We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The smell of the past in a glorious city” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old City

Germany
Level Contributor
75 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“The smell of the past in a glorious city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2012

Just a few minutes walk from the citadel, you will get transferred back to the Ottoman period (mid 19th century): spices, faux bijoux, meat, clothes, laurel soaps, sweets, rosaries... etc. Don't miss it

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank geto_dam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    4
    0
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aleppo, Halab, Syria
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good for Photographs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

Old city of Aleppo is full of scenes, bars and restaurants.
Sometimes I go there with my friends to hangout and take some photographs, Eat and drink.
We spend hours there exploring the new places and walking in the Narrow streets.

Helpful?
1 Thank BlackDoomy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
147 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
“Very Nice, But Check the Time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2011

My wife and really enjoyed walking around the streets of the Old Quarter but we messed up our timing - most of the churches are open to tourists from 8AM - Noon (or 1PM) and then are closed the rest of the day. Some re-open for an hour or so around 4PM and on some nights they have evening mass. We go there after lunch and they were all closed! So we walked around, ate, visited with people, etc. until 4PM and then we got to see several of them (Syriac, Maronite, Armenian, etc.) but it was a little rushed (and they are all worth seeing). If you are on a tight schedule you might want to visit this part of Aleppo in the morning.

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Flat_Planet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“very nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2011

this is a great place to drive through or walk around to see how life was like log tome ago. the architecture is really nice and i recommend you visiting on a non-Friday so you can be able to enter all the shops they have.

Visited June 2010
Helpful?
Thank abrarnajjar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Time travel on foot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2009

I am not sure who was more startled; me or the rat. He scuttled into a large opening below a stone dwelling and I wandered on through deserted, narrow streets to see more of ancient Aleppo on a Friday. A medieval city whose original buildings are still inhabited is a history lesson in an afternoon and not to be missed. It is much easier to navigate (and seemingly rat free) on the north side of Bab An'nasr Street where you will find sign-posted attractions such as Jedeidah Square (the Sissi house is in the NW corner), St. Elias Maronite Cathedral and various original houses like the Bayt Ghazaleh. The Sheraton Aleppo is a useful land mark in the SW corner of this precinct. Take a guide book because the usual hotel maps are useless.

Helpful?
2 Thank Geoff_from_Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old City also viewed

Aleppo, Aleppo Governorate
Aleppo, Aleppo Governorate
 

Been to Old City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing