We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect sushi” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sakura Japanese Restaurant

Sakura Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 458 Restaurants in Jeddah
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Sakura is Crowne Plaza Jeddah’s signature Japanese Restaurant located at the ground floor of the Hotel and can be accessed independently from the main road, opening every day for both lunch and dinner. Offering a high quality selection of Japanese food prepared by the one of the best Chefs’ in the Japanese Culinary world Chef Ho Dinh Son who has a wide experience in Japan and Vietnam and has a records of many Openings of Japanese Restaurants
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect sushi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

Not only is the sushi one of the best in the Middle East, but the service and friendliness of the staff is excellent. If you love quality sushi, this is the place.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    82
    17
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“BEST SUSHI in town..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

First time in Sakura Crowne Plaza Jeddah, but will not be the last.
amazing Sushi, probably the best I ever had.
service is excellent, food presentation is beautiful, place is well designed and well located.
Honestly, THE BEST.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jameel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Known for fantastic Sushi, but great for non-sushi eaters too!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

I was part of a group of 9 ladies who dined at this restaurant. We had reservations and our table was set up and ready for us. The atmosphere is beautiful with teak-looking tables and chairs with soft, warm colors all around us. The windows are large with some kind of over-lay on them and lights with changing colors lit the over-lay up....added to the entire experience. Our group was mainly made up of sushi eaters and they knew exactly what to order. Two wooden-ship serving pieces were brought out with all different kinds of sushi on them. There were 3 of us ladies that are not keen on sushi. The menu had several options for us to choose from. Two of us ordered the US Rib-eye Beef Tepanyaki. It was cooked to order and included broccoli, cauliflower, asparagus, and was very tasty. Rice did not come with it...it was a la carte. Our other non-sushi eater ordered noodles and veggies.....excellent. The waiter was very knowledgeable and offered specials that included an appetizer, main meal, side rice, dessert, and drink. He was patient with us as we moved through the extensive menu options. After dinner we ordered 2 fried bananas with ice cream and shared amongst the table. I would not order this again as it was just average, in my opinion. The waiter split the bill into separate bills for us with no problems. It was a lovely evening and I would highly recommend it to couples, families, or work groups.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ksagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Fantastic Sushi!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Went there with colleagues and had the best Sushi and Sashimi in the Middle East.
Great atmosphere, fantastic food.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh
Level Contributor
253 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Best Japanese food in the Middle East”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Based in the Crowne Plaza, we ate at this restaurant a few times and were thoroughly impressed by the quality of the food. The restaurant is very well decorated, and gives the diner a sense of serenity.

The menu is extensive and all the dishes we ordered were absolutely fantastic - we wiped every dish we had gotten :) In addition to the dishes you order, you are also served complimentary shot-glass drinks, salads and other yummies before your actual order is brought out.

The maki was so fresh and tender, the fish literally melted in my mouth, and it was perfect! My wife who never eats sushi ate a piece and wanted to try another.

I also had the lunch bento box specials they have for 80-90SR which gives you enough food to last the whole evening!

Service is excellent and the staff knowledgeable about their menu.

If you like Japanese and happen to be in Jeddah - this is a no brainer!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mohammed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sakura Japanese Restaurant also viewed

Jeddah, Makkah Province
Jeddah, Makkah Province
 
Jeddah, Makkah Province
Jeddah, Makkah Province
 
Jeddah, Makkah Province
 

Been to Sakura Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing