We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, beautiful and a bit too expensive BB”
Review of Dibai House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Esfahan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dibai House
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Esfahan
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
107 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Charming, beautiful and a bit too expensive BB”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

This is really a great BB in an historical iranian house. Yes, it it difficult to find it but we asked lovely Sufi to send a taxi to fetch us at the airport.
The breakfast is good and we could connect with many fellow travellers. It is a bit expensive for Iran but the atmosphere is really wonderful.

I would like to add something about this "travel alert: security concern" at the top of the tripadvisor page regarding Iran. This is absolutely nonsense: Iran is the safest country I have ever been to with probably the kindest, warmer people on the planet.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gianluca70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    30
    20
    11
    8
See reviews for
14
37
31
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

On the positive side, the house is lovely and, once you get your bearings, conveniently situated. It is a good idea to ask for a map to use when trying to get there! Breakfast good, except the cereals which were stale. It would be better not to offer them as they are obviously not customary.
On the negative side, shared, outside bathrooms (cleaned daily), lack of privacy as there are barely curtains on the bedroom widows, and, at least during our 3 night stay, there was no room-cleaning service, nor were towels changed.
We paid 60€ pr night for double room which, all things considered, I find expensive for Iran.
All in all, fine for a group occupying most of the rooms. Would not choose to stay alone, or as a couple.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jemoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed 4 days in this house and we really liked. Sufi is very friendly and makes a big difference when you book by mail, because besides great Sufi speaks Spanish, English, French and German! The location is perfect, just 15 minutes on foot from "the square", the way is easy to follow but to be honest, the first time is hard to find it. I suggest that you ask for mail to Sufi some Farsi instructions and give the piece of paper to the driver:-)

The house is beautiful and very well decorated, and the home environment is very relaxing. Some rooms are very small, but the bathrooms quite large and very hot water. The breakfast is spectacular, you have a variety of foods and jam made by Sufi. Real coffee! Wifi is fast enough but only in one of the rooms of the house, not inside the rooms. Possibility of laundry: extra 4 euros.

Something to keep in mind is that you have a cat (if you're allergic careful!), you have to pay in euros and 45 euros the double room with bathroom outside, breakfast included, is expensive standares serving the country. Breadfast time: 8:30am

If your budget is high I'll stay some night in Dibai House!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4n4Eme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
napoli
Level Contributor
80 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

This is a very nice and well restored traditional house, unfortunately a bit hard to find, since it is in a narrow alley close to Ali minaret. The lady who owns the house is a very nice and interesting person, and the breakfasts she offers are delicious (the best we had in Iran). On the other hand, the house is a bit expensive, compared to the extremely low Iranian prices, the baths are shared, and we were surprised by the fact that in three days nobody made our rooms!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank francesco-1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

We visited in January and the room was only marginally warmer than it was outside (ie -8 C!). It was so cold we had to sleep with all our clothes on (I put on four pairs of socks!). We told the owner but she did nothing about it. The house is beautiful, no doubt about that, but the temperature made it impossible to linger anywhere for more than a few minutes. Be warned, the area around it at night is outright spooky. At 50USD a night for a double, this is the worst value I've had during my three-week stay in Iran.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank ninocorrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimini, Italy
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Dibai House is a traditional hotel located at 10 minutes walking from the main square of Esfahan and very close to the Minaret. Rooms are clean but a little but cold and very simple. Beds are not very comfortable and offer the same sleeping quality as the typical traditional hotels in Iran. Staff was kind and helpful. The main issue is the price, which should be as half as much as I paid, i.e. not exceed € 20,00 per night for a single room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BIM_in_tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Dibai House is located close the Esfahan Bazaar and Iman Square. Once you are within the vicinity of Masjed Ali (Ali Mosque), ask the local where is Dibai House. In any case, when the local sees a foreigners within their midst, they knew you are looking for Dibai House and promptly show you the way.

I was welcome by Sufi with a cup of tea which is delightful. The room is spacious but no ensuite. The wash room is outside of the room but I am the only user for the bathroom. Everything clean and tidy.

There is a sitting room, tv room and “wifi room”. Wifi is complimentary.

Staying in Dibai House is a lovely experience. Sufi is friendly and accommodating.

Walking back to Dibai House in the evening can be a scary and worrying situation. Most of the shops in the Bazaar or around Masjed Ali alley closes around 7pm. Thus the entire neighbourhood is deserted. My suggestion is to take a taxi back if you are staying out late.

There are very few or limited in the number of restaurants near by thus making it difficult to walk out for dinner.

Breakfast is a lovely experience. I have my breakfast in the court yard, bread, jam, coffee and eggs.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hwt61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dibai House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dibai House

Property: Dibai House
Address: Esfahan, Iran
Location: Iran > Isfahan Province > Esfahan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Esfahan
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Dibai House Iran/Esfahan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing