We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“biggest sitadel in smallest town”
Review of Aleppo Citadel

Yerevan, Armenia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“biggest sitadel in smallest town”
Reviewed December 26, 2011

its a miracle , huge ,high from the land of city.
best thing was the underground tunnels more than 20 each one send you far from citadel more than 40 k.miters

Visited January 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank ArzivHajinian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    17
    0
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“a blast from the past”
Reviewed September 14, 2011

This city was one of my favorites in syria. The citadel was awesome. There are a lot of stairs to get to the top but it was worth it. Considering it was originally built around 630a.c. and restored many times(part of it) it is a marvel. Why can't our buildings hold up as well? The artifacts in the museum are extraordinary.,some dating from the 14th century.The doors are high so the horses could get through. Stop and have a drinka at the cafe and see a panoramic view of the city and countryside. Walking around the citadel and it's chambers is inspiring. To think you are walking in history is breathtaking. To touch the stones and see how it was put together,words can't describe how i felt. you also need to see the Great Umayyad Mosque. It also is an awesome sight. The restaurant
across the street has great hamburgers.

Visited October 2010
Helpful?
Thank omi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
“Not just another fort!"”
Reviewed April 8, 2011

I thought this would be another fort. And I love forts! But the Aleppo Citadel is more than that, its a self contained ancient city complete with mosques, pubic baths, etc. Plus you get a great view of Aleppo, too. And it is very well preserved. You enter through the first gate, take the bridge across the moat to the second gate. If you go upstairs in the second gate tower there is an ornate and throne room. It does not open right away so if you get to the Citadel first thing in the morning you may have to visit the rest of the grounds for a bit until it opens. But do not miss it! The Citadel has a small cafe, rest rooms and gift shop.

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Flat_Planet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zutphen
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“Aleppo Citadel Hotel”
Reviewed December 30, 2010

I was looking to come back to Aleppo and found that the Carlton just opened a hotel across the main entrance of the Citadel. I called them and they told me to check on the "meetsyria" website.
Nice girl from the hotel and from there i found some photos. Amazing view you must have from there.
The Citadel is realy imponating as when you are inside you realy find the old city.
Even they are renovating the Theater.
They told me that they will give live preformaces.
For sure i will get there on my next trip. The last one was with the vulcano ashes and all was a hasle with the airplanes.

Helpful?
Thank Dutchbikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest Gulf Coast, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Unexpected Pleasure”
Reviewed October 5, 2010

I have traveled a lot in the past few years. When a trip with my spouse lead us to this Citadel i expected some bunch of old ruins. To my pleasure I was surprised by the magnificence of the structure, and the majesty of this place. It withstood times from 12 AD. I just wish thay had a better cafe. Make sure you sip some coffee at the little family-owned cafe at the top.

Helpful?
Thank Dimashqi2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aleppo Citadel also viewed

Aleppo, Aleppo Governorate
Aleppo, Aleppo Governorate
 

Been to Aleppo Citadel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing