kenneth were masters of all sports.
We didnt want to leave. We had tears from the kids as they said they were going to miss everyone.
The only down part about the holiday was the last night my son burnt his arm on one of the lights outside the hotel. Tammy who worked for the Atrium was quick on the scene with ice and a cooling spray. A nurse also gave it the once over and I would say that the lights need to be covered as they do get very very hot. Maybe they need a sign to say that aswell, as younger children could do alot more damage.
Other than that, nothing negative to say. Best holiday ever. We are booking within the next week to go back next year. Definately something to look forward to.

  • Liked — The Staff
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Tasha75Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
260 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 316 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2008

I stopped with the Family at the Westin for a week in August and have to say that we had a great time. The rooms where big and comfy, well decorated and clean. I know this is what you should expect from a 5* hotel but I thought I’d state it anyway. We ate mainly in the blue orange restaurant (part of it is undergoing refurbishment) and found the food very fresh and well prepared if not a little cold at times (they actually ran out of cheese cake which I am sure breaks some sort of international law!). I cannot fault most of the staff who all seemed to be working really hard and at the same time enjoying the job. The only criticism I have would be that the front desk could be a little more customer service oriented rather than being Germanic like efficient, I suppose I was expecting more smiles when we first arrived, but that is just be my personal view.
I found the pool staff a bit hit and miss at times regarding service but overall they seemed to be getting it together. A big shout out to Robert the pool life guard who looked after us when we went swimming in the late evenings.
As I have stated in my title this hotel has the bones to become a great hotel in Dubai.

  • Liked — Spacious rooms
  • Disliked — Nothing to dislike
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank onetrubrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
The Marina
The Ritz-Carlton, Dubai
The Marina
Grosvenor House Dubai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jumeirah Zabeel Saray
#44 of 541 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Dubai Mina Seyahi Beach Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Dubai Mina Seyahi Beach Resort & Marina

Property: The Westin Dubai Mina Seyahi Beach Resort & Marina
Address: Al Sufouh Road | Jumeirah Beach, Dubai 213084, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai > The Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Dubai
#30 Family Hotel in Dubai
#40 Spa Hotel in Dubai
#42 Business Hotel in Dubai
#51 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Dubai Mina Seyahi Beach Resort & Marina 5*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Occupying a prime location on Jumeirah Beach, the Westin Dubai Mina Seyahi is a 5-star beach resort. It features spectacular 5 resort pools, a 1,200 m private beach, luxurious rooms and 8 restaurants. Panoramic views over the Arabian Gulf and the Palm Jumeirah can be enjoyed from most rooms and parts of the Westin Dubai Mina Seyahi Beach Resort. Rooms and suites include free Wi-Fi, a Nespresso machine, spacious seating area, and a marble bathroom with luxury bath amenities. Modern and classical design with high ceilings and grand mirrors are also featured in each unit. Guests can relax at the Heavenly Spa by Westin. There are also tennis courts, a fitness centre, and a water sports centre. At the Westin Mina Seyahi children can enjoy a kids pool, daily beach games, kids club and a Wild Wadi Waterpark nearby. Steakhouse, Thai and Italian cuisine are just some of the choices on offer, served formally or informally. Spanish, Asian and international dishes can also be savoured at the resort. Special menus for children are served in the restaurants. Westin Dubai is 5 minutes by car from Jumeirah Beach Walk and 20 minutes away from Burj Khalifa and Dubai Mall. Mina Seyahi is a great choice for travellers interested in beaches, family holiday, relaxation and food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Dubai Mina Seyahi Beach Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Dubai Mina Seyahi Beach Resort & Marina Hotel Dubai
Westin Dubai Mina Seyahi Beach Resort And Marina
Dubai Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing