We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Atmosphere”
Review of Paul

Paul
Ranked #118 of 479 Restaurants in Jeddah
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Outstanding Atmosphere”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

This exclusive restaurant specializes in breakfast and what a sumptuous spread they have and what quality. But what makes this place a must visit is its outstanding atmosphere. Whether you are just a twosome or as a family, this is the place to be and if it is the mild Jeddah winter, then the open air seating, right in the middle of the city amid high rises, amid the foliage, makes it an experience to cherish. The food is of the highest quality, with the omelettes and the dessert spreads to be savoured

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank adil983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    23
    13
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Deliciouuuus”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

All the dishes I have ask for are delicious!!! I can't wait to go again.
I LUV French cuisine thanks Paul restaurant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“nice place”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

its a nice place to come with friends and experience good food and pastry
you can try Petite de jeuner pual for breakfast its nice.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mamdooha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
81 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“No standards below average ”
Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

when Paul opened in Jeddah I was very happy I came to realize that is not the same as in Paris nor Dubai the pastries are horrible old and soggy breakfast omelette is horrible basic culinary skills 101 how to make an omelette I hope they learn and I hope they close the place because there is no standards and just bad and a waste of money...

Helpful?
Thank Fawaz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Standards are slipping....”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Our first meal there was a pleasure. We returned this time to take a friend for birthday lunch to mark a "significant birthday". The service was pretty poor from the word go. The waiter threw some breakfast menus at us and showed evident irritation when he returned hoping to take our order, and was asked to bring lunch menus (it was 1.30pm for heaven's sake).

We ordered a large bottle of mineral water, which we had to remind the waiters about 3 times to bring (it's a hot country guys- people get thirsty- so bringing something to drink is pretty obviously a priority).

I defaulted to the French onion soup, as the starter options are not very inspiring. It was ok, but very sweet, and not the chunky rustic gem one would expect in a French roadside restuarant. My main course (seafood gratin) was better, but not inspiring.

When I paid I automatically added service without thinking, and as the waiter took the money away I was regretting that I had done it automatically and not reflected the true level of service we had revceived They have plenty of service staff wandering around, but they seem to be singularly ineffectual, and very casual and offhand for a place that is not cheap.

I'll give it one more chance, but if the decline in service continues this will be crossed off my list.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank garygillathens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paul also viewed

Jeddah, Makkah Province
Jeddah, Makkah Province
 
Jeddah, Makkah Province
Jeddah, Makkah Province
 

Been to Paul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing