We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotels in Jeddah”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel Jeddah
Ranked #8 of 169 Hotels in Jeddah
Reviewed October 25, 2010

I have stayed at the Mövenpick Hotel in Jeddah already many times and I can really recommend it. You will get there everything you need as long as you won't need alcohol and the many other things which are not available in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia. The rooms are nice and large, the bathrooms are large as well however they could be cleaner for my taste. (It has a lot to do with the poor quality of water in the city - already the smell of the water is appalling.)

The hotel is about 15-20 min away from the airport if there isn't a traffic jam. The staff is friendly and helpful although I had regularly problems with airport pickup which was ordered but no driver showed up. Airport transfer costs less than 15 EUR.

There are internet terminals in the hotel (a small room next to the lobby) where you can check in and print your boarding pass so you won't need to wait at the airport.

The restaurant in the hotel is indeed very good, I like the buffet with oriental dishes as well as the excellent selection of desserts (thanks to the Swiss touch). Also breakfast is phantastic, especially the fresh strawberry, mango, orange and whatever juices.

There are rooms towards the inner courtyard (towards the lobby) which are silent and some facing towards the street which are less silent, especially the ones facing the mosque. There is a swimming pool for men only as well as a fitness center.

air conditioning is effective in the hotel rooms which is very important given the climate. My advise is to set it to the lowest temperature while you are away and switch it off when you come back, otherwise you'll probably get a bad cold. at least I always did. And in general be prepared that the restaurant will be airconditioned to 16°C while on the other side of the windows the temperature is at 42°C.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller7888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (460)
There are newer reviews for Movenpick Hotel Jeddah
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

321 - 327 of 460 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2010

This is a pleasant hotel but would be better if they kept the carpets in the bedroom clean. For a 5-year old hotel, the upkeep must not be very good as the carpet looked more like 15 years old.

Whoever designed the rooms were not thinking about the business traveller. When you set your laptop on the working table where the broadband line is, you’d have to remove the power plug for the standing lamp (like my colleague did) or in my case, the TV so that you can plug in your laptop to the power socket. In a twin-beeded room like mine, you’d think they would install light switches beside both beds instead of just one. The water pressure in the bathroom basin was either too low or too strong. Caution, wash your hands in a raincoat if you want to avoid getting your business suit all wet. I think the water supply in these taps are from the tall fountain in the city.

A handful of staff were courteous, friendly and helpful. The rest better be left unmentioned. An example would be the service staff at breakfast egg station in the morning, who goes about his work like it’s community service. Just when you need to go to the airport to catch a flight after breakfast, the service staff decides to vacate his post for 20 minutes and no amount of asking would get him to come back to prepare the two sunny side eggs you’d want.
(www.perfyi.wordpress.com)

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pauljer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2010

My favorate hotel in jeddah, location& price wise, add to the rich breakfast,, located on the main road in Jeddah, Madena Road (easy access specially if you are in a business trip), walking distance travel agencies makes it ideal for any last minute travel needs, taking in considerations all the breaks offices takes, not to mention the traffic. ideal for events, professional team, nice multi purpose ballroom, friendly staff.. big rooms (Ask for the supperior room) nice swimming pool,, although rearly to see someone using it..

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zhotelier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2009

This hotel is quite adequate for a business stay, but there's little to enjoy here. The english language skills are modest. I stayed in an upgraded superior room, but still found the rooms to be shabby with worn upholstery and scuffed porcelains. Water pressure was low and there wasn't much hot water. The fitness area is for men only. There's a good selection of running machines. Beneath the fitness room is sauna, steam room, hot and cold jacuzzis. These areas are functional, but quite austere and I didn't find it relaxing. The breakfast buffet is extensive, good value, and you can have items cooked to order (which is a good idea since items in the trays were lukewarm). Wireless internet access is free but somewhat slow. Overall adequate, but lacks the warmth and polish of many similarly priced hotels. I would not choose to return given the choice.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2009

This hotel matched up to all the expectations I had from reading previous reviews. The location, the room, the food, the cleanliness, the staff all impressed me and relaxed me straight away. and they really were the most gentle people I've ever seen.I like to thank you for all the stuff and special thanks to chef tarek he was a very care of me and i feel i am in home he is a very good chef and it is a first time i eat very nice pasta from him.
and i will to recommend this hotel to a friend

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bandas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2007

This hotel contains a very good facilities for business issues, you can comfort doing your business in this hotel which offers a competitive price.

  • Stayed: April 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank moayad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2006

I've just stayed at the Movenpick for a business trip.

The rooms are spacious and comfortable, and well equipped, if a little bland. Certainly a bit more imagination could have been applied in the design of the rooms. Given that the hotel's relatively new, it doesn't really look it - in my room some of the furniture already looked a bit worn and the on/off button was missing from my AC unit (given the heat, trying to get it to work with a pen was something of a problem!). It's also not possible to leave your AC on while you're not in the room, which means if you go out for a while you come back to a room like an oven. Sure, the energy saving is something to be applauded but it makes for something of an irritating stay if you're roasted for the first 20 minutes in your room before it cools down every time you go out.

Service is a bit variable - many of the hotel staff are expats so communication can be a bit of a problem as many don't speak Arabic and often have only limited command of English. On two occasions I ordered a car and was kept waiting for a long time, then I wasn't told when the car had arrived. It depends which member of staff you're speaking to at any given time. On the whole, service is ok if you don't mind repeating yourself a few times and waiting for a bit. Positive points are that room service is exceptionally quick and easy, and all the drivers we had were excellent. Drivers are helpful and quite happy to wait for you if you go out. We had one really brilliant driver who gave us a tour of Jeddah and waited for over an hour for us while we went around the old town.

There are three restaurants which are all fine - the main restaurant is in a large glass atrium next to the pool which is very pleasant.

A significant gripe is that the gym isn't really geared to business travellers' schedules - it closes fairly early, so unless you're in the hotel during the daytime you won't get to use it. The hotel also offers a massage service in its promotional literature which we were then told has never actually existed once we actually got there.

On the good side, they were very obliging about us checking out late. Checkout is at 3pm but they allowed both me and my colleague to remain in our rooms until nearly 8pm with no extra charge.

It's ok value for the money. While I wouldn't mind staying there again, I'd certainly look to see what other hotels in Jeddah were offering - it wouldn't be an automatic first choice.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank nij2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jeddah hotels
0.8 mi away
Centro Shaheen by Rotana
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Jeddah
60.7 mi away
Bay La Sun Hotel & Marina
Bay La Sun Hotel & Marina
#10 of 169 in Jeddah
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
InterContinental Hotel Jeddah
6.6 mi away
Jeddah Hilton
Jeddah Hilton
#4 of 169 in Jeddah
812 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mercure Jeddah Al Hamra
Mercure Jeddah Al Hamra
#18 of 169 in Jeddah
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel Jeddah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Jeddah

Address: Al-Madinah Al-Munawarah Road | adjacent to Mohammed Al-Taweel St., Jeddah 21451, Saudi Arabia
Phone Number:
Location: Saudi Arabia > Makkah Province > Jeddah
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 169 Hotels in Jeddah
Price Range: $123 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Movenpick Hotel Jeddah 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Saudi Arabian seaport city. The Mövenpick Hotel Jeddah is a first-rate venue for meetings and conferences, combining Swiss hospitality and Arabian flair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Jeddah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing