We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old but clean” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Hotel Jeddah

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunset Hotel Jeddah
Ranked #42 of 141 Hotels in Jeddah
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Old but clean”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I stayed here for a week on a business trip. The price was good but its an old hotel. I had an apartment type of suite but there was no utensils, crockery, pans etc. So the kitchen area was effectively useless. Free wifi, which is the way it should be. It was clean and the bed was comfortable.
I came back to Jeddah a week later but I found another hotel in a location close to my place of business.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    5
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
1
Solo
0
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

The room is enough for our big family. It is clean. There is a living room that can accommodate a certain number of visitors. We haven't tried the pool but it looks good and well-maintained. You should try their in-house restaurant. It offers tasty and delicious food at reasonable costs. I've tried their seafood meal that includes lobster, i forgot the exact price but it's around 80 Riyals. It was really good! And their Bolognese at around 15 Riyals, you can ask for extra parmesan cheese and sauce. Most of the staff are Filipinos, they are very accommodating and friendly. Overall, we had a comfortable and wonderful experience at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel is an nice place to stay in Jeddah. A 4 Star property though doesn't look like from the outside but the rooms are really big and comfortable interiors, food is great esp for a veggie like me. I could get really good sleep wi-fi is superb connectivity in every corner of the room. The staff is really polite and helpful. Over all a place worth every penny.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mohit_Agrawal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

as a business traveller, i just picked hotel the closest one to my office. this is the closest one, but i think this is not the best value.
with 550 riyals, you got very big hotel room. old interiors, with very cold ac, which i dont know where to adjust it. no coffe, tea, or even water as complomentary. the breakfast also very little choiche you can get. if you looking for food outside hotel, its quite hard to find within walking distance. i think its better forme to puck another hotel on the next visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gondel g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
145 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Stayed here for just over a week on a business trip. As I stayed here about five years ago and had a pretty bad experience then, I was therefore reluctant when I heard we had to come back.

The Hotel is it is now is however not completely bad for an economy hotel, with comfortable apartment type of room/lounge and even a small kitchen (with nothing in it - also no kettle for tea). At least a fridge is available. Good air-conditioning, although noisy. The main bedroom had twin beds, a flat screen TV with some movie channels and CNN for English news, lots of built-in cupboards and an electronic safe.

The free wireless internet was of poor standard the whole week, most of the time exceedingly slow and often breaking off completely. You have to log-in many times in a day to restore the service. One evening it did not work at all and often I couldn't send/receive any emails larger than only a few Kilobytes, which was a big pain. A complaint to the front desk yielded nothing more than "sorry about that". I guess they have no answers any more!

The restaurant is below average and especially breakfast was disappointing (horrible burnt-tasting coffee!). Room service was friendly and reasonably priced.

The gym at least was great - well equipped and with everything working. It is spacious and inviting with a friendly and involved manager with friendly young men assisting. Well done! Nice swimming pool for a quick relaxation after work or gym.

So, loved the gym, but will probably not use this hotel again because of the ridiculously bad internet service.

Room Tip: Inner rooms facing the swimming pool have less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Christiaan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

I was the only woman in our business delegation. The staff were at all times courteous, friendly and helpful. The hotel was clean and comfortable. The rooms we had were all suites - some with kitchen areas. There were no coffee and tea making facilities but room service was quick and efficient, The restaurant was efficient and the quality of food was good. Breakfast was varied and there were good choices at dinner - buffet and a la carte. Overall the hotel gives good value and high quality. There were lots of local weddings to observe!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jacqui S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

I got a discount because i arrived about 5 am. it was the only hotel i found that had rooms. The hotel only offers suites but the price is very reasonable. i paid 550 saudi riyals for the night, received free wifi. Thestaff are very friendly and had a good rest check out is 2 pm hut they were really nice i stayed till 2.50pm.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank youngSaudiTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jeddah hotels
0.3 mi away
Le Meridien Jeddah
Le Meridien Jeddah
#15 of 141 in Jeddah
3.5 of 5 stars 285 reviews
3.1 mi away
Habitat
Habitat
#51 of 141 in Jeddah
3.0 of 5 stars 82 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ascott Tahlia Jeddah
Ascott Tahlia Jeddah
#46 of 141 in Jeddah
3.5 of 5 stars 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Avail Grand Hotel & Suites
Avail Grand Hotel & Suites
#58 of 141 in Jeddah
3.5 of 5 stars 2 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#36 of 141 in Jeddah
3.5 of 5 stars 51 reviews
2.6 mi away
Boudl Suites Al-Tahlya
Boudl Suites Al-Tahlya
#8 of 69 in Jeddah
4.0 of 5 stars 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Hotel Jeddah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Hotel Jeddah

Property: Sunset Hotel Jeddah
Address: Al Rowdah Street | P. O. Box 10161, Jeddah 21433, Saudi Arabia
Phone Number:
Location: Saudi Arabia > Makkah Province > Jeddah
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 141 Hotels in Jeddah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Hotel Jeddah 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrated for its classic design, personalized services and delectable food; Sunset Hotel now offers newly renovated Suites & public spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Sunset Hotel Jeddah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing