We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Lovely restaurant,good service and good food.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of On the Border - CLOSED

On the Border
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Television
hartlepool
Level Contributor
192 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant,good service and good food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

I went here with my friend and we both really enjoyed our night. A vast menu with the food on offer being plentiful,well cooked and fresh.The chicken fajita my friend had was a little bland as the chicken was just flame grilled without being marinated but that was our only complaint. My chicken enchallida was gorgeous and the side dishes it came with of refried beans and rice was well cooked and tasty. We skipped the starters as they gave us a big bowl of tortillas with 2 dips and we washed it all down with a pitcher of fruit cocktail with the bill coming to 169SAR. Good value,good food with fantastic service...i will be returning.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tonysprings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    41
    17
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“An Ok Place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Was invited by family friends to the restaurant for dinner. I ordered a Chicken Fajita and my wife order a taco. My food was just ok though the serving was reasonable while my wife left half her food. The ambience was nice and the play area for children really helped. May be our taste buds are not yet ready for Mexican Food. Don't intend to spend here in the future.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bilal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeddah
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Our favourite restaurant in Jeddah”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

It is simply the ideal family place, where the family can enjoy the food at the same time kids play in playing area which is air conditioned. The food portions are huge, they provide free nachos refills. Everything we tried we tried we simply loved!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maryoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Andalus branch (not red sea mall)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Went to the Andalus branch and loved every minute. The service was good and very friendly. Food was very enjoyable and it had the atmosphere to match. All in all very pleased and can’t wait to go back to try something else.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank abu_ayesha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beware of the guacomole!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

The food is ok, but the photos on the menu are not necessarily the same as the actual food served. The menu shows nicely cut avocado wedges but we received a prepackaged, processed green slime that tasted worse than it looked. Service was average and the floors and tables needed to be cleaned.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Don R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed On the Border also viewed

 
Jeddah, Makkah Province
Jeddah, Makkah Province
 
Jeddah, Makkah Province
Jeddah, Makkah Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing