We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Below average” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ramsis Hotel

Ramsis Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Aleppo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ramsis Hotel
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Aleppo
UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Below average”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2010

Central hotel but disinterested staff, especially in restaurant and at reception, where i had major probelm as they would not accept my Visa card, obliging me to seek financial aid from my customer. Socalled suite I was given was small , dark with old fashioned. decor.

Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank MAIDENHEADUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamsisManager, Manager at Ramsis Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2010
Our dearest guest has every right to be upset, the connection with the credit cards bank was down for more than 24 hours ( it was a general problem in Aleppo city that day ), but all other things were not quite accurate, the suite he stayed in ( as all of our suites ) was recently renewed ( the pictures in our web site show the same suite he stayed in ) and it have two big LCDs, computer, private satellite receiver, Playstastion, coffee maker and free wireless internet!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    5
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
6
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA, USA
Level Contributor
80 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2008

We stayed there one night in April and found the hotel to be just fine. Our room had recently been refurbished, and everything about it was comfortable. It is in a good, maybe not great, location but you can definitely walk to the sights and to the Christian Quarter where many nice restaurants are found. The price we paid ($111 USD) did not seem cheap but, considering the nice breakfast, was not extravagant either. I would consider staying here again.

  • Liked — Friendly staff an nice room
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2008

My partner and I went to Syria in April 2007. Ramsis was easily the best hotel we stayed in throughout the whole trip. The service was amazing, the staff spoke perfect english and were always very helpful. We originally planned to stay in Aleppo for 2 nights but had to extend our stay for an extra night at the last minute - we encountered no problems at all, the staff were more than happy to move us to a new room for the extra night.

Room size was adequate, probably not as large as some of the 5 star places in Aleppo but for the amount you pay it is definitely worth it. Very clean, fresh and modern.

The restaurant offers a range of foods, the portions are huge at good value (which is typical of most Syrian restaurants). There is also an internet cafe to use.

With the exceptional service this place has, it deserves to be a 5 star hotel. If you are planning on travelling to Aleppo, I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Liked — Exceptional service
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank thegelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porirua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2007

The Ramsis is not atmospheric. It is in the modern city, in a fairly chaotic area. But it provides clean accomodation and good service at a reasonable price.

We negotiated a price on the spot, not having prebooked. I don't recommend this outside the low tourist season. It was US$100 including taxes and a cold buffet breakfast.

We needed street parking and this was provided with a concierge to provide security. We used taxis to get to the souk and booked a hotel car and driver to take us to St Simeon one day.

We walked to the old Jdeida district for dinner most nights. As we negotiated the road works in the little lanes we thanked our lucky stars we didn't prebook accomodation in one of those lovely beit hotels; parking would have been a nightmare.

The restaurant in the hotel was fine for breakfast but by afternoon the fug from cigarette smoke was overwhelming and my husband would not even consider eating there at night.

They have internet access for which they charge a reasonable rate.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank YoungatheartKiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
167 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2007

This is an extremely well run hotel. All the staff are immaculately dressed and service is very good and willing and the staff obviously take a real pride in the place. It is extremely clean, and attractive. It is a Western style hotel and you may not like this if you want historic charm, but we found this a bit of a relief after struggling round Aleppo's muddy and chaotic streets in the rain and cold. I was so relieved to get a nice American style coffee, and a place to eat casually that was warm and bright. Everything else that we saw was really really ethnic or else overpriced. The room price at $111 double is cheaper than the big luxury hotels and the ambience of the hotel is more appealing, the big hotels are very corporate and huge new Sheraton in Aleppo is particularly ugly like a warehouse). The general standard of the Ramsis is well up to anything you'd get in the West.

There is a coffee shop which also serves light meals, just pizza and salad and stuff but better than you would get in a Western place because the food in Aleppo is nearly all freshly prepared from local organic ingredients, thank goodness they have not discovered fast food and processed food.

So to sum up the Ramsis is not quaint but it is attractive in its modern way and you do feel that they have aimed to be a certain type of small comforatble European or American style hotel and they have succeeded very well in what they have tried to do.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
13 Thank Reflectorgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2006

the hotel is excellent they have excellent service very friendly staff restaurant was great food excellent

Stayed April 2005
Helpful?
15 Thank lokhoum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ramsis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramsis Hotel

Property: Ramsis Hotel
Address: Baron Street, Aleppo 5097, Syria
Location: Syria > Aleppo Governorate > Aleppo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Aleppo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramsis Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramsis is a three-star, deluxe hotel offering very comfortable and well-furnished 28 rooms and 8 suites, a street side cafeteria (Down Town Cafe), an open terrace restaurant(The Green Roof), an international gift shop, a news-stand and internet access. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ramsis Hotel Aleppo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing