We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good standard”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Aleppo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sheraton Aleppo Hotel
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Aleppo
Munich
Level Contributor
65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Very good standard”
Reviewed November 9, 2010

We stayed 3 days in the Sheraton and it was very relaxing. The location is very convenient, even if it is not directly located in the old City. The Armenian quarter ist just across the street with lots of restaurants and shops. To walk to the great mosque takes only 10 minutes.
The rooms are spacious and have those wonderful Sheraton Sweet-Sleeper-Beds. Two sides of the hotel are facing a major street, so they could be noisy even with the sound proof windows. We had a room to the inner courtyard and it was very quite. Break-fast is good, some oat flakes and a fruit salad with more than just apples would be nice. Service is very good. Unfortunately the hotel closes the pool area in November for the winter time, so there is no place to sit and relax outside. It was still 25 °C outside, so even without using the pool it would be nice to lie in a lounge chair and read through the guide books. We even went to the sauna and the whirlpool. Usually men and women have to go to separate saunas but as we were the only ones in there we could go together which was a very nice treat.
Very practical for the self-drivers is the underground parking with no charge. In a city with hardly any parking spaces this was real thumbs up.

Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ***-Irene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    22
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
9
17
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2010

The Sheraton Aleppo is a large, international style hotel. The basic infrastructure is very good and what you would expect almost anywhere in the world for this type of establishment.

We were with a tour group and did not have much interaction with the staff, though our drink in the bar was not blessed with good or attentive service. Ate there one evening, but the food was not particularly to be recommended and the service was indifferent at best. Breakfast, however, was excellent.

The free internet access with about six computers was a very welcome facility

Room was comfortable and was quite bright which seems to be the exception in Syria. All in all, a good choice for a stay in Aleppo, but probably best to find one of the many good local restaurants to eat and drink in.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pentangle99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2010

This is a decent, generic hotel. Our room was fine but after a three day stay I had a number of complaints about the property:
i. Every interaction I had with individuals at the reception desk was unpleasant. When we first arrived, we were told that our room was only booked for 2 nights (instead of 3). It was only after arguing with them (and showing them a printed copy of our confirmed reservation), that our original reservation was honored. Service at check out with also surly. We had previously had such a wonderful time interacting with the warm and friendly Syrians we met that I was shocked that we had such an unpleasant experience with the staff here.
ii. The hotel is completely charmless. Basically it's a clearing house for massive tour groups that must make up at least 75-80 percent of the hotel's clientele.
iii. The food was bad at the hotel's restaurant (ridiculous when one thinks that Aleppo is famous for its cuisine). The lighting in the main restaurant at night feels like a military canteen. Also, terrible service here too.

In general, an extremely disappointing stay. The almost uniformly bad service was a real surprise.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hb7176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neckargemünd
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2010

The best hotel in ancient Aleppo. Direct in the city centre, top class! old town in walking distance, car park and limousine service.
Rooms are spacious and clean.
Free Internet for 60min in the lobby and at the room.
Friendly staff
Pretty good breakfast buffet, however, pretty expensive. For those who have to pay themselves I recommend to go to a cafe at the old town.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grisu-ngd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holzminden, Germany
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2010

As a business traveller in Syria you have from time to time experience and encounter of the "third kind", but this nice hotel in Aleppo rewards you with all comfort.

The hotel is relatively new and it has clearly a Sheraton Standard which is absolutely comparable to Europe.

The rooms are really clean and bathrooms are up-to-standard.

Service in the hotel and facilities are nice. Especially the safe-parking gargage in the basement is worthwile.

The breakfast is offering you fresh, clean and in variety what you need to start into a heavy business day. European standard dishes mixed with Oriental is marvelous. A fresh egg and omlette corner offers all you need. If coffee, espresso or selection of tea, followed by freshly squeezed oranges juice ... no complaint at all.

Internet at highspeed in the room works perfectly and recently also with full VPN connection service to your most company home servers. I-Pass connect is no longer available. Wireless or cable, both options are available.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank concord0767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2010

I was surprised about the very good conditions of this hotel. Everything is of good quality, even if this hotel is already open for some years.

The service is very friendly, but a little slow - as widely common in the arabic world.

My room was big and the King Size bed was King Size.

Breakfeast is recommendable.

All in all, a very convenient stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KochRa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vorarlberg, Austria
Level Contributor
56 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2010

Let´s start with the problem: people in the Middle East love to celebrate weddings in elegant hotels. This means that around 4-500 people will dance to loud music in the courtyard until 4 in the morning, with corresponding light effects. The modern the building can be, there is no way to escape from the music. Luckily, most of the weddings are on the weekend.
Otherwise the hotel is pretty new, so all the equipment will be in nice and working condition. The location is also perfect, just 2 minutes walking from the clocktower. The rooms are nice, spacy and clean, staff is friendly. Number one choice in Aleppo for sure, if not in whole Syria.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malenykij_polgar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Aleppo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Aleppo Hotel

Property: Sheraton Aleppo Hotel
Address: Al Khandaq Street | P.O. Box 13964, Aleppo, Syria
Location: Syria > Aleppo Governorate > Aleppo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Aleppo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Aleppo Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 199
Also Known As:
Sheraton Aleppo
Aleppo Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing