We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Away From This Hotel!”
Review of Al Azhar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Al Azhar Hotel
Ranked #82 of 168 Hotels in Jeddah
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Entered the room and I see the bed sheets with marks and stains. The walls were dirty and I saw a bug crawling. The staff our bunch young Saudi who don't speak English. I wanted to checkout/pay using my credit card, but they ran our receipt paper. This is by far the most pathetic so-called 4-star hotel I ever checked in. The hotel is misleading from every aspect to a 4-star grading. Never well I stay here or advice people to come and stay here, even if this is the cheapest hotel you can find in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tjm0831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (20)
There are newer reviews for Al Azhar Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 20 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2012

Generally rooms are very clean, there is free wifi internet, which is good(expect 128-256 kbits, enough for mail and voice only skype) when its working, but often it is crashing for short time. Breakfast are good, staff are very friendly, laundry service are doing job well too.
The awful thing - avoid upper floors. Mine is 8 and at weekends(and sometimes normal days) VERY loud music from 12 till 4 will not let you sleep. For me it is not a problem, but others, again, take attention.
Another issue, but again not a problem for me, hotel are usually full of indonesian visitors (i guess for omra and hajj), they are sometimes crowdy, noisy, and tend to occupy elevators for long time.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nuclearcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2009

Good rooms, just few rooms with good view. It's located near center of old Jeddah. Food quality is good. House keeping is not good but if you ask the reception to support you, they will do. Gym is just a small room. Pool is about 2m x 3m.
Restaurant in 10th floor has a good view.
Internet is very very very slow.
Single room was for SAR 220 as BB (corporate rate)

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank M5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Kamar yang mempunyai jendela keluar lebih baik.
  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ekobudhia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2015, traveled with family
Thank Sheilla N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2015, traveled with friends
Thank alciinsani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
3  Thank Mona1512013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jeddah
0.4 mi away
Red Sea Palace Hotel
Red Sea Palace Hotel
#28 of 168 in Jeddah
171 reviews
6.8 mi away
Roshan Al Azhar Hotel
Roshan Al Azhar Hotel
#75 of 168 in Jeddah
11 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Al Saha
Grand Al Saha
#38 of 168 in Jeddah
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Al Azhar Hotel
#115 of 364 in Mecca
2 reviews
0.8 mi away
Golden Hotel Jeddah
Golden Hotel Jeddah
#76 of 168 in Jeddah
55 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ramada Continental Jeddah
Ramada Continental Jeddah
#60 of 168 in Jeddah
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Azhar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Azhar Hotel

Address: Madinah Street | down to balad near Jafaly mosque, Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Location: Saudi Arabia > Makkah Province > Jeddah
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 168 Hotels in Jeddah
Price Range: $91 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Al Azhar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Al Azhar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing