We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So Sad” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aleppo Souk

Kauai, Hawaii
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“So Sad”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

We had the opportunity to not only visit this souk in 2010 but actually stayed in a hotel wiithin this fascintingn Souk. Now once agaiin aother UNESCO World Heritage site is lost to the ravages of war.

Traveling with Aloha
The. coconut wireless

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank coconut_wireless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    4
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Burned to the ground”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Unfortunately it has been burned to ground. One more historical treasure decimated by war. Don't waste your time visiting unless you have a deathwish.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler1960Seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
210 reviews
107 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Real life imitating art.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

The souk is just like the movies of Arabia. Tiny street with shops selling all manner of goods. People carrying their goods on motorbikes, donkeys and heads competing for room with the shoppers. I almost got run over by a donkey who had a mind of his own, just head down charging through with the owner trying to reign it in.

This souk was my favourite in Syria as less western dressed people mainly scarved women with just faces or eyes showing dragging children along.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank tumbuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2011

the Aleppo souq is where the middle class shop in Aleppo. its very nice and has an innumerable amount of alleys to explore. i definitely recommend stopping here to pick up a few things to return back home with you and do not forget to bargain cause the first price hey give you is like 5 times more expensive than you will end up paying.

Visited June 2010
Helpful?
Thank abrarnajjar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very nice souq”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2011

I like Aleppo souq more than Damscus souq. Probably, it`s `cause it was my first impression on eastern souqs, bazaars etc after Gran Bazaar in Istanbul, but after a few years my opinion remains the same: Aleppo souq is better than other already listed.

It has a lot of narrow streets, but the main is only one. I was interested in silk scarfs and there`re a lot of them in a good quality. Bargaing is a must, the first price is 4-5 more than the normal.

Visited February 2010
Helpful?
3 Thank boris_agafontsev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aleppo Souk also viewed

Aleppo, Aleppo Governorate
Aleppo, Aleppo Governorate
 

Been to Aleppo Souk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing