We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Catastrophic - checked out early”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Jeddah - Qasr Al Sharq
Ranked #11 of 160 Hotels in Jeddah
Certificate of Excellence
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Catastrophic - checked out early”
Reviewed January 3, 2011

As soon as we set foot in the hotel it was one problem after another. Although I did everything possible to avoid such faults but who was I kidding.

Objective:
The place seriously lacks hospitality (service and courtesy), far from being the cleanest, unorganised, and unprofessional.

Subjective:
My wife and I spent our very first night together at this miserable place and it made me look really bad. Despite showing up early to the hotel and checking in to the suite in order to make sure that everything will be alright when my wife and I arrive after our wedding night, they gave us a smaller room when we arrived. Their understanding of a wedding package was to offer you a fruit basket and A rose! and when we ordered our meal it arrived late and cold. The tap water was constantly coloured. Housekeeping come and go in 1.5 mins without even letting you know they are leaving, which always keeps you wondering is he coming back. The view of the room and the windows are covered, smothered, filled with bird crap.

There is never any staff at the lobby, reception, or even at the main entrance. I even had to park the car myself a few times. When I read the positivereviews I think that maybe the guests were fooled by the luxury surrounding their walls. If you are lucky enough to spot a member of staff they wont greet you, no good mornings,no hellos. More often than never they are seen with their mobiles and seem like they have better things to do. I decided that I have had enough and so we checked out early. The checkout process took well over 3 hours because it did not show in their system that I had paid any amount towards the deposit and they wanted to rip me off because I did not have 'evidence'. They refused to let me leave the hotel. They had to call a colleague and wake him up in the middle of the night and even then the receptionist refused to take his word for it, they stayed on the phone for 30 mins to resolve the matter.

If it was not my first night with my wife I would have handled things differently I would not have been so patient and well mannered. If you got there I guarantee that you will get into a fight or be humiliated.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank qataris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    10
    3
    4
    4
See reviews for
7
26
3
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
81 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2010

I have stayed at Qasr Al Sharq actually 2 years ago on a short trip to jeddah...
The hotel is such a luxury in all the areas from the public spaces to the amazing room which is huge with the finest amenities you can ask for in any hotel....

BUT the problem is lack of service or lets say the quality of the service compared to the class of the hotel.... the service was very bad from check in up to the butler service which was maybe even worse!!!

as a hotel quality i will easily give it a 5 star but the quality of service drops to 3 star....

i did return to jeddah but stayed next door at the hilton which has less luxury bur has more life and maybe better service compared to the Qasr.... specially the lobby area of the qasr is such an empty lobby that you feel weird sitting in the lobby....

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dubai976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah_Hilton, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Jeddah - Qasr Al Sharq, responded to this review, September 8, 2010
Thank you for your most positive comments relating to the quality of accomodations, the amenities and the overall luxury you experienced during your recent stay at Qasr Al Sharq which are most appreciated!

Regarding your observations of the "quiet lobby & public areas" please remember this property is a residential "Palace" merely featuring 38 units and aimed at providing the utmost level of privacy to it's guests at all times. It should not be compared with a high volume Hotel featuring hundreds of accomodations as at Qasr Al Sharq the opposite is desirable.

Your comments regarding the "lack of service" alarm us and we extend our sincerest appologies for any issues you may have encountered as this is not the objective of the Palace. Please though, could you contact me (Wolfgang.Maier@Hilton.com) with the specific service issues you encountered so that we may investigate these and take immediate corrective actions with all concerned.

Many thanks
Wolfgang Maier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2010

Oh my, the level of finish is a wealthy potentate's dream. Gold leaf , Italian that, French this totally totally wonderful and honestly Arabic.
I can not fault anything on the room which was a total dream, maybe a bigger flat screen to compensate for the Huge room.
Bathroom perfect, a dream, a private spa.
Parking easy and free.
2 negatives, would be lack of complimentary wifi in the room, and strangely not in the excecutive lounge free or paid. The other might be the level of comfort that some of the check-in staff had in dealing in English.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HighExpectationsGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Va
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2007

This proprty is the only 7 star propertly in Saudi Arabia and one of the few in the whole world. It is amazing with both european and Islamic architecture. Its suites are the biggest in the world starting from 200 sq metres and include jacusi,gym, and state of the art ecquipment. You geta 24 hours butler dedicated soley for you. The top floor has an incredible modern Spa pool and gym for ladies as well. Has the world famous Italian BICE restaurant as well. Initially built for the Royal Family's private use, this 7 star palace will blow your mind away and make you feel like you're in Heaven! Take my word ! I.K

  • Liked — prestigous,most luxurious, beautiful, extravagant,sapcious,with unsurpassed service
  • Disliked — price, but worth the experience
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
13 Thank joejim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jeddah hotels
1.9 mi away
Rosewood Jeddah
Rosewood Jeddah
#6 of 160 in Jeddah
269 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jeddah Hilton Hotel
Jeddah Hilton Hotel
#4 of 160 in Jeddah
785 reviews
6.9 mi away
Park Hyatt Jeddah - Marina, Club & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Jeddah Hotel
Sheraton Jeddah Hotel
#25 of 160 in Jeddah
240 reviews
3.1 mi away
Movenpick Hotel City Star Jeddah
6.8 mi away
InterContinental Hotel Jeddah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Jeddah - Qasr Al Sharq? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Jeddah - Qasr Al Sharq

Property: Waldorf Astoria Jeddah - Qasr Al Sharq
Address: North Comiche Road | PO Box 7079, Jeddah 21462, Saudi Arabia
Phone Number:
Location: Saudi Arabia > Makkah Province > Jeddah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Jeddah
#10 Luxury Hotel in Jeddah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Jeddah - Qasr Al Sharq 5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf Astoria Jeddah — Qasr al Sharq is enviably located between the port city of Jeddah and the beautiful Red Sea. With a choice of dining, spa and gym facilities plus event and meeting space for up to 90; we provide the perfect base for your stay in Jeddah — the ‘Gateway to Mecca’. Exceptional Waldorf Astoria hospitality awaits you at Waldorf Astoria Jeddah — Qasr al Sharq. You’ll be greeted by a three-story Swarovski crystal chandelier suspended from the lobby ceiling, walls adorned with beautiful artwork, and floors with the finest marble. It is little wonder Qasr al Sharq translates into English as the ‘Palace of the East’. Waldorf Astoria Jeddah — Qasr al Sharq features: • Seven boardrooms and meeting space for up to 90 • Female-only 'Spa by Clarins' including indoor pool, sauna, steam room and whirlpool • Access to male-only Hiltonia Club at adjacent Jeddah Hilton, including pools and sports facilities • 15 minutes from King Abdulaziz International Airport (JED) • Two restaurants serving Middle Eastern and Italian cuisine, respectively • Personalized butler service Four distinct styles make up our rooms and suites. The finest Italian furnishings were used to decorate them in old-Arabian style and each ensures total privacy and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Jeddah - Qasr Al Sharq reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Qasr Al Sharq Hotel Jeddah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing