We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great night out with friends of both sexes.”
Review of Al Nakheel

Al Nakheel
Ranked #41 of 479 Restaurants in Jeddah
Price range: $10 - $60
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
hartlepool
Level Contributor
205 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Great night out with friends of both sexes.”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

On the Corniche lies this lovely restaurant. Outside area is adorned with large sofas with fans to keep you cool and inside is all air conned. We came here with friends of the opposite sex, all sat outside and the ladies were allowed to take their Abayas off. Food was delightful, the mixed meze to start was plentiful, gorgeous and 2 baskets of hot bread to add to it. Our mains were delivered while we were tucking into our starter which wasnt a problem as the table is huge and the starters mixed with the mains. I had chicked shawarma which was delightful but the menu has a vast range of choice including fish,lamb and kebabs. What wasnt eaten was wrapped up and taken home....cannot complain about service, food or price. Will be back here on a regular basis and i would highly recommend this restaurant while in Jeddah.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tonysprings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    56
    16
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
237 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Great for non-Saudis...”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I was taken here by a friend during my first visit to Jeddah. It is a large tent, with fans to help keep everything cool, low couches to sprawl on and an endless supply of tea and small snacks to munch on. The ambience is relaxed and convivial, with groups of friends and large familes all having a noisy good time. The prices are reasonable but attracting a member of staff to get more supplies was not the easiest thing in the world.

We sat in the family section, as we were meeting a female acquaintance. We met her there, and so had to walk into the family section as two 'unaccompanied' males first - this attracted a few looks but no-one seemed much bothered. This relaxed attitude makes it a good place for mixed groups to meet up. Even better, most young women removed hijab and niquab, making for much pleasanter social interaction.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
234 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A good place to enjoy an evening without a lot of expectations.”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

The food is good but the service is bad. The setting is enjoyable given its open air arab style seating. It's a great place to meet friends chat and have a bite to eat.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A Jeddah Cornerstone”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

This place really hasn't changed much since I was a child. The food is the same, the staff is the same, the price is mostly the same and the atmosphere is also mostly the same. Its a really good place for non-Saudi Arabians to go. The issue is I don't think their Saudi friends tell them about this place.

The food is good for what its supposed to be. A random collection of Hejazi foods that were brought over by the various non-Arab ethnic groups. I like going here, I suggest you go here as well.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Tamim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Get the oriental atmosphere”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

If you want to be introduced to the oriental atmosphere and get a taste of some of the traditional middle eastern dishes sitting on their low seated couches by the sea this is the place to Go!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lama B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Nakheel also viewed

Jeddah, Makkah Province
Jeddah, Makkah Province
 
Jeddah, Makkah Province
Jeddah, Makkah Province
 
Jeddah, Makkah Province
Jeddah, Makkah Province
 

Been to Al Nakheel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing