We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Ageing Edifice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Red Sea Palace Hotel
Ranked #27 of 162 Hotels in Jeddah
Abuja, Abuja Capital Territory, Nigeria
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An Ageing Edifice”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

An ageing hotel apparently with a name behind it that seemed to have had a much-needed do over recently.
Located in the Al-Balad District of Jeddah reknowned for bustling commercial activity, the Hotel is a high end on the budget Hotel lines (if there was ever such a classification). It has an average dining facility popular with guests and city dwellers alike, it is no where near the established chains but stands out and compensates for that by its city centre location.
English-speaking friendly staff attend to lodgers but the Hotel is always busy and one needs to book ahead of arrival. It seems to be an attractive spot for some airline crews who are given check-in priority ahead of prospective lodgers without valid booking.
And yes, high-speed wireless internet is available everywhere.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking a body of water often confused with the Red Sea offer nice view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baba U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSPHadmin, Rooms Division Manager at Red Sea Palace Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Mr. Baba,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Red Sea Palace. We appreciate your objective comments about our services and facilities. Over the past few months, we have introduced new outlets, superior level and continue to elevate the hotel image, in our plan to fully renovate the hotel as we do believe our guests deserve the best.

We strongly recommend booking the superior level in your next stay. Meanwhile, we will be eagerly looking forward into welcoming you back soon.

Regards,
Ayad Samir
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    54
    61
    24
    12
See reviews for
26
14
8
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
1 review
Reviewed January 17, 2014

I have stayed in this hotel since April 2013. The experience has been mixed. The hotel is very dated but the rooms are a nice size however, Some days the room is cleaned, some days they hoover but not often, some days you have hot water and some days the food is edible. On the whole not a good experience, 1 month I could have handled it but 9 is far too long, and there's no end in sight. Today again no hot water and no room clean. Thank god I have a break next week

Room Tip: Book another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSPHadmin, Rooms Division Manager at Red Sea Palace Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Mr. Stuart,

It has been a great pleasure to have you with us for indeed a long stay, yet we are very sorry for the inconveniences you have gone through while with us. During the previous period, there has been truly some challenges with housekeeping team due to labour decrees that were passed recently in KSA, which have affected the level of service expected by our valued guests. However, the matter has been resolved and we are currently handling the problems which you have addressed in your candid feedback.

We do place a great value on your patronage and continue to invite you to witness the improvements we introduced at your second home in Jeddah.

Regards,
Ayad Samir
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jeddah hotels

Udine, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

I was there between the end of november and the beginning of december.
THe room was quite big and comfortable. The furniture was quite damaged, with dust inside the wardrobe and everything show signs of use.
The breakfast was very good as well as the only lunch I took.
The position is very central and near to the "ancient" part of the city.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zivo71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSPHadmin, Rooms Division Manager at Red Sea Palace Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We are very delighted to receive your honest feedback about your stay at Red Sea Palace. Our team is constantly working on upgrading our services and enhancing the hotel image. Please feel welcomed to visit us again to view the upcoming facilities and our new rooms after full renovation.

For your next stay, please inquire about the Superior rooms. Soft opening promotional rates are available with our Reservation department.


Regards,
Ayad Samir
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located in old Jeddah and has a good site. However the place is run down and there is no understanding of the word "service". Very difficult to deal with the front office and did not feel valued or welcome. This hotel has so much potential but the owners have not maintained and it is now tired, dated and in need of serious refurbishment. They have a pool deck that over looks the lake but this is closed. The gym is ok but it has a low ceiling and there is a lack of air circulation. The staff do not look happy and never smile. I suspect they are not well looked after. The food is nothing to rave about and the breakfast is very ordinary with the same daily selection of unhealthy food and stale pastries. Need more fresh fruit and proper cereals -not rice bubbles! I was told they have renovated some rooms - mine was dated but functional. Overall not that great and I feel this place could offer so much more. Sad!!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Cherryruby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSPHadmin, Rooms Division Manager at Red Sea Palace Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear valued guest,

We are very glad to receive your feedback about your experience at Red Sea Palace. Please rest assured that we feel dedicated to tackle all your concerns and that we are very keen to excel. Currently, there is an ongoing renovation plan for the whole hotel and our services are indeed improving. We have recently launched our pool bar service and swimming pool area is completely revamped; in addition to introducing the superior level on 1st and 2nd floors. Cafe La mode was another outlet to offer exquisite services at the main lobby.

We regret the shortfalls you have encountered during your stay, on continuing to invite you for a future visit to witness the change.

Regards,
Ayad Samir
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We are currently staying in this hotel on a long-term basis (up to six months). We thought we had negotiated the renovated rooms because of our long-term commitment but when we checked-in we were given the unrenovated rooms. (Strike 1)

When I went to unpack I found that there were no hangers for suits etc. It took a couple of phone calls and eventually a conversation with the duty manager to get some hangers. (Strike 2).

Next morning I discovered that there were no bath towels. Again, it took a few phone calls to get bath towels delivered to the room (Strike 3).

The hotel is very, very busy with bus loads of pilgrimage tourists. Often there is no where to sit in the lounge due to the large groups of tourists waiting on their coaches.

The free Wi-Fi has a good signal but it continuously cuts off and then you have to sign-in again. This can happen every ten minutes or so. Its exceedingly frustrating.

We came to this hotel due to its location but that was a mistake. We'd have been better off going to another hotel and just taking a taxi.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSPHadmin, Rooms Division Manager at Red Sea Palace Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear our valued guest,

We would like to thank you for expressing your honest feedback about your stay with us. Rest assured that we are mostly concerned with your disappointments, hence committed to recover any shortfall in our services.

As you have already mentioned, the hotel was indeed full with pilgrimage guests on the 18th and 19th of Ocotber due to the Hajj season and Pilgrims returning back to Jeddah. It's actually the busiest period of the year in Jeddah city, where all hotels are usually fully booked. However, we do regret the inconvenience you may have experienced on your first day of arrival, with the missing hangers and bath towels from your room.

With regards to the renovated section (the superior rooms), please feel welcomed to contact us, should you prefer to relocate. The superior rooms are available against a marginal upgrade supplement but subject to availability.

Furthermore, our IT Manager is currently examining the internet connection in all hotel rooms, to ensure the service is stable and satisfactory for our guests.

In the meantime, we cordially invite you to contact us for further assistance or queries. It's our dedication to do the needful, in order to make your stay as pleasant and memorable as possible.

Sincerely,
Ayad Samir
Rooms division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I arrived into Jeddah very late in the evening, greeted by a kind fellow named Mr. Lee Convento. Super service on check in, great rate and an excellent room overlooking the river off the Red Sea. Rooms (I looked at two) were perfectly clean, well appointed and with all the amenities for business, etc. Was hungry in the middle of the night and room service even made a custom food order. Meals in the restaurant are good and the espressos/cappuccinos aren't bad either with a full breakfast pastry restaurant in the large lobby when not the breakfast buffet. Bottom line, super staff, all the amenities you'd need, located right in the heart of the old Balad area of Jeddah. Would definitely recommend and stay here again.

Room Tip: Request a room over the water. Otherwise all rooms are fine. Hotel is located smack in the old area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSPHadmin, Rooms Division Manager at Red Sea Palace Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear our valued guest,

We are glad you have mostly enjoyed your stay at Red Sea Palace and thank you for taking the time to express your opinion about your experience with us. We have shared your valuable feedback and positive comments with our team and they are very excited about them. It's our aim always to surpass our guests' expectations and continue to boost our services.

Please feel free to contact us for further assistance in future visits to Jeddah. Meanwhile, we will be keenly looking forward into welcoming you back.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

The hotel mainly is good, good rooms, but unfortunately there are false information on booking.com, the pool is out of service and the terrace is abandoned. Also there are no balconies for rooms, only a few rooms have them but they are inaccessible. These 2 main facilities were the reason I chose this hotel over other alternatives so I was disappointed they are not available. They should correct the info on the website.

The hotel has a beautiful terrace directly on the lake and a decent pool, if they renovate it it would be really nice. If not, then remove the pics from the website and info in the facilities section.

General: The rate is not cheap at all, it was high season and during eid, 440 SAR per night including breakfast for 1 person. The hotel mainly caters for business, it was full of African representatives & committees and some Asian Airline crew.

Location: The location is not ideal if you are aiming for the new Jeddah, it's near the old town Al Balad area so it's a bit popular with traffic. On the other hand, it's directly on the lake (not on the sea). If you are coming from the North it's fine but if you are coming from the south through Hail street it's traffic. If you go out from the hotel don't go south on Hail street, the nearby Jeddah bus station cause a lot of traffic, take the first U-turn on the left to go to Al Baiha circle. The shisha cafes are 5 minutes away walking (area called aswaq Al Baiha).

Rooms: Good rooms, nice bed, fridge, good AC, decent shower and bathroom, rooms large, flat screen TV, some variation in channels although 20 channels only, hot water kettle, nescafe, tea and sugar. Windows not 100% sound proof, you can hear the compressors of the ACs below you. Wifi available in rooms, acceptable. The good thing is that the AC is not connected to the key card, meaning that you can keep it ON while you are out.

Food: Good food, good variety although the pastries are dry, it's the first time I find foul medammes on breakfast in a hotel, another good thing is that you can ask the chef inside the hall to prepare you fresh eggs the way you like. (I only took breakfast).

Other: Staff are good and the lobby is huge but sometimes crowded. There are parking spaces inside and in front of the hotel. Quality is 4 stars.

Room Tip: Front rooms have a lake view, choose a high floor room because lower floors have noise from the larg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank strictlywhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSPHadmin, Rooms Division Manager at Red Sea Palace Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear our valued guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Red Sea Palace for your recent stay in Jeddah. In addition, we genuinely appreciate your feedback and the points you have addressed in your evaluation of the hotel services.

We are currently working on upgrading our hotel services, including a full renovation plan of the hotel rooms and the enhancement of other facilities. The swimming pool is currently under renovation and the whole area is being completely rehauled.

In the mean time, we continue to invite you for a future visit, where you will defnitely witness the progress made and enjoy the improved services at Red Sea Palace.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jeddah hotels
2.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Jeddah
0.9 mi away
Golden Hotel Jeddah
Golden Hotel Jeddah
#70 of 162 in Jeddah
55 reviews
3.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Jeddah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Jeddah Al Salam
2.4 mi away
Centro Shaheen by Rotana
1.1 mi away
Jeddah Trident Hotel
Jeddah Trident Hotel
#58 of 162 in Jeddah
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Sea Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Sea Palace Hotel

Property: Red Sea Palace Hotel
Address: King Abdul Aziz St | PO Box 824, Jeddah 21421, Saudi Arabia
Location: Saudi Arabia > Makkah Province > Jeddah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 162 Hotels in Jeddah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Sea Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well-appointed Seven-story Hotel located in downtown commercial district, overlooking Arbaeen lagoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Red Sea Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing