We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful hotel even for the price”
Review of Hotel Jupiter

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Baalbeck
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Jupiter
Ranked #2 of 2 Baalbeck B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Awful hotel even for the price”
Reviewed May 13, 2011

We were only in Baalbeck for one night and unfortunately chose Hotel Jupiter. Yes, it was cheap, but the room and bathroom were not clean to a basic standard. Worse, the beds had blankets but no clean sheets. We asked the housekeeper for some sheets, and she insisted that it was fine without them. I later spoke to the manager and he did get us a sheet (to save us from the smelly blankets), but it was crazy that we had to ask a couple of times for it.

Location is great, right across from the historical site, but I would certainly not stay again in the same conditions.

Room Tip: Don't go for one of the cheaper rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beautiful_life23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    5
    5
    5
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
9
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2011

The hotel actually shouldn't be that bad: located 3 minutes from the temple, with nice and spacious rooms, big patio... Unfortunately, the owner was the only staff member we've met. Always somewhere out of your reach. Unfriendly and suspicious, locking the door after behind us every time we were leaving for a town. Constantly turning off electricity in order to save some electricity...? I don't know why. Switching on and off every 20 minutes. Very annoying indeed. So, the hotel I'd recommend only because of location and low cost (no wonder - no electricity).

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grzegorz_krol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2011

The hotel itself was nice - it has a charming patio, it is clean and it has a great location in town. The only problem was electricity. There was continuous lack of eceltricity and there was noone at the reception during these problems. I hope it is solved now, because during the night it is really annoying.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krzysiek23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2010

We stayed for one night and paid 60 USD for the twin room.
The location of the hotel is great - right accross the ruins. The room was very basic and defenitely too expensive for what you get. The beds were concrete hard. No breakfast.
The bathroom was quite dirty and it took forever for hot water to arrive.
The town of Baalbeck is - besides of the great ruins - very booring, nothing to do.
If returning to Baalbeck, I would try to find a different hotel to stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arnsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wash DC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2010

Hotel Jupiter, $60 USD, pricey but it was a big room with nice balcony/terrace & view of the ruins just across the street. Not much to see in Baalbeck other than the ruins, but they are great ruins. Someone here recommended just do an overnight and move on; I agree.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rud01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napoli-Victoria
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2010

I read the other comments before booking this hotel, and decided to stay there, paying 60 $ per night for a double room. I agree with the others, the owner is lovely and helpful, the location of the hotel is great, the room large and not hot (in the beginning of June). But there are bedbugs in the beds. These unpleasant insects leave bites that are not immediately itchy but get itchy days after, and in a week have gotten worse and given me continuous itch and now I am on cortisone, antibiotics and something to detoxify the blood. The bedbugs are very hard to see, they live in mattresses, come out only at night, and inject some kind of anaesthetic substance, so you do not feel the bites and they can continue undisturbed for a long time, causing a lot of damage. Now, not everybody reacts the same way, but I wanted to make sure that people know what they are going to find before deciding to stay there.
Two more notes: the beds themselves are VERY uncomfortable, and the bathroom was dirty: we asked for it to be cleaned and they cleaned it in front of us, without using any detergent, just with water.
I hope the owner will read this and take the necessary steps to get rid of these bedbugs.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daunia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2010

Hotel Jupiter is the ugly duckling to the more well-known Palmyra Hotel next door. However it is the beautiful swan when it comes to room rates and quality. The owner is friendly, hospitable and has decorated the place wonderfully with traditional ornaments and furniture, including in the rooms. The rooms overlooking the ruins are very nice and spacious, but the bathrooms are of questionable cleanliness and the rooms really need fans. At night, leaving the window open is a recipe for no sleep as the street outside is noisy at all hours. There are quieter rooms on the other side of the courtyard but they don't have a view.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mosbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baalbeck
0.0 mi away
Bauhaus
Bauhaus
#1 of 2 in Bcharre
85 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palmyra Hotel
Palmyra Hotel
#1 of 3 in Baalbeck
51 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kanaan Group Hotel
Kanaan Group Hotel
#3 of 3 in Baalbeck
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jupiter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jupiter

Property: Hotel Jupiter
Address: Rue Abdel Halim Jajjar, Baalbeck, Lebanon
Location: Lebanon > Bekaa Governorate > Baalbeck
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Baalbeck
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Hotel Jupiter Lebanon/Baalbeck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing